We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Choice proved to be a winner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #95 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I spent a long time looking for hotels in Paris before finally deciding to book this hotel. Good reviews on here for a good reason and to be honest i dont have that much to add to them as they mirror my thoughts exactly. The hotel is situated slightly far out from the centre (about 5 metro stops to Notre Dame/40 min walk) but it is serviced by a great metro station 1 min walk away. When we arrived the hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful, as they were throughout out stay, and showed us to our rooms. The rooms are very modern and clean but rather small (what do you expect its a major city). The staff helped us book tickets to shows and recommended restaurants, of which there are a number of good ones nearby as it is in a nice location(especially compared to some of the places we visited). Overall i would recommend this hotel as its quite cheap for paris, clean, good location and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMcCulloch91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

891 - 897 of 2,030 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

We had a great stay at the Grand Hotel Francais. It is very convenient to the Rue de Boulets Metro stop, and within reasonable walking distance to the historic district with Notre Dame, the Louvre, etc. A perfect location for vacationers who want to explore numerous parts of the city without staying in the middle of the touristy areas.

Our room was rather small, but was very quiet and nicely maintained with an updated en suite bathroom. The hotel manager was very helpful and was able to get dinner reservations for us one evening, and whoever was at the desk was always nice, welcoming, and willing to answer questions.

We recommend Grand Hotel Francais to any couple seeking good value accommodations, friendly service, and a nice neighborhood location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in May 2012 and we echo all the comments posted by the TA community, notably, friendly and helpful front desk, 2 minute walk to metro station (Rue des Boulet) and small room, clean and comfortable beds. I would also like to point out that the hotel is nestled in a residential area and not walking distance to any major tourist attractions. That said, there are many amenities in the vicinity - laundromat (open till 8 pm and quite affordable), supermarkets and eateries. Other pluses included a kettle in the room.

Rue des Boulet is about a 20 min ride to the d'Antin La Fayette station - one direct train no switching of lines required. The other station that the TA community referred to in their posts is the Nation station which is a about a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sulky101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel is situated in a lovely, tree lined and quiet street. Zayed, the concierge, is extremely welcoming and sets the tone for this lovely place. The rooms were small, but very clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was abundant, which is an anomaly in french hotels. It is close to the metro and on the Boulevard are many patisseries and small restaurants, yet it is quiet and away from the bustle of Paris downtown, yet very accessible. There is free Wifi throughout the hotel. I definitely would stay here again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mamabear157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Found this hotel by using the reviews on Trip Advisor. Booked the standard room. Room was very small even by Paris Hotel standards. However, the properties website does advise they are small and suitable for short stays. Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet though a bit sparse was good and adequate. Nothing to rave about, but then nothing to complain about either. Only real negative (to us) was that there was no English language channel on the TV. Luckily, the hotel does offer free wifi so we were able to keep up with current events on the internet.

The hotel is located in the 11th arrondissement with a Metro stop nearby and another a short walk away at Nation. Nation is a major stop with several Metro lines as well as RER A. In addition to this there are a number of RATP bus lines available there, as well as being the Terminus for the RATP route 351 to/from CDG. We felt the area to be very safe. In fact, we felt safer walking around the area than we did at a number of the major tourist attractions.

Being a local neighborhood rather than a toutrist are, there are a number of varied shops in the immediate area. For food, there are several restaurants near the hotel, as well as a number of others at Nation. Do be aware that several of the restaurants nearest the hotel are closed on Friday nght and Saturday as they observe the Jewish Shabbat.

We would definately stay at this hotel again and do reccommend it for anyone looking for a good, friendly hotel in a safe area.

Room Tip: If you're planning on staying more than one or two days or are claustrophobic, do not opt for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vegas-guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here during a three day city break to Paris, it's a good 'base' to go explore from.

The room we had was a little small but that often happens in capitol cities. This isn't to worry as you're inclined to spend most of your time on your feet walking round the city.

Prices were reasonable. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. We also liked the authentic continental breakfast.

Don't be deterred by the location as the Metro can whisk you in and out of the city centre.

We picked the Grand Hotel based on what we'd read on this website and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Whenever I am in Europe I prefer to stay a bit away from the tourist sights. I feel that gives me a better feel for the area and its residents. We had a corner room with a balcony on two sides and found it very comfortable. Small, yes, but that's what you get in Paris. Did not spend that much time in the room anyhow. The staff is what makes this hotel. They went out of their way to see that we had what we needed and that our stay in Paris was what we wanted it to be. Suggestions from transportation to restaurants were so helpful. They suggested a charming little restaurant a few blocks away. The waiter there read us the whole menu! The food was so good we visited twice. Unless your expectations are very high, you'll pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zan1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#85 of 1,802 in Paris
672 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#36 of 1,802 in Paris
1,570 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#340 of 1,802 in Paris
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
La Manufacture
La Manufacture
#285 of 1,802 in Paris
1,675 reviews
Hotel Astoria - Astotel
#158 of 1,802 in Paris
1,139 reviews
Hotel du Prince Eugene
#176 of 1,802 in Paris
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#81 Business Hotel in Paris
#130 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $103 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Splitty, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing