We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit to Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #102 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Myself and husband have just returned from Paris and we highly recommend this hotel, it is very clean and in a great safe location, the staff are very friendly and speak good english , we will stay here again really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but really all you need.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank orla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,999)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Francais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

927 - 933 of 1,999 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

Grand Hotel Francais

We stayed here for three nights in December. We booked this hotel based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful, the manager spoke perfect English and kindly listened to my rusty French, and there was a nice personal feel to the hotel.

Our room was at the front of the building, looking out onto boulevard Voltaire. Double-glazing means that you won’t be disturbed by traffic noise. The room was clean, neat and well-equipped, with a comfortable bed, plenty of storage space, safe, flatscreen TV, an iPod dock/radio and tea and coffee making facilities. There was also a minibar/small fridge with complimentary drinks. The bathroom was small but very clean and modern, and the shower was wonderful! Free wifi is available, which is so useful (why can’t all hotels provide this?!).

Our room rate included breakfast, which was a self-service continental buffet. The breakfast room is quite small, and did get busy towards the end of service at the weekend, but on Monday morning it was more relaxed.

The hotel is located in the 11th arrondissement, which is to the east of the centre. It is very close to several metro stations - rue des Boulets is the closest, Nation is a five-minute walk and Bastille which is about 10 minutes - so it is easy to get around to the main tourist sights (if you get on line 9 at rue des Boulets, this will take you direct to the Grands Boulevards and Eiffel Tower). However, walking is by far the best way to see Paris - there are free maps available at reception.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wanderingsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have just come back from a 4 day stay in Paris. We chose this hotel on the basis of price, availability and good reviews. It is a cosy place, more like a pension than a Grand Hotel! Room was small, but with all necessities, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was more than ample and unrushed. The reception staff were indeed very helpful and with useful advice whenever asked. The free wifi was problematic to connect to.But all in all a pleasant experience. The hotel is located in a quiet area, but just minutes away from Nation metro - a hub letting you visit most of Paris after just one switch or directly. I would highly recommend this hotel for any short stays in Paris.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alexmalta32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We've stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. We paid 120 EUR per night.
When we arrived we were upgraded to superior room for free. The rooms are very small (even the superior), but clean and cozy.
The staff is great, they helped us a lot by recommending restaurants and giving tips about metro and locations.
The breakfast is good for the price, outside of the hotel you will eat less and pay more.
The hotel is not in a tourist zone, which is actually was an advantage. It was quiet at night. Also you have metro stations near by (about 5-7 minutes walk)

Room Tip: Upgrade the room if you have the option.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Spent three nights here. Good location, not entirely central but a few steps away from a metro station with a good service direct to Arc de Triomphe, Eiffel Tower etc. Friendly, welcoming, very helpful staff with superb English. Greeted with a selection of nearby, typical French restaurants as help to choose a place to eat, all three nights were superb choices! Very clean place, lovely small but cosy room, amazing shower and very comfy bed! Breakfast was tasty and reasonably varied, if a little predictable. Only complaint would be that the lift is too small and slow, but overall brilliant value for money, very impressed

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel twice now. The first was in 2005, and then again in February 2012. This was completely by accident as we couldn't remember the name of the hotel in 2005 when we booked this holiday and only realised when we went down for breakfast as it has been completely renovated since then!

Obviously, this tells you something about the hotel, as it's fallen into our criteria of a good location and good reviews here twice now. The hotel is situated on Boulevard Voltaire, about five minutes from Rue de Boulet Metro and about five minutes walk from the larger Nation metro station. Our rooms cost 160E per night and were bought through booking.com in advance.

There were two of us sharing a double room. It was a smallish room, but Paris is a city where space is at a premium, especially within the city centre. If you are a family, you could fit a travel cot in. We had a good sized double bed, a small desk and tea and coffee making facilities plus a small refrigerator (which contained complementary water). The room has climate control and window which opens onto a juliette balcony. The location is fairly quiet and the room is double-glazed so we were not disturbed by noise. There is a safe in the room,The room was clean and furnished in a modern fashion. The bathroom was small, with a shower, and was clean. If you are significantly overweight, or have a physical disability, the bathroom might actually be difficult to use, as you had to squeeze past the sink to get to the toilet.

Breakfast was included in the price. This is a fairly simple affair but with a good selection of yoghurt, cereal, cold meat, hard boiled eggs, pastry and cheese. There were no cereals specifically aimed at children, just cornflakes and museli.

The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful, providing us with some good restaurant reservations locally and a map of Paris. As we were visiting over Valentine's Day, there was a complementary half-bottle of champagne in the room on arrival, which was a really nice touch. All staff spoke French and English.

Room Tip: When we stayed in 2005, we noted that the floodlighting at the corner of the hotel on the first floo...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TwilightSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I booked this hotel on the basis of the Tripadvisor review and we were not disappointed. For the money it can't be bettered. Very clean, modern rooms. Breakfast was excellent with Tropicana juices, croissants, pain au chocolat, bread, meats, cheese etc. The location (in the 11th) is not totally central but it's only 10 mins or so on the metro to the centre. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marsmontblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#97 of 1,803 in Paris
647 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#43 of 1,803 in Paris
1,550 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#337 of 1,803 in Paris
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#61 of 1,803 in Paris
2,435 reviews
Hotel Astoria - Astotel
#141 of 1,803 in Paris
1,097 reviews
Hotel Helussi
#56 of 1,803 in Paris
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#52 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#82 Business Hotel in Paris
#130 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $104 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing