We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Francais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #104 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I was so shocked at this find. Outside was pretty scary looking to me but we walked in utterly exhausted and ready for anything. What a lovely place. The second the doors opened we felt instantly comfortable. We were a bit early so we camped out in the lobby for an hour. Staff was so welcoming and kind. When we got our room up we went in the worlds smallest elevator to the 5th floor and opened the door to the cutest hotel room. Just like in the pictures! So very small but everything it offered more than made up for the size. The MOST comfortable bed we had ever had in a hotel. The bathroom was small of course but perfect, with modern fixtures. Lovely big towels (really its small things like this that matter). The location is lovely with a grocery store nearby and easy walks to several metro stations.
I can go on and on but I won't.....we can not recommend it enough. We will stay here every time we are in Paris now.

Room Tip: Room 55 or 555...can't remember which. Lovely view overlooking the side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Anouk199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    534
    84
    15
    7
See reviews for
171
1,248
91
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Firstly location.Although not in the immediate heart of the city,with Rue des Boulets(line 9) metro station 1 minutes walk from the door access to all the sites is easy.There are also plenty of decent bars and restaurants within a 10 minute walk in the Charonne and Bastille districts.
Secondly,the room.Like most reviews have mentioned the rooms are very small.Although the bathroom and walk in shower were spotlessly clean and in perfect working order,a nice bath to relax in would have been welcome at the end of the day.The television channels were basic with BBC world news being the only English language channel.Bed was comfortable but had a large square pillow and a standard pillow which were not the best.The room was on the 6th floor and was very quiet.
Breakfast was served in the basement from a buffet.A very good choice of pastries,cereal,meats,fruit boiled eggs etc.Like the rest of the hotel the breakfast area was very clean.
The hotel reception were very helpful with local recommendations,but never pushy.Check in was very quick.
Overall the Grand Hotel Francais is very good small hotel,the size of the rooms and lack of facilities would prevent someone from spending too much time in the hotel,but that's not a bad thing with so many sight a short trip on the metro away.
Tip.try and have as many euro coins as possible if using the metro.Tickets are bought from machines on the station concourses,books of 10(carnets) are the best deal.But for some reason the machines do not take euro notes.So unless you want to pay a fee for using your credit/debit card,stock up on the coins!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gafferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

We had a lovely experience staying at this hotel. Admittedly our first impression upon walking into the lobby was one of slight concern, as the design is fairly awful and we initially thought we were staying somewhere far worse. The staff were very welcoming though and when we did finally make it to our room after the creaky elevator ride, we were pleasantly surprised by our rooms. Although very small (as most hotels in paris are), the rooms were very nicely fitted out. Very cute little bathrooms and very comfortable bed. Over the three nights that we stayed there, the staff continued to prove themselves as friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was simple, but very good for the price I believe. So generally a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimmyHapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

Very nice hotel with great service and a perfect location! We went on a romantic weekend and this hotel was perfect! The metro is located 100 meters from the hotel and there are a lot of nice restaurants nearby.

Greatly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chicfrommalmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

A perfect hotel, excellent value for money in an expensive city. Extremely friendly staff who couldn't do enough to help, speaking perfect english (although always good to try your french!). Metro just acros the boulevard making access to the city's sights in easy reach. Clean, modern and upgraded to an Executive room....thank you for a wonderful stay!! We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sibbycycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

I would quickly recommend this hotel to anyone and will be back in the future. Our welcome was warm, advice on eating and sights right on the mark; however, the real plus was the breakfast and the room. Also, the location was perfect for most of the tourist sights and museums. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank attitudetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

This hotel is clean well located and friendly. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and made our stay memorable. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone and will be back next year. Thanks very much and great value.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Palmer736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#61 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Scarlett
Hotel Scarlett
#13 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#94 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#51 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#37 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Francais

Property: Grand Hotel Francais
Address: 223 Boulevard Voltaire | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#82 Business Hotel in Paris
#131 Family Hotel in Paris
#150 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its individually decorated and personalized guestrooms and suites are soundproofed and offer elegant accommodation. Each room has air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. The well-equipped rooms feature contemporary decor and warm colours. The bathrooms include a massaging shower or bath. The Grand Hotel Français is situated in Place de la Nation, near Place de la Bastille, the fashionable Marais district and the lovely district near the Canal Saint Martin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris
Au Grand Hotel Francais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing