We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm and friendly stay in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Francais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #104 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A warm and friendly stay in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel last minute based on the TripAdvisor Reviews. Usually I don't expect much from a 3 star in Paris however I was blown away firstly by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and also by the room and the hotel itself. The room was spotless and very well decorated. The slippers in the bathroom were a nice touch and breakfast was great as it was included in our package. The people and the location is what makes it top notch. Great people on reception, nothing was too much trouble and great recommendations from them for tours and also for local eats.
You can walk to a lot of places like we did and take in the sights and sounds of Paris.
Thanks Grand Hotel Francais and hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: We had room 115 which was VERY quiet and dark - great nights sleep compared to other Paris Hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KittymKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    534
    84
    15
    7
See reviews for
171
1,248
91
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I chose this hotel specifically on the favourable trip advisor feedback so I was expecting the hotel to be welcoming but this was surpassed.
The staff are very friendly and very keen to please. It was a particularly nice touch to be told on arrival that we had been given a larger room and breakfast included during our stay as it was my wife's birthday.
I know that negative feedback makes for better reading on Trip Advisor but we couldn't fault the hotel - sorry!

Room Tip: Rooms are on the small side by international standards but this is not uncommon for Paris and is mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GarrySibbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happymanager, Manager at Grand Hotel Francais, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
dear madam Sir

thank you for choosing our hotel ,

What's else to say , we give you post of ambassador of the GRAND HOTEL FRANCAIS and of course Thank you, THIS IS The kind of comment that makes me love my work and make me up in the morning with the smile Thanks Hope to see you again in our hotel

warm regard from the staf of the grand hotel francais his manager ZYAD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is excellently located near the metro. The neighbourhood isn't too touristy and there are plently of good local cafes and restaurants nearby that are not over flowing with tourists.

The rooms are clean and relatively modern. Staff are very friendly and chatty. Breakfast is also decent. Overall very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dragondrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have just got back from spending 4 days in Paris and did so at this Hotel.

To report Small Rooms would be a massive understatement, I have never had nor seen such a tiny room anywhere else in the world, the room and en suite combined would fit easily into my bathroom at home and the whole place is life in miniature and you need to be a limbo dancer to get to the breakfast room.

BUT - The location on rue Voltaire is ideal for getting around and the area is quiet with some good places to eat and drink, the Hotel is spotlessly clean, bright, and modern, and the staff very engaging, helpful and speak perfect English.

We'd be happy to go back and if they really do have bigger rooms (which I Seriously doubt having looked at the internal plans) then it would be perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

It was a memorable 16 night stay at this hotel and I have no regrets with choosing this accommodation. By Parisian standards, rooms are relatively spacious and very clean.

Hotel
- situated in a very secure and quiet area - Bastille
- two metro stations just 5 minutes away on foot - Rue des Boulets and Nation
- good restaurants in the area especially in Nation square
- 24 hour reception - very polite and welcoming receptionists
- free daily local newspapers in English and in french
- excellent french breakfast incl. a selection of savory and sweet items


Room:
- we had a superior room which I definitely suggest
- complimentary chocolate and champagne upon arrival
- clean and tidy
- TV service
- free wi-fi with excellent download speeds
- spacious and well equipped bathroom

I would like to thank all the staff for making our honeymoon a dream come true!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnxuereb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Francais for my husbands birthday 9th Feb. The hotel was excellent, really well located for the metro and the continental breakfast was very good. As mentioned in other reviews the rooms are quite small, but we have stayed in 5* hotels in London and believe me, some of them are smaller. The room was fine, free soft drinks, very clean and hydro shower 1st class. The real plus for this hotel is the staff, the concierge was so helpful, pleasant and knowledgeable. He was more than happy to answer any of our questions, always helpful and pointing us in the right direction. The icing on the cake was the complimentary 1/2 bottle of champagne for my husbands birthday - THANK YOU xx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaz-Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happymanager, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Francais, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear madam sir

thank you very much for your compliement on our staff and hotel, it is always a pleasure to see it compared to a 5 star hotel and see that our customers are satisfied but the most important is to know that we managed to make you spend your stay as friendly as possible because we always ensure that our customers feel at home.

hopoe see you again

warm regards
the staff of the grand hotel francais his manager
ZYAD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephie21385
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights feb 2013, paid £130 per night for two in a superior room (request a balcony by email if possible) rooms are small but very modern and clean. Service was fantastic -English speaking staff are very receptive of attempts at French! Hotel itself is on Boulevard Voltaire, which is a short (5min) walk to the nation metro station where you can jump on loads of rail line across Paris. Good value for money when you consider it's Paris!
It's in the quiet part of town away from the landmarks but won't take too long to get into Paris centre. We stopped in room 551, with a balcony.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephie21385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happymanager, Manager at Grand Hotel Francais, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
dear madam
thank you for very much for choosing ou rhotel

it was a pleasure to welcome you we are happy that you enjoyed your balcony room and our services

hope to see you again

zyad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#61 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Scarlett
Hotel Scarlett
#13 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#94 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#51 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#37 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Property: Grand Hotel Francais
Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#82 Business Hotel in Paris
#131 Family Hotel in Paris
#150 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing