We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average......would try elsewhere.”

La Grange Saint Michel
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
La Grange Saint Michel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13,013 of 16,839 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $11 - $16
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Description: Notre restauant et de fini et raclete
Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Average......would try elsewhere.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Was wanting a nice Raclette as saw some people having it at a different restaurant the evening before. The meat selection with it was decent but the cheese well below par. I think it is just processed. With all the great cheese here in France why give out this crap.
The waiter was a Russian from Georgia and very pleasant.
The wine I agree with other reviews is very expensive. Why can 't they serve something decent at a reasonable price. A nice house in a carafe. Looks like all the restaurants want to sell the half and full bottles only.
My husbands salad was okay but pâté not near as nice as we found at the butchers.
Pass this one by.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    55
    49
    35
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Below expectations”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We cruised throug all the Latin Quarter to find a nice place to eat Roclette. The prices at all of the numerous restarants for this meal are equal - 15 Euro per person for an assorted type. We expected a real roclette with a large melting machine, a solid piece of cheese etc. In fact the roclette there is just a plate with different meats, sausages, a plate with potatoes, a Tefal grill and six peaces of sliced chease. So you put the chease into the grill, wait till it mepls and then mix it with all that you have on the plate.
So, shis seems to be roclette by ingredients but it comes in no comparison with the roclette you can get in French alps - the feeling in sompletely different.
The service is average, tha staff is not as nice as you can expect. The place itself is not held by French people, though only some there really are.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eugene120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonant, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Year's Eve Fail”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was rather horrible. We should have seen the red flag when we saw NO one in the restaurant other than an American family. The blonde waitress, who was wearing electric pink CROC shoes with a rather nice outfit, was very annoyed at the fact that there were no customers and she made EVERYONE know that she was ticked off. The Pierrade is what we ordered. We became good adverts because we were seated by the window and everyone came in after seeing us with our food. The waitress left finally before the rush, as she was ticked off. The Carafe of wine was 14€, even though it was filled with wine from plastic bottles and tasted like vinegar. I wouldn't recommend going to this restaurant. If you want a nice Pierrade or Fondue, i suggest going to Au Piano Muet in the same quarter. It was wonderful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvio g, Serveur at La Grange Saint Michel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Google Translation
dessus de ne pas retrouve le restaurant comme je les quitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“resturant to avoid”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Our last night in Paris and we were looking forward to a nice meal to round off four nights of good dining experiences before leaving next day.This restaurant seemed to fit the bill and we were given a warm welcome on entry.Unfortunately everything went downhill after that.Aperitifs ( Pastis ) were almost twice the price of neighbouring restaurants.Entry dishes arrived while only halfway through aperitifs with plates being almost thrown down on table, bread was not supplied and had to be asked for .Entry dishes were mediocre .Aperitif glasses and bottle removed brusquely. Knives and forks for main courses were dumped at the side of the table not placed in front of of us .The main courses were fine ,no complaints.No water was supplied whereas all other restaurants left a bottle of water on the table as a matter of course .During our meal we noticed the waiter taking pieces of bread from the bread baskets behind the bar tearing them off, eating them,then tossing leftover bits back in to the bread basket .The baskets were later given out to diners.The waiter and his colleague behind the bar also spent some time discussing and commenting on diners in the restaurant without thinking they could be heard or understood by anyone nearby.Desserts were ice cream ( cheap supermarket ).At no time were we asked if meals were okay or if anything else was required.We left as soon as we could .A poor end to an otherwise lovely stay in Paris .We will be back to Paris but not to this restaurant.Walk on by.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raymond f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airb330
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Terrible serviced ruined the otherwise good food”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Came in for a lunch and ordered fondue and foie gras. We ordered a carafe (50 cL) of red table wine. The waiter brought a 750 mL bottle of red wine. We once again, asked for the 50 cL carafe. He, instead, brought a 375 mL bottle of the same "house wine" as he kept calling it. We finally gave up and the half bottle wasn't even opened for a good 10 minutes. We were annoyed when everyone else had carafes of wine except us and were served faster than us.

The bill came and that half bottle was ~20 Euros. What a rip off! It was good wine and worth the money, but that was not what we wanted, but the waiter didn't seem to care. It doesn't seem like everyone gets ripped off here, but I was annoyed when something we ordered was replaced by something more expensive. Good thing we didn't drink the 750 mL bottle! I feel it was done on purpose by our waiter, the other waiter seemed to be more attentive and didn't rip off his guests.

It's on a cute street and has an authentic old decor inside...but the service needs improvement.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Airb330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grange Saint Michel also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Grange Saint Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing