We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #99 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night of our honeymoon - and it was lovely! We were upgraded to an Executive Suite on the top floor which was fantastic. We had a small porch that had such a lovely view of other rooftops. The location and neighborhood seemed great, although we were only here for a quick stay en route to another location so we didn't have too much time to explore. Staff were friendly and helpful. And the breakfast selections were quite reasonable. Also free wi-fi which was nice. Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Would certainly ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    539
    84
    15
    7
See reviews for
175
1,259
94
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have arrived at the hotel and the reception guy was polite. I went up to my room which I couldnt believe how small it was. I provided a photo of the room which shows that we had two travel bags on the floor and there was literally no space to walk. imagine that there were 4 big pillows and if u throw them on the floor there is no space and u have to walk on them. The bathroom is very small and when u close the door there is no space even to turn. Imagine that the bathtub the sink and the toilet are stick together and there is only less than 40 cm floor in the bathroom. The hotel is close to the metro just across the street but it is 16 station from the Eiffel tower and you also have to change lines. the room was clean. Overall this hotel is suggested only for single travelers that only want a night sleep. Not more than one night. Also the price was ridiculously high for what it offers. 150 euros pers night you can find better places. It is less than basic hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marios R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We recently enjoyed a 3 night stay at this hotel. The room was spotless and the shower fantastic, the room upgrade (we were celebrating a special birthday) and complimentary wine was also a very nice touch. We were in room 2 on the ground floor and didn't experience any noise at all. The hotel is situated in a residential part of Paris with numerous cafes, bistros etc nearby and also 2 metro stations within easy walking distance. Every member of staff we met were so friendly and helpful - would certainly go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandmrsr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My Wife and I stayed athe Grande Hotel Francais to celebrate my wifes birthday. Fabulous hotel staff were wonderfully helpful. The nhotel is really handy for the metro and very quiet.We will stay there again next time we are in Paris (hopefully soon)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The staff of this hotel doesnt care about anything. When We arrived there were no one on the counter, we waited almost half hour finally grabbed someone to finiliaze the checkin. The Room is so tiny we cant even find a place to put our two luggages. We found silverfish bug in our bathroom and their staff refuse to clean it up. At night, my wife cant go into sleep because the noise coming from the street. Contacted staff, they just throw hands up in the air like its none of their business. BE WARE, THERE ARE THOUGHSANDS GOOD HOTELS IN PARIS. STAY AWAY FROM THIS SCAMMING HOTEL!!! OR YOU WILL REGRET!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Linderoth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happymanager, Manager at Grand Hotel Francais, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Everybody knows that it is not true indeed , in fact if it was the truth we wouldn’t have any time to write all that. Good review are not only posted on trip advisor but on most of the website we worked with . We don’t have any reputation to build for our readers . The gentleman wrote that review as a punishment as he previously said , just because he did not understand our cancelation procedure ,for the fact that he cancel his reservation outside the time frame he was supposed to .Therefore he received an automatic reminder about the booking conditions.

As we saw the reason , and thought that we were generous not charging this gentleman who did not give us any chance to explain anything . He was threatening us aggressively , it is clear that he was going to put this review on trip advisor.





It is sad to see that in the 21 century , people still behave like that .

And thank you to for those who have made our success and who we think of in these moments for their generosity.



Kindu regards
Ziyad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent hotel and really could not fault it in any way! Very clean and comfortable rooms, everything was provided! We were there for 5 nights and packed a great deal into our trip. Everything was easily accessible from the hotel. Metro took us everywhere and we never waited more than a couple of minutes. The staff at this hotel go the extra mile to help you. Will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Paris!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AM9396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel..very friendly...clean the only down fall we had was the room was on the smaller size but it did not put us off our stay because every thing else was great, the staff told us the best places to eat, helped us by telling us best way in to the city and how to do it next time we are in Paris we will just book our stay at the Grand Hotel Francais

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Scarlett
Hotel Scarlett
#24 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#97 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#100 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#36 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#372 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Property: Grand Hotel Francais
Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#82 Business Hotel in Paris
#112 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#131 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing