We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #103 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I booked this hotel for my 30th for 2 nights. I think I booked the wrong room as I needed it for me and a friend and they ended up upgrading my room to a twin free of charge. Reception is very helpful. Metro is walking distance. Room was a good size, modern and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ince1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,999)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Francais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 779 of 1,999 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

We recently went for a break in Paris, staying for 4 nights. After much research on Tripadvisor we decided to go for the GHF. I'm delighted to say it lived up to the expectations we had. Following a long day travelling we arrived via the Metro (2 minute walk from Rue des Boulets) and upon checking in found out we had been upgraded and that there was free wi-fi as well. Getting to our room, even though it was small (typical Paris) it was nicely furnished, spotlessly clean and really ideal for our needs. The shower was excellent and bathroom in excellent condition overall - the complimentary slippers were much appreciated!

Breakfast was good with plenty choice and really set us up well for sightseeing in the city. We also were well advised by the hotel staff on recommended restaurants in the area, as well as helping us find a fantastic bistro near the Eiffel Tower/Champs-Elysees - they happily booked a table for us as well. On our third day we arrived back to be told our room was still being serviced and after 10 minutes waiting in reception were given the all clear to head up, where we found a little gift box of chocolates to make up for our wait!

All in all we had a great stay and really contributed to our holiday experience. We didn't spend much time in the local area, as with the Metro so close we were in easy reach of everything Paris has to offer. If we were going back to Paris we would definitely stay there again and recommend to anyone else - well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graeme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We recently stayed for 3 nights at this lovely small hotel on Boulevard Voltaire. Hotel is very close to two metro stations, Rue de Boulets (2 mins walk) and Nation a main metro intersection (5 mins walk). Our room was modern, cosy and very clean. Excellent staff manned the reception desk who were both friendly and very helpful. A good basic continental breakfast is provided. Very handy location for exploring Paris. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights at Grand Hotel Francais and I would highly recommend!!! The staff were so incrediably friendly and helpful, especailly when it came to advising us of places to eat, using the metro and even calling us a private car to the airport when we went to leave. The room was lovely, and we had a good view from our balcony. Will definitly stay next time we are in Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is the best hotel I ever stayed at in Paris. The rooms are cosy and clean. The staff were very friendly and recommended some great restaurants. It is excellent value for money. The breakfast was ok, could be a little bit more fancy.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kukident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Francais for 6 nights in September of this year and had an amazing trip. The hotel staff, especially the manager, are so helpful and incredibly nice . The manager suggested some amazing places to visit that we would have never found on our own. They even surprised my wife by putting a box of chocolates and bottle of wine in the room with a really nice note on her birthday. We will be back to Paris soon, and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyF742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is a gem! We stayed for 6 nights at the Grand Hotel Francais and had an amazing experience. The staff of the hotel, especially the manager, were the nicest people I have ever come across in my travels. The manager suggested so many amazing places to go, and made our trip ten times better than if we had just relied on the guidebooks. They even left a personalized note, box of chocolates, bottle of wine with 2 glasses, and corkscrew on the bed for my birthday. The hotel is close to 2 metro stops, and if you stay make sure to stop at the patisserie and grab a cafe eclair to eat on the train :) We will be back and will only stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meganford742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#98 of 1,804 in Paris
647 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#43 of 1,804 in Paris
1,550 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#345 of 1,804 in Paris
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#62 of 1,804 in Paris
2,435 reviews
Hotel Astoria - Astotel
#140 of 1,804 in Paris
1,096 reviews
Hotel Helussi
#55 of 1,804 in Paris
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#56 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#82 Business Hotel in Paris
#130 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $105 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing