We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal Elysees

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Royal Elysees
Ranked #1,402 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Charming!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I found this hotel old (as most hotels in Europe are) and perhaps a little shabby in places, but in an utterly charming way. Room was lovely, beds comfortable and balcony overlooked the Arc de Triumph. Can't beat THAT for location. Yes, the breakfast room is small and cramped, but you DO have the alternative option of ordering to your room. As hotel was not busy, we didn't find it a problem. The staff could not have been more helpful or polite. THANK YOU Mr Z :-) I would most definitely stay there again. Air conditioning worked perfectly!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maité V, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Elysees, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comments.

best regards

Z
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    98
    99
    40
    45
See reviews for
34
153
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Upon arrival the hotel looked alright but that`s when niceness finished. The room had a musty smell was old and rundown, it was also very noisy at night and felt itchy when lying in the bed which was very uncomfortable to say the least. The shower leaked, metal fixtures in bathroom were rusty and/or dirty "what a disgrace", breakfast was terrible and we only stayed at the hotel for 1 night out of 3.
The following morning when we decided to check out and ask the concierge to call a taxi, We expected an interest as to why we checked out so early, but the only thing we got was the question "which hotel would you like the taxi to take you to ?" and not trying to resolve the issue at hand, so it seemed like to us that he was used to customers checking out early.
This experience in beautiful Paris left us with a sour taste and spoiled an otherwise awesome holiday and left us out of pocket due to finding alternate accommodation. Don`t waste your time and money with this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maité V, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Elysees, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We are very sorry to see that you didn't like our property. Probably you were expecting a deluxe hotel.
We found your comments severe and do not show reality.
Also we would like to inform you that our hotel has renewed its certificate of 4 stars according to French law. This classification is obtained by a thorough auditing standards. You will find better 4 stars but with double price or even more.
sorry for this late reply as we had lost the password to reply.
best regards,

ZAID
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Booked for a few nights and only stayed one. The bathroom was a disgrace, looked old and grotty with the door of the bathroom with the wood was peeling off, ants were on the table in the room. The breakfast was awful and the area this was served cramped and airless. The whole atmosphere of the hotel was uncomfortable to say the least. Terrible experience which left me out of pocket and nearly ruined the entire trip.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BSO873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maité V, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Elysees, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Google Translation
Nous avons pris connaissance de vos commentaires dont nous vous remercions; Notre plus grand souci étant la satisfaction de nos Clients, nous allons tout mettre en œuvre pour améliorer les points que vous avez soulevé concernant le petit déjeuner.
je voudrais vous indiquer que l'hôtel est un bâtiment ancien typique parisien et nous faisons de notre mieux pour préserver son esprit classique.

Je suis sincèrement désolé que vous soyez parti avec une impression négative de notre Hotel.
Cordialement,
ZAID
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eMalahleni, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here over the long weekend bank holiday. We were 2 couples MO Mo the young gentleman on the front desk was very helpful with great advice on where to eat etc. Fabulous position to walk to most of the great sights in Paris, A clean and well maintained older building. Well priced for the position in center of Paris. Would definitely stay here again. If you want 5 star I suggest you pay the extra and choose one of the many other very expensive Hotels in Paris. But if you want good value for money. This hotel will provide a great position clean rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfpollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maité V, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Elysees, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. All the staff is happy to hear that you appreciated their service and wish to welcome you again in our property.

best regards,

ZAID
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legnica, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is a great place for someone who does not want to spend a lot of time looking for all those popular landmarks in Paris as it is situated just next to the Arc de Triomphe. The rooms are quite clean but insanely small. Breakfasts are...limited as you may have croissants (of course), baguettes with jam or Nutella and hard boiled eggs and... that's about it. Nevertheless, if you plan a short visit with a tight sightseeing schedule, Hotel Royal is The place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wiolkakucuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maité V, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Elysees, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Google Translation
Cher client,

Nous avons lu avec attention vos commentaires et nous souhaitons vous remercier d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre expérience sur Tripadvisor.
Nous voulons vous remercier également pour votre commentaire sur notre situation sur Paris. Nous ferons de notre mieux pour ameliorer notre petit déjeuner sans augmenter les tarifs. Chaque jour, nous essayons de donner un service en accord avec les attentes de notre clientèle.

cordialement,
A. ZAID
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was my third trip to Paris with my partner and our first (and last) stay at this hotel. On the plus side - the reception staff were very helpful and friendly, good location, near to the main metro line. On the negative side - terrible breakfast with limited choices. One choice of breakfast cereal so hope you like cornflakes with lukewarm milk. Stale bread available to toast and worst of all I've eaten better croissants from the local supermarket in England. Breakfast is advertised as being between 7am and 11am. However, the bread ran out at 10.15 on the 2nd day and when my partner asked for some more the woman simply shrugged her shoulders and walked away. The orange juice also ran out on the 2nd day. The yoghurts in the small chilled cabinet were not replenished and ran out of popular choices on 3 out of our 5 night stay. There were only 6 croissants left on our last morning at 9:15. The breakfast area is also very small and on our last morning we witnessed one unfortunate couple struggle to move the table so they could sit down and accidentally upset their orange juice which was rewarded with a fierce scowl by the lady "serving" in the breakfast room. We also found ants in our bathroom on a couple of occasions. Our hotel room had a balcony and a sideways view of the Arc de Triomphe. Unfortunately my partner was woken early every morning by the bins being emptied outside. We were very disappointed with the hotel overall as we've stayed in nicer 3 star hotels in Paris also near the Arc de Triomphe. The hotel reception staff were the best part of our stay here as they were friendly and offered advice on places to eat or visit during our stay which is why I've given the hotel an overall poor as opposed to terrible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maité V, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Elysees, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Client,

Nous voulons vous remercier du temps que vous avez consacré à écrire vos commentaires concernant notre hôtel.
Je suis sincèrement désolé que vous soyez parti avec une impression négative sur notre petit déjeuner. A ce sujet, je voulais vous informer que nous mettons tout en œuvre pour l'améliorer. Vous pouvez être sûr que nous travaillons au quotidien sur nos services et nos installations.
Merci beaucoup pour vos commentaires sur la qualité de l'accueil.



Respectueuses salutations,
ZAID
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel was clean and tidy nothing special but a nice room with a view of the Arc de triomphe with is only a couple of 100 yards away The hotel is very good central location. On the same street victor Hugo ave we found a super market called monop buy a1.5 litre of water for euro 0.25 that's just 22p go anywhere else and you pay 3euro for a 500ml. Make sure you go to top floor as prices below are more expensive. Back to the Hotel they claim it is 4 star which I would say not breakfast disappointing cramped in a little dinning room. Basic food toast your own bread make tea with tea bag and water. Overall we enjoyed our stay apart from the breakfast. Tip use the metro we got one on klieber ave that took us to Eiffel Tower.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 41avg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maité V, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Elysees, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing with us your experience via Trip Advisor.

We are very proud to see your comments about the cleanliness, the comfort of your room and the situation of the hotel. Concerning breakfast, we take into consideration your comments and we will try to improve it keeping the same price. Also we would like to inform you that our hotel has renewed its certificate of 4 stars according to French law. This classification is obtained by a thorough auditing standards.

We do hope to see you back at the Royal Elysees in future.

Best regards,
ZAID
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Cecilia Arc De Triomphe
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#675 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel du Ministere
Hotel du Ministere
#128 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
#179 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Belfast
Hotel Belfast
#990 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Elysees

Property: Hotel Royal Elysees
Address: 6 avenue Victor Hugo | 16th Arr., 75116 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees , Passy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#473 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Elysees 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Royal Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Elysees Hotel
Royal Elysees Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing