We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't expect too much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Paris Bastille Opera
Ranked #841 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We got the Ibis Bastille during the summer discount week (2 month ahead) and paid 59 Euro per night for a standard double room. The breakfast was 8 Euro pp, the parking 25 Euro per night. = So with breakfast and parking it was 100 Euros = $ 140 ... not cheap ... All in all I recommend the place if you look for something more than less clean close to a metro station and close to some ok restaurants. But it's not a place to make memories, it's pure money-making. The staff never apologizes, even if you have to renew your roomkey every day or the debit card doesn't work in one of their machines. As my room was already paid for I had to pay an extra deposit for opening the telephone line - and, yes, the shower situation is like it was 2 years ago - the bathroom floor wet as the water leaks are still there. Not to mention the black mold which started to grow again at the bathroom window (couldn't be opened any more).
The breakfast is not as fresh as it used to be - the pancakes not warm, the fruit soaked by hours swimming in the sugared water. There was only one knife to cut the bread so long lines for waiting to get a piece of baguette (and no cloth to cover it while cutting - some people used their napkins, other didn't). Welcome to Paris!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sannador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 2,641 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

It was a pleasant stay, with no big issues, except for the fact that not all the receptionists spoke english, and sometimes communication became a bit confuse. But despite that, everything went very well, and the location was very nice, close to the metro, tourism line buses and bike rentals.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cauemotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

To summarize - we wanted to check out after only one day; and would have if there was any availability at hotels we contacted.

Here’s why-
1. Dirty- We found strands of hair on the bed sheets, which were definitely not ours. There were stains on the duvet. The bathroom looked like it only got a cursory wipe-down. When we mentioned this to the front staff, they said they were completely booked so they could not move us to another room.

2. Inconsistent Front Desk reception- The morning receptionists were much more helpful and professional than the evening/night time attendants. The evening/night time attendants were extremely unhelpful when we asked for assistance on nearby restaurants, airport transfers, and even “forgot” to register our wake-up call requests. During one occasion when we were asking for assistance on how best to get to Gare St Lazare for a very early SNCF reservation, the receptionist told us that he didn’t know what we were referring to and thus could not assist us. Now, I know my French pronunciation is not the best, but other Parisians seemed to have no problems understanding me – incl the metro attendants whom we subsequently asked.

3. The room and bathroom were extremely tiny. We are not big people, but we could barely move around in the bathroom without touching either the sink or toilet. Also, don’t forget to bring your own soap and shampoo because this is one and the same at this hotel- and is very much rationed by the housekeepers. Towels are also limited and very threadbare. We felt like we were drying ourselves with old, rough rags.

4. Forget about trying to Skype while you're staying there. The hotel does not allow it - as it only lets you use a limited number of megabytes per 24hr period. In fact, the connection is akin to dial-up. It took forever just accessing our email.

The only redeeming quality of this hotel is that it is within 10min walking distance of a major subway stop (Bastille). We will not stay in this hotel again, and do not recommend it at all.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LASCMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terryalanbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
guildford
1
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Noise & Smoke, unable to use Dinning area due to large parties and pushed to the bar area next to foyer, not on.****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************>

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouAndEm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveler
lija
2
Reviewed July 22, 2011

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Campanile Paris 11 - Bastille
Bercy / Nation
Ibis Paris Bastille Faubourg Saint Antoine 11eme
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Marais Bastille
Hotel Marais Bastille
#236 of 1,805 in Paris
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Art Hotel Congres
Art Hotel Congres
#789 of 1,805 in Paris
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Paris Bastille Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Paris Bastille Opera

Address: 15 rue Breguet | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $87 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Paris Bastille Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Paris Bastille Opera hotel is located in the historic center of Paris, near the banks of the Seine. Notre Dame Cathedral, the Louvre museum, the Champs Elysees, department stores and the Gare de Lyon/Gare du Nord train stations can be reached bymetro and the hotel is near the Bercy and La Defense business districts. Our hotel offers 305 air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Paris Bastille Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bastille Opera Hotel Paris
Ibis Hotel Bastille Opera
Ibis Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing