We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only hotel that I will EVER stay in when I go to Paris!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #103 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2010

The hotel was within walking distance of the metro, a convenience store, and at least 8 different restaurants, each with its own ethnic focus. Also within walking distance of one of the not-often-visited tourist sites, Père Lachaise cemetery.

Everyone was extremely friendly. We were actually bumped up to the Honeymoon Suite when we arrived at no additional charge simply because "they had an opening." They give you your own little slippers with the hotel logo, which is adorable. The shower was amazing with jets that sprayed from multiple angles. While the room was small, even for the honeymoon suite, it was nice to come home to someplace as beautiful as the rest of the city.

We actually preferred not staying so close to the other tourist sites because it forced us to see other areas of Paris, and to be around actual French people instead of tourists constantly. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone visiting the city.

There's something to be said about the fact that it is ranked 14th out of over 1,000 Parisian hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Colbere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,999)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Francais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,250 - 1,256 of 1,999 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2010

This is à gem of à hotel! We took à multi-city and multi-country 4 Week tour of Western Europe and can honestly say this hotel ranked #1. It has it all: quiet, Great AC, cozy beds, excellent shower, wifi, great view of Boulevard Voltaire, good restaurants in the neighborhood (le Dalou is wonderful). We will book again. Thanks for knowing your job, Hotel Francais!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ronnjonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Grand Hotel Francais was our first stop on a multi-city tour of western Europe for our honeymoon. It met and exceeded expectations. The staff was fantastic; very friendly, accomodating and volunteered helpful information without being overbearing. Just a very simple, clean and comforable hotel. The metro was convenient from the hotel, and the surroudning neighborhood had plenty to offer for dining.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JamesJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happymanager, Manager at Grand Hotel Francais, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2010

Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to give your impression of our hotel,

We are pleased that as a first impression on France and Europe we do not have disappointed my team and I are delighted that your honeymoon is well and hope we'll take you luck.

Hope to see you in our hotel for a new adventure!

Sincerely,
The staff and Zyad!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

This is our third time staying in the Grand Hotel Français…… and it’s as good as ever! These guys are trying really hard to provide a high standard of service. The rooms are modern and well equipped, and the whole hotel is kept spotlessly clean. On arrival we were delighted to discover that we had been upgraded to a charming superior room with a balcony…many thanks for that Zayed! As usual the entire staff were friendly and helpful (and largely multilingual it seems). Breakfast was fresh and tasty and served with good cheer every morning. Personally I love the hotel’s location, the local bars and restaurants are great if you don’t feel like going far and you’re right beside Rue des boulets (line 9) metro and within 5/10mins walk of the large Nation metro and RER. If you can master the metro you can get anywhere in Paris quite easily and efficiently using only one carnet (tube ticket). It’s no surprise that this hotel receives such excellent Tripadvisor reviews, they are very well deserved. We wouldn’t want to stay anywhere else in Paris!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Campbell59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed in this hotel as part of our trip to France and althought it is out of the city you can still get around on the metro very easy,staff are friendly and the hotel is spottless,I had stayed in other hotels around Paris and they were nowhere as good

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Markonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed here for 8 nights and simply loved the place. The staff, led by owner Zayed, was uniformly friendly, helpful, and effective. The people manning the desk always asked about our plans for the day, offering advice when they thought prudent, and always inquired when we returned about how things went. The breakfast room people were lovely, as were the cleaning staff, who also pressed our clothes for no charge. Small, but clean, comfortable, quiet, efficiently-laid-out rooms with very comfortable beds and excellent showers. Free wi-fi. Great breakfasts, made even better with the new bakery they've just engaged. The croissants were commercial until 7/19; now they're the real thing, and what a difference! We love the location, in a superficially uninteresting neighborhood, but close to the metro, close to many lovely restaurants, and quiet and calm. We loved coming back at the end of long days of touristy stuff. On top of all this, a great value. We'll stay here whenever we return to Paris.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Golfer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happymanager, Manager at Grand Hotel Francais, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2010

Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to give your impression of our hotel,

I moved so many compliments, I am glad that have enjoyed our new baker we have put great effort into improving our breakfast and I am glad that you've noticed.

I look forward to your return


Sincerely,
Staff and Zyad IF THE MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Where do I start, excellent hotel. I booked this hotel for my wife’s 30th birthday and as always on special occasions you worry about the hotel. Well on this occasion it turned out to be a real treat. The room was spotlessly clean and very modern, a little on the small side but this is Paris and for what I paid, through the hotels own web site, I definitely can’t complain. On arrival we were upgrade, I get the feeling this always happens. We were given the wifi access codes and a map of good nearby restaurants. We tried one just round the corner and it was great. Its close to two metro stops which is exactly what you need when in Paris. It is a little out of the tourist hot spots but the area is very safe and has a nice village type feel to it. It’s worth having dinner nearby and just sitting out on the street watching the world go by. I get the feeling this little gem could be in line for a trip advisor good value award.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#98 of 1,804 in Paris
647 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#43 of 1,804 in Paris
1,550 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#345 of 1,804 in Paris
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#62 of 1,804 in Paris
2,435 reviews
Hotel Astoria - Astotel
#140 of 1,804 in Paris
1,097 reviews
Hotel Helussi
#55 of 1,804 in Paris
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#56 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#82 Business Hotel in Paris
#130 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $105 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing