We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #103 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Staying at the GHF was a key part of a wonderful Parisian experience. The room, immaculate and, extremely comfortable with a shower to die for was small by American standard,s but was more than adequate to make our stay pleasurable. The manager and staff good not do more to make our 5 day stay better. They were extremely pleasant and helpful and provided many useful dining and sight seeing suggestionss. The complimentary chocolates and wine were a nice treat to cap off a tourist's day. Located within minutes of the Nation metro station made traveling about Paris very simple and convenient. GHF will certainly be included in our visits in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happymanager, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Francais, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear client,



Thank you to let a comment on TripAdvisor, it's important for us to know your opinion.

Glad that your enjoyed your room even if the shower is small. We try to adapt our room with this little space.


Thank you to saying that the manager and staff are good, it's encouraging for us. We want that our customers to feel well. We are happy that you liked chocolates ans wine !

It's true that metro station is not far from the hotel, just few minutes.

The staff of the hotel hope you to see you soon in Paris !



Have a great day ! Team of “Grand Hotel Français

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,000)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Francais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 2,000 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

This small Paris hotel offers good value and all you will need for your holiday in the City of Light. The Metro and bus transport are on the doorstep, with a convenience store across the street, a chemist nearby, and walking distance to attractions such as the Pere Lachaise cemetery (plus, of course, many bakeries and cafes). Food at the restaurants we visited was mediocre; we should have asked the concierge for advice. Don't settle for the cafes close at hand, planning where to dine will ensure better results. The rooms were attractive with all you require, including free WiFi. This is a peaceful street and we enjoyed many pleasant walks during our week in Paris. English speaking staff made things even easier.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurieandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happymanager, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Francais, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your efficient comment.

We have the chance to be well located and it is easy to visit Paris from our hotel.

You should have asked for restaurants, we know a lot of them and you wouln't have been upset, next time, it will be a pleasure to gice you advices.


We hope to welcome you again

Best regards

zyad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spent Easter weekend here with my family and thoroughly enjoyed it
Good location ,great choices of restaurants in walking distance, easy access to view Paris
Staff were very helpful ,breakfast was good,hotel was very clean, rooms were comfortable ,shower was excellent !
What more do you require?
As always chose this Hotel through Trip Advisor reviews and as always not disappointed
Overall a really good Hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartp03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happymanager, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Francais, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear customers,



Thank you very much for you comment and we were pleased to welcome you

Glad your enjoyed your stay, our location, and all our services.

Your recommendation is imortant for us and you are terue Tripa dvisor is a real proof of our quality

. Do not hesitate to follow us on Facebook or Twitter.



Have a good day ! Grand Hotel Français

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just excellent , we only had the standard double room, but that was more than ample for our needs . Hotel was clean, tidy, rooms were the same, staff were probably some of the most helpful i have ever come across. I could sit here and ramble on for days about it, but to cut it down to a shorter version..Would i stay here again ? You bet i will. 5 mins from nation metro , the whole of paris in 20 mins from the hotel via the underground. A big thank you to the staff for all thier helpful advice.

See you again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pookie-bear2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happymanager, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Francais, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear cutomers,


Thank you very much for this lovely review about our hotel and staff ! Your comment about the staff is very nice and this will encourage them !

We will very happy to see you again at « Grand Hotel Français ».

Do not hesitate to follow us on Facebook or Twitter or let us a comment.

Have a nice day ! Best regards, Team of « Grand Hotel Français »

Best regards

Grand Hotel Français Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just returned from the GHF and it lived up to previous reviews where the staff were friendly and helpful, pointing out places to visit, directions to local attractinos in walking distance such as the local food market where we bought some wonderful cheeses and charcuterie that was shrin kwrapped for our travels home. We had a room on the 6th floor which had a very comfortsble bed and lovely bed linen,as well as a great shower with lots of smellies to last the trip. We emailed the hotel prior to our arrival and they booked us into two local restaurants, Au Petit Panisse and Povada both of which were excellent and very friendly.However in terms of food, the Petit Panisse provided the better food which was outstanding and really made our holiday.I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends as it is in walking distance of the metro and the open top tour bus from Le Bastille,if you walk for 20 mins into the city centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happymanager, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Francais, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

It is really encouraging to read nice reviews as this one. Help our guest to find their restaurants or activities is very important mainly for foreigners who not speak french. The Petit Paniss is a very good adress and we recommand it often.

GHF is not far away from the metro and city centre, it is pretty nice for tourists.



Thank you for your recommandation, do not hesitate to follow us on facebook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

After a lovely visit to GHF last year we didn’t hesitate a moment to book another stay when the opportunity presented itself this year. And we were in no way disappointed!

Zyad and the others in reception were very professional, friendly and helpful. Oceane even offered to print boarding passes for us which was a real time saver the next morning at CDG.

The room was clean and quiet, the bathroom was immaculate with a great shower, and the bed was extremely comfortable. We appreciated the kettle, coffee, and tea in the room as we got ready for the day, and the ample breakfast of meats, cheeses, eggs, fruit, yogurt, patisseries, and cereal in the breakfast room fueled us for our day’s activities.

The location was great! We liked the neighborhood feel and being away from the busy, touristy areas. Yet two metro stations within an easy walk made any place we wanted to visit very accessible.

We definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to our next stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HoJo4751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Myself, husband and 2 friends have just returned after a 3 night stay at the Grand Hotel Francais. I have to say that we have had a very enjoyable experience. The hotel is in a lovely area (you feel very comfortable to be able to walk around in the evening) close to some nice restaurants and wine bars and you are only a short walk from the nearest metro which gives you access to all over Paris. The reception staff were most helpful, always willing to give advise and offer information. Breakfast was continental and buffet style, a nice choice of breads, cheeses, hams, fruit and cereals, a good base to start your day. The bedroom was very clean and modern (rather small and would maybe struggle with luggage had we not been travelling light and only for 3 days) a nice touch of chocolates on the first night and a bottle of complimentary wine on the second night. All in all I could not fault this hotel for a good city stop. I am a travel agent and well travelled and could happily recommend this choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martanddana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#97 of 1,803 in Paris
649 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#43 of 1,803 in Paris
1,550 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#340 of 1,803 in Paris
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#61 of 1,803 in Paris
2,435 reviews
Hotel Astoria - Astotel
#143 of 1,803 in Paris
1,098 reviews
Hotel Helussi
#56 of 1,803 in Paris
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#82 Business Hotel in Paris
#130 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $104 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing