We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We felt right at home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Francais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #104 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“We felt right at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Hotel Francais June 5 through 12, 2013, and we have nothing but praise for the staff, the location, and our room.
The staff was amazingly kind, efficient, and helpful, as we learned right upon our arrival. We showed up at the place at 7 am, jet lagged and tired from an overnight flight, worried that our room was only promised by 3 pm. The attendant at the desk, Jamal, suggested that we first proceed to the sumptuous breakfast buffet (which never showed up on our bill!)… by the time we got back the room was ready, around 9 am! Throughout our stay, the staff (desk crew , chamber maids and the amazing breakfast hostess, Patience from Congo) went far beyond the call of duty to accommodate us and make us feel at home.
Our room 662 on the top floor, a “suite”, was really an average sized room by general European city hotel standards… this is Paris! But it was cozy, well appointed, and, most importantly, amazingly quiet, with a small but charming terrace to watch sunrise and sunset. I don’t think I have ever stayed at a big city hotel offering this much peace and quiet.
The location is great! With the hotel being situated literally just east of the area usually covered by tourist maps, the neighborhood has a nice authentic feel with many useful and interesting shops. There is a great grocery store just across the street, Boulevard Voltaire.
The metro station Rue the Boulets is just steps away. With only one Metro line passing through, Nr 9, this is an “easy” stop involving only short walks to the gates. Number 9 will bring you to central stations downtown (like Republique and Bonne Nouvelle) and also to Trocadéro, an ideal access point to the Tour Eiffel.
Of the many restaurants we ate at (all moderately priced with main courses below 20 Euro), I liked the following two best: Fourmi Ailee and Bouillon Chartier, mostly based on the great authentic atmosphere. In both places, we were seated in small, cozy upstairs rooms.

Room Tip: Take a "suite", and you will get an average sized room by general European city hotel stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissCharm1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    535
    84
    15
    7
See reviews for
172
1,248
91
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The location is very good, only a very short walk to the metro station (can use both metro & RER). It's in a residential area so it's very quiet. The room is quite small (guess it's the same with most hotels in Paris) but the bathroom is very well equipped. The front desk is very friendly (all speak very good English). I managed to get some last minute French Open tennis tickets and needed to print them off. I asked the front desk whether I can use their printer and I'm willing to pay. The gentleman (sorry, didn't ask for his name) said I could print them off for free and even lent me their laptop so I can download the document for printing. Greatly appreciate this service. They even have a list of restaurants nearby that they recommend, good touch! Good value and service. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel twice. The first time for a week before heading off to Chamonix.
We knew we were going to return to Paris for a short stay before returning to USA. Our thought was to choose a different hotel the second time but after our first stay we knew we had found the perfect hotel. It felt like "coming home." We were greeted as if we were family. I love the Grand Hotel Francias and it will always be my choice whenever in Paris. The Metro is nearby, the neighborhood is quaint and the cafe and grocery store personnel friendly.
One morning I went to look for a cup of coffee "to go." No one or place had to go cups. Finally this nice elderly gentleman said to me, " we don't drink coffee on the go. We sit down and enjoy it with friends. We experience it, not hurry through it. No coffee "to go" in Paris." So, while in Paris, slow down and enjoy every moment.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have fitness center or Restaurant but I could not find a way to emote rarting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthHeroKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Francais for 3 nights at the end of May 2013. The front desk staff, especially M. Zayd and Mlle Ocean, were most helpful with directions, suggestions for dining, and general information. There were also tolerant of my attempts at speaking French. Buffet breakfast was included in our rate, and was good, lots of choice, bread, cheese, ham, cereal, hard boiled eggs, juice, tea and coffee. The hotel is in a convenient location, near Nation Metro, and walking distance to Isle de la Cite, and Pere Lachaise Cemetery, if you like walking. Our room was small, but quiet and clean. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul_T1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We read all the glowing reports of this hotel, and we were not disappointed. It is situated in a perfect area, just a short Metro ride from the Gare du Nord with one change (the Paris Metro is easy to navigate, even for me!) and very good value. The staff are already well known to TA reviewers; Ocean (female), Zyed (male) were just great. He is an absolute scream, intelligent and highly entertaining. The breakfast was excellent, the room was super (all Paris rooms are on the small side), spotlessly clean, very comfortable, complimentary soft drinks and a welcoming box of chocolates, even a cloth to buff your shoes. This is 5 Star at a 3 Star price.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at Grand Hotel Francais in May 2013. We were in Paris as tourists and location was excellent for the purpose of our stay. Hotel is near metro and RER station Nation and Boulevard Voltaire is practical street containing bakeries, small grocery stores and there is also a supermarket which is located nearby.

Staff working at the reception were very kind and helpful and they spoke English very well, so we did not any problem with the communication.Our room was ready although we arrived an hour earlier and was very clean. We stayed in standard double room and there is not much space around beds, but that is not the problem as there is wardrobe and we had enough space to put our luggage. The WiFi works perfect and is very fast. Breakfast was amazing, you can eat as much as you like, and there is good selection of pastries, toast, cheese, ham, fruit salad, jams... There is plenty of hot water and the shower is very good.

All good and positive reviews are in our opinion true and we do not have any single complaint. Staying at this hotel was for us a relaxing and care free experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ina979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

this is the place to stay in Paris! great staff to help you get to where you are going, close by metro stops, grocery stores nearby, and enough English speaking people in the shops for you to get the whole Paris experience. short metro rides to all the major attractions. we had a wonderful suite with a large hydrotherapy shower that was just the right size for the 2 of us. a bottle of champagne and Swiss chocolates in the room upon arrival was a very nice touch. hotel was spotless and anything you needed was accommodated by the staff. highly recommend this hotel if you want to visit the sites of Paris, but get away to a little quieter area during the evening hours. But the best part of this hotel is the excellence of the staff. From the time we arrived till the time we checked out they were more than can be asked for! Thank you to everyone at the hotel for a great trip!
keith and Eileen

Room Tip: Hydrotherapy room #2. Great shower after walking around Paris all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdole45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happymanager, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Francais, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
dear guest

We would like to thank you for your nice message about our hotel ! It was our pleasure to welcome you here! We are happy to see that you had enjoyed your stay !
We would be happy to welcome you again!
Until this time, we wish you all the best !
Very kind regards from Paris

the staff of the grand hotel francais and his manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#61 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Scarlett
Hotel Scarlett
#13 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#94 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#51 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#37 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Property: Grand Hotel Francais
Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#82 Business Hotel in Paris
#131 Family Hotel in Paris
#150 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing