We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 2* campsite charging 4* prices”
Review of Camping de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camping de Paris
Ranked #981 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Poorly maintained pitches. Hedges patchy and overgrown (yes that is possible. somehow they have achieved it here). Found broken glass and used charcoal from a barbecue on our pitch - so goodness knows when it was last inspected, 1983? Grim sanitary facilities that are dated (our 3 year old daughter declared that she wanted to go behind a bush rather than use the toilets there, so that gives you some idea). The pictures on the website do not reflect the reality in the campsite. Shop overpriced - cereal at 5 Euros a box anyone? or a packet of biscuits for 2 Euros?

Children's playground consisted of little more than a slide (though only really used when waiting for the shuttle bus to the metro).

Welcome is very poor. You don't actually have a numbered pitch reserved for you - "Heavens, no!" that would be far to much work - you just get despatched to a section of the site to look for a pitch. There were no spare pitches in the area we were sent to (we looked twice) and so we were sent to another area - thankfully there was one there. Given that we booked over the internet it does beg the question what exactly our 22 Euro booking fee actually paid for!

Staff were nice enough. Seem to be mostly University students doing a holiday job to improve their French. So I think it would be fair to say that the running of the campsite is not their passion. It does show though they do try their best. ish.

The one good thing is that it is in Paris. That's it. Sorry to not be a little more positive, but the site is just grim.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank campingwithkids2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 510 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Only stay there if you need too!
Prostitutes everywhere in the day outside, people walking through yor pitches , very loud music on at night , till past midnight . Staff are very nice and pleasant . The shower blocks are old and rundown in certain parts . €57 euros for four with hookup in camper van.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Derbydubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in August in one of the sites 'cottages', which was basically a very basic caravan. It was meant to sleep 5, which it would on the sofa bed, but you would struggle to sit 5 in there comfortably. The caravan was very very basic, having said that it was spotlessly clean. It weather was very hot and the air conditioning unit was pointless, it barely worked and sounded like a car engine running constantly, so we ended up switching off and all getting bitten like mad (no bug screen on windows and curtains were tatty and had holes in). The outside area was also very small and wasn't used. The English reception staff were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful, it felt like some of the French staff just couldn't be bothered with us. The shop seemed well stocked and the shuttle bus although crowded, ran very regularly and until late. The camping plots seemed very small and very close to each other, but i don't know how much they charged for this, so i can't comment on how good value for money they were, we didn't check out the facilities for campers. The site is situated in what seems to be a huge park with areas that would have been great to visit if we have had the time, although not at night as there were a few dodgy characters hanging around the side of the roads in certain spots (if you get my drift). All in all i wish had kept the booking for a hotel in Monmartre which was only about £30 extra.

Room Tip: Unless camping pay the little extra and get a hotel/b&b
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jats01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you want to see Paris, this is the place to stay. All the staff, apart from 1 Italian girl who didn't want to work or be helpful, were excellent and polite. The toilet block was clean, with the only problem was that the showers were too hot, as you cannot regulate the temperature. The bus in to town was great and it dropped you off at the Metro, although we then went by foot into Paris, 20 mins walk to the Arc de Triomphe and a lovely way to approach the city. Great little shop onsite with all those essentials, reasonably priced and the pizzeria was good value for money. Wifi was great to have, but it depended on how close your pitch was to the aerial, so there would be groups of people walking around trying to get a signal, but at least when you got a signal it was included in the cost and not an additional extra. Well done Indigo, we would like to come back one day, as we left with such a positive vibe of Paris, and it felt like staying in the countryside not the centre of a city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janner55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The site was very busy with a constant flow of arrivals and departures. The staff were very friendly and spoke many languages - we understand that Indigo have just taken over this site and it seemed as if they are trying to make improvements.

There is a brand new toilet and shower block which is lovely, but not very well maintained as it was often out of loo roll, and there wasn't ever any soap in handwash dispenser. However, it was cleaned regularly. The biggest problem was the water temperature which swung from freezing to blisteringly hot without any warning. There are also two very old blocks including one with the Turkish standing toilet - a member of staff advised me to use the new one as the old ones were awful!

They could do with adding some lights around the site too as when a camper arrived late they couldn't see to put their tent up! Be warned take heavy duty tent pegs as the ground is largely stone and we broke about a dozen trying to get our awning up.

The bar was exorbitant (21 euros for a G&T, a Malibu and coke and a pint of beer). The pizzas were really good and we can recommend them. The shop was full of nice things but again, very very pricey. Fresh bread and croissants all day.

The bus outside to the Metro was frequent and always full and cost 3,40 return. per person. It runs very late which was useful.

Overall, we thought the site was okay, but over priced and needing some loving care and attention. But as they have a massive turnover (as previously mentioned) there doesn't seem to be a huge incentive to put in the effort to make things better, and they do cram every available space.

Room Tip: Ask for a pitch by the river, as there are many by the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Although the tent pitches are small and compact (if you don't mind neighbours close) this is the perfect campsite for staying near and visiting Paris. The on site bar and shop are well stocked and most useful. We chose to eat at the bar in the evening and ordered freshly made pizzas, the pizzas were extremely good and well priced for the portion size. A good site to use over a number of days or as a one night stop over.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DJFreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The camping is placed in Paris, there is a shuttle bus with connection to a Metro / RER station. We didn't have a reservation but we were helped and shown a spot in a very efficient way,

There where enough facilities and they where cleaned on a regular base. The shop is very well stocked and it is possible to have lunch / diner in the restaurant.

The road next to the campground is quite bussy, so it might be good to use earplugs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watafutaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#1,430 of 1,809 in Paris
186 reviews
Hotel de L'Union
#765 of 1,809 in Paris
172 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#1,305 of 1,809 in Paris
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget Paris Nord 18eme
#1,562 of 1,809 in Paris
437 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Luna Park Hotel
Luna Park Hotel
#1,267 of 1,809 in Paris
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping de Paris

Address: 2 allee du Bord de l Eau, 75016 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Passy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#454 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $45 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping de Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, PitchUp, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camping de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Du Bois De Boulogne Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing