We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a prime location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Waldorf Trocadero
Ranked #252 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a prime location!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very good location for Arc de Triomphe, Charles de Gaulle Metro (quick and easy connections to all other attractions and Disneyland Paris!) and Eiffel Tower; 10 minute walk to all, boulangerie over the road and bus stop straight from Gare du Nord a 5 minute walk away!

Nice modern room, very clean and maintained every day with clean towels. Not very spacious but does the job and is good value for money. Check-in was very simple, nice staff but the 'bar' was less of a bar and more of a lounge. Can't comment on breakfast as opted for boulangerie croissants! Wifi was of a good standard, but separate codes are needed for each device.

Only downside to the experience was the air-conditioning - or lack of! Having a room on the first floor, with a large window opening out onto a roof (not wanting to leave open due to security) and no ventilation of any kind, air conditioning would have been good - especially as it was advertised.

We asked reception if they could adjust the air con (room controls made no difference) to be cooler and were told that it was 'law' in France not to turn it on until June!! This is rubbish. We then asked a different member of staff on reception (in the evening) if it could be adjusted and were met with an abrupt 'it is working!'. Not the kind of customer service we expected. We tried to explain that no air could be felt coming out but he still remained insistent that it was working and wasn't 'like the UK air con units!' So we gave up and remained in a stuffy room leading to a poor nights sleep! Other than that, the bed was comfortable :)

Overall though, nice hotel in a great location!

Room Tip: Come in June when the law states that air con can be turned on!... Or bring a fan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Responsable commercial at Hotel Waldorf Trocadero, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thanks for your kind comments about our property. We are sorry for the inconvenience you had with the air conditioning in your room. At the moment most of the guests still want hot air but not fresh air, due to the bad weather conditions in paris we will move the other position in the next few days. We will still remain at your disposal for another stay in our property. Best regards. NB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    267
    60
    21
    17
See reviews for
69
380
24
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We found that the Hotel while good for overnight domestic clients was not as suitable for longer term international travellers with a number of suitcases and had minimal wardrobe space. Its location is close to good shops and restaurant's and attractions with a 15 min walk to the river, transport and the Eiffel Tower. No air-con was available so the room seemed stuffy and at times we sleep with the balcony doors open until the garbage trucks arrived at 4 am rattling down the street. I found web photos do not realistically demonstrate the size of the rooms.

Room Tip: Higher rooms would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heled334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Responsable commercial at Hotel Waldorf Trocadero, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Helen
We acknowledged receipt of your comments about your stay in our property and just inform you that most of the rooms space are mostly the same in Paris hotels. You enjoyed the location of the hotel and will be very pleased to welcome you again for another stay. Best regards. NB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

For our last night in Paris we thought we'd splurge and stay near the eiffel tower.....this hotel, although quaint, is very tiny and over priced. Luckily we booked through Booking.com since the place we'd originally booked through Hotwire ended up being in a terrible part of town (even though that's not was I thought I was booking) and hotwire refused to issue any form of customer service like maybe try and accomodate us in the location we thought we'd chosen. I digress. the Waldorf was clean and because we patiently waited for our room to be ready they generously upgraded us to a superior suite. I would have hated to see what a classic room was because the Superior suite was a small regular hotel room as far as I could tell....perhaps it was the robes that made it superior? Anyway, nice staff but not sure I'd go back. The bed was less than comfortable.

Room Tip: book through booking.com and take the upgraded suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ketchwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Responsable commercial at Hotel Waldorf Trocadero, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear ketchwave
We would like to thank you for your feedback among our property. We are sorry to see you didn't enjoyed your stay as expected in our hotel. Our hotel is classified as a 4 stars hotel in accordance with the new & last hotel classification procedure. We always took care of guests and upgraded them in superior rooms depends to our availibility. Don't hesitate to contact us to renew your stay in Paris and we will have the pleasure to help you feelinh more comfortable. Best regards. NB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

This boutique hotel just 5 minutes from the Arc de Triomphe, and 10 minutes from the Eiffel Tower is perfectly positioned to explore this fantastic city if on tight schedule as it's also in triangle of 3 popular metro stations.
The staff are friendly and approachable and nothing is to much trouble, our room, small but perfectly formed is highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shaunm_robson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Responsable commercial at Hotel Waldorf Trocadero, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thanks a lot for your comments and feedback about your experience in our property. All the Waldorf hotel team is always taking care of guests' comfort. hope to see you again in the city of lights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton keynes
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and wanted 3 nights in Paris - we could not have wished for anything better than the Waldorf Tracedero. Its a short taxi ride from the Garde du Nord, around 20 euros, and perfectly located for all the major sites. Eiffel tower 10 min walk (grab a banana and chocolate crepe on the way for 5 euros) and in the other direction the Arc de Triomphe is 15mins away.
The hotel is very clean and modern in its apearance. The staff were also extremely friendly and glad to help - even handing us umbrellas as it rained most days. We were on the 2nd floor, had a nice little balcony, and seeing some rooms in other hotels I would say we had plenty of space. The bed was comfortable and lovely hot water every day- make no mistake this was a very good room.
Very quiet location and just what we wanted - would definitely recommend to snyone wishing to visit Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Responsable commercial at Hotel Waldorf Trocadero, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour Alaistair
C'est avec grand plaisir que nous prenons connaissance de votre message et de votre retour sur notre établissement. Celui étant ayant un positionnement idéal entre la tour Eiffel et les Champs-Elysées, cela ne peut que vous faire apprécier la ville des lumières. Nous restons à votre disposition pour un prochain séjour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Lovely little hotel in a great location for anyone wanting to see the sights of Paris! A short walk to the eiffel tower and arc du triomphe!

Staff are lovely and very keen to help you with any questions about the city! This hotel is also right by the entrance to the metro which is fantastic for getting around the city!

Would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to enjoy a short city break. Cute hotel ideal for couples and if you're lucky like me and my partner, you can see the eiffel tower from your room!

Room Tip: Get one with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggi93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Responsable commercial at Hotel Waldorf Trocadero, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks a lot and really happy you enjoyed your stay in Paris !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Ideal location. Friendly, competent staff. A good breakfast included in our stay.
Many good choices nearby for lunch, dinner, snacks. Eiffel Tower location, a 3 or 4 block walk. Did tours on our own from this location. Loved Paris. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Responsable commercial at Hotel Waldorf Trocadero, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks a lot for your comments about our property ans staff ! We will always be glad to welcoming you again in Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Trocadero
Hotel Longchamp Elysees
Hotel Longchamp Elysees
#201 of 1,802 in Paris
633 reviews
Trocadero
Garden Elysee Hotel
Garden Elysee Hotel
#538 of 1,802 in Paris
395 reviews
Trocadero
La Clef Tour Eiffel Paris
La Clef Tour Eiffel Paris
#245 of 1,802 in Paris
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trocadero
Maison FL
Maison FL
#318 of 1,802 in Paris
280 reviews
Trocadero
Hotel Palais de Chaillot
Hotel Palais de Chaillot
#555 of 1,802 in Paris
263 reviews
Trocadero
Plaza Tour Eiffel
Plaza Tour Eiffel
#370 of 1,802 in Paris
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldorf Trocadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldorf Trocadero

Property: Hotel Waldorf Trocadero
Address: 97 rue Lauriston, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Trocadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in Paris
#173 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#190 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#214 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waldorf Trocadero 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style between Eiffel Tower and Champs Elysees - 2 min from Boissiere, near Arc de Triomphe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Waldorf Trocadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Trocadero Paris
Waldorf Trocadero Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing