We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #109 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Was great choice!

spotless rooms, amazing service, and great location!
Thank yuo to the reception for all help!!

there should be more hotels lke that in the Europe!
i will recommend it to my friends too

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 2,059 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

Recently returned from Paris, had a super two night stay with my husband in this small but perfectly formed hotel. We stayed in the hotel's standard double room, which was small (normal in a city like Paris, or London) but spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds, a super en-suite and a fantastic power shower! Very modern, chic, boutique style rooms with everything you might need, ideal for a short city break. The hotel is located away from the main tourist areas which is perfect after a long day sight-seeing to return to the peace and quiet! We could however easily walk to the Bastille area (about 5-10 mins) and the main tourist locations are only a few stops by metro. Metro is cheap and easy to use too. The staff at Grand Hotel Francais are kind, welcoming and knowledgable. Nothing is too much, they were happy to chat and inform us about the area and the city as a whole. They recommended excellent restaurants and areas of interest. Breakfast included in our room rate, was a good self service continental with plenty of choice. I would be happy to recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again, the friendly and helpful staff made it a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Francais for three nights during a blazing hot August. The air conditioning at the hotel was perfect. The free WI-FI is a bonus when planning your day or doing business.

The hotel is located near Rue d.Boulets Metro as well as the large interchange at Nation, from where you can get anywhere in Paris. The neighbourhood is smart and clean and is much cheaper than the centre of Paris. There's plenty of good restaurants and bars nearby, including those recommended by the hotel.

The room is small but very clean. The best is comfortable and there's plenty of room to store clothes etc.

I'd happily recommend this hotel and would use again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TopAdvisorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at Grand Hotel Francais based on the TA reviews. Yes the room was a bit small, but it's Paris. Yes it's a little way away from the touristy areas, but one of the best underground systems in the world makes it a breeze to get there. Yes some of the cable channels didn't work, but this is Paris - what the hell are you doing watching TV?

Having said that, I kid you not, this was far and away the best hotel in which we stayed during this Europe trip. Zyad and his team are absolutely brilliant and could not have been more helpful. Six stars.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was the final hotel on our road trip across Europe, and by far the best. The rooms are small, but very comfortable. We had air conditioning (important for a few months out of the year), a great shower, and really great pillows. When we asked for laundry service, the staff at the front desk said just bring it down by noon and you'll have it back the next day--no charge for a "reasonable amount" of clothing! Incredibly helpful staff.

The closest metro stop is Rue de Boulets (4 min walking). I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Myself and my fiancé stayed here for four nights for my birthday last month. We initially chose to stay at this hotel because of the amazing reviews and it did not disappoint! The staff were lovely and friendly and couldn't do enough for us! The rooms were spotlessly clean and the perfect size. This hotel made our first time in Paris special and we will always return to this hotel if we decide to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerbaby92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed two nights at this hotel. Warm welcome on arrival from Zyad who gave us suggestions on where to eat and how to get around on the metro. All the staff were friendly. Room was good, with great bed and large windows opening onto a balcony. The bathroom was a good siize for Paris and the shower was great. Breakfast in the basement was very good. We liked this area, away from the tourists, but within easy reach of the sights as there are two metro stations close by. Good restaurants nearby, we especially liked the fish restaurant. Look forward to staying again at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneAitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#99 of 1,809 in Paris
729 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#58 of 1,809 in Paris
1,604 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#362 of 1,809 in Paris
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
La Manufacture
La Manufacture
#270 of 1,809 in Paris
1,752 reviews
Hotel Astoria - Astotel
#161 of 1,809 in Paris
1,183 reviews
Hotel du Prince Eugene
#180 of 1,809 in Paris
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#60 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#81 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $110 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing