We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly, Cozy Hotel”
Review of Hotel Gavarni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gavarni
Ranked #1,041 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Friendly, Cozy Hotel”
Reviewed July 11, 2008

We found this hotel through a tour book. We checked out the reviews in Trip Advisor, and most of the comments were favorable, so we decided to try it since most of the hotels in Paris were sold out. We have been in Paris several times, and we had always stayed in the more touristy places around Blvd. Haussman or Madaline.

Hotel Gavarni was tucked in a small street. The neighborhood feels great, full of energy during the day, and it feels very Parisian. There are a lot of stores around this area, and even a small movie theater (in comparison to the American sized movie theaters). The staff was excellent! We never had such a good experience with friendly Parisian hotel staff members. Most hotel staff members are never rude to us but we always feel a bit of attitude. The staff members at Gavarni made us feel so welcomed! They were all attentive, and polite, with a smile on every time they saw us!

We stayed at the "Versailles" suite. It was nice and feminine. Although the description read "view of the Eiffel Tower", the view was pretty much a peak a the top of the Eiffel Tower. The room was big enough but the bathroom was tiny. The hotel is overall very unpretentious, but at least to us it felt more "real".
The elevator was very small (only two people could fit there comfortably). The location was OK. It is located in a less touristy area, that's why to us it felt more real. The nearest metro is Passy, which is a very short walk from the hotel, like 3 blocks. The supermarket is just around the corner, which at first it doesn't even look like a supermarket, since it looks like a department store with clothes and makeup in the front entrance.

The hotel includes breakfast, which is OK. Not the best fancy breakfast, but it was good, and enough to satisfy us. If you are more of the bacon, sausage and eggs type of person, this breakfast might be on the light side. The breakfast feels more like what a true Parisian will eat for breakfast. They serve the baguette, croissant and chocolate croissant in an individual basket. The hot chocolate is great!

I would highly recommend this hotel for it's service. We don't know how a regular room looks, but I assume that it will be on the small size. The Versailles suite's size is more like a regular American hotel room.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff Members
  • Disliked — Location, even if it was close to the Passy metro, it still felt kind of far from the main city center.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LABUNNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    72
    33
    12
    1
See reviews for
20
51
21
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, L.I.
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We would certainly stay again the next time we're in Paris. The neighborhood was also very good.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank LJRadecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2008

Small wonderful hotel, what has left very good impression
and became our "home sweet home" in Paris.
Definatly will stay only in this hotel next year !!!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stranger_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

Hotel Gavarni was a great place to stay! I travelled alone in Paris over the summer and found this hotel clean, the rooms adorable (small but not tiny, really all you need), and the staff helpful. The concierge spoke English which was great, and were helpful with getting me a cab to the airport. The hotel is easy to find and three blocks from a subway station which is, from my experience, the best way for a first-timer to get around Paris. However I wouldn't recommend taking the subway to and from Charles de Gaulle airport - too many stairs and train changes if you have luggage! It was also fun being in one of the Paris "neighborhoods" - it made Paris feel less like a touristy place and more like home. Further, the hotel is walking distance to the Seine on the Rive Gauche where you can see great views of the Eiffel Tower, and within walking distance of the Tower itself. All of that plus the fantastic price - I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — The charming rooms and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Elevators were small and hard to get in with my large bag - but not impossible.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MissDrew214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2008

After trying a number of small hotels, I had pretty much concluded there wasn't a hotel employee in the 16th A. who gave a darn about service. The staff here are clearly the exception - very pleasant, helpful, they even smile - what a pleasant surprise!
Hotel Gavarni's rooms are the standard small size one comes to expect in 2 star Parisien hotels, but the bed was comfortable and the entire hotel has had some recent renovations. The location is good - on a quiet street just 100 metres off rue de Passy, and very close to the Metro stop. I'll definitely return.
If a larger room is important to you, then try the Regina de Passy one street over (rue de la Tour). But be warned - the staff there have never heard of the word "service".

  • Liked — staff, service
  • Disliked — typically small Paris room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eezygoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2008

We were very impressed with our stay at the hotel gavarni.
For the price, its in a great location near the Eiffel tower, cute rooms, good service and cheap!!
Great little shops nearby!! Loved it!!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank sassinboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
119 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2007

Small hotel just off Passy. Very close to Passy metro and a short walk to the Eiffel Tower. Some decent shopping along Passy.

Was scared initially by the bright SUSHI sign across the street (like the Seinfeld Kenny Rogers episode) but they shut it off when the restaurant closed.

Small room and even smaller washroom. I had a "large" single. It had a double bed but I was happy I was alone. The smaller single could have been quite tight. Only paid 110 per night though and that included breakfast. A bargain by Paris standards. After my 4 th stay in Paris I have significantly dialed down my North American hotel expectations.

Not much sound insulation between the rooms. If you get someone loud next door it could be trouble. Had stayed at the Regina nearby and prefer this place. At the Regina I was awakened by gargage trucks every morning. No problem with that here. Gavarni is a small quiet street.

Small LCD TV, gets CNN in English. No clock or clock radio.

Wi-fi is available but they want 20 euros per 24 hours. Ridiculous!

Would stay here again if I had business in the area..

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — size of rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AnotherOntarioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Trocadero
Passy Eiffel Hotel
Passy Eiffel Hotel
#187 of 1,802 in Paris
561 reviews
Trocadero
Hotel Windsor Home
Hotel Windsor Home
#1,331 of 1,802 in Paris
33 reviews
Trocadero
Hotel Nicolo
Hotel Nicolo
#138 of 1,802 in Paris
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trocadero
Best Western Premier Trocadero La Tour
Trocadero
Hameau De Passy
Hameau De Passy
#991 of 1,802 in Paris
268 reviews
Trocadero
Maison FL
Maison FL
#267 of 1,802 in Paris
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gavarni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gavarni

Property: Hotel Gavarni
Address: 5 rue Gavarni | 16 Arr., 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Trocadero , Passy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gavarni 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gavarni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gavarni Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing