We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful budget hotel, great location”
Review of New Hotel Candide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Hotel Candide
Ranked #1,632 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful budget hotel, great location”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This Hotel is a real hidden gem! Situated just off the Blvd Leon Blum you are walking distance from Bastille Market, and in the heart of a bustling area of cafes and restaurants. The rooms were as you would expect, compact but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic with cereals, yoghurts, pastries, croissants, juices and of course hot drinks. A supermarket just across the road in case you need anything we couldn't ask for more on a budget.
The surrounding area at night is safe to walk around and there are lots of pavement cafes where you can sit and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flittysbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your nice and honest comment. Our hotel is small but our heart is great to welcome you and make your stay more enjoyable. Hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    100
    113
    78
    78
See reviews for
95
111
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-mandrier-sur-mer, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel is very well situated. Very easy access to metro stations and bus stops. Staff members are all friendly.
However, I've found the quality ( decoration and space) of our bedroom quite poor for a 3* hotel.


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Laurent,
Thank you for your comment. Regarding the decoration, it will be reviewed soon.
Looking forward to welcoming you on a future stay.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I decided to go on a last minute trip and got a good deal with the hotel. The location was ideal as it was literally a 2 minute walk from the metro and only 5 minutes from the centre of Bastille where there were plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. The staff were very helpful and one night when we came in from a late night at a club, we were given some glasses of orange juice by the receptionist - a very kind gesture which made us feel a lot better in the morning! Breakfast was simple but satisfactory and the rooms although not massive we're plenty bug enough for the two of us for a couple of nights. Would recommend the hotel as it was a safe area but also close enough to get around paris easily!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Vicky,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice comment. We are always pleased to get good feedback from our guests. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My first trip to Paris was ruined by my stay at this hotel. I found myself with a group of friends and family who did not expect the horrible quality of service and the lack of space within these rooms.

This felt like a make shift garden shed developed into a triple room. The TV did not work, the room had a vile smell and it felt like it had not been cleaned from the previous guest.

Access to the bathrooms was nearly impossible as you had to jump over the bed due to the lack of space within the rooms. My friend had to jump over me in the middle of the night to just goto the bathroom.

There was no AC but no access to fans. After requesting time and time again for a fan and being let down, we gave up and booked another hotel. Various other guests shared our experience and either moved on the following day or vowed never to come back.

We left after the first night which was initially a 3 night stay as well as it was non refundable. I was disgusted by the facilities, lack of cleanliness and the overall neglect by the management.

I would avoid this hotel by all means and never look back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiefazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments. It's a pity that you didn't bring your problems to our attention so we could have helped you. However, we appreciate your remarks and we will do our best to improve our services.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Northwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

tiny rooms suitable for 1 bed sold as twin and triple rooms. No room to walk around the beds so had to crawl over the beds to reach the bathroom. Manager with an attitude who did not care about the sauna temperatures in the hotel and refused request for fans. Dirty and smelly corridors. Were kept awake whole night as no fans and windows that could not be opened fully as the beds were in the way!

The hotel is a fire and health risk and should be shut down. I booked it through lastminute.com who should have checked the hotel out before putting it on their website. Rated *** but is more like minus -***.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muneera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We apologize for the inconvenience occured. We have taken note of your comments as we are always trying to improve our services to satisfy our guests.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to be better hosts during your next stay in Paris.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Booked this hotel for myself and my two teenage kids, the hotel was in a good location for the Marais and all of Paris with excellent transport links, metro very close by. Staff were very accommodating and friendly and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,
We have received your comments regarding your stay at the New Hotel Candide in Paris and we hope to see you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lovely friendly welcoming hotel, very near Metro. Clean comfortable heated/ air conditioned rooms, good filling breakfast, friendly staff. The local area is full of 'real' Paris shops, bakers, green grocers, fishmongers, cheese specialists as well as many restaurants.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anni a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We hope to see you soon in Paris.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel du Chemin vert Paris
Hotel du Chemin vert Paris
#907 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Gardette Park Hotel
Gardette Park Hotel
#741 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Belta Hotel Residence
Belta Hotel Residence
#815 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
République
Mercure Paris Bastille Marais
Classics Hotel Bastille
#687 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Angely Hotel
Angely Hotel
#532 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Candide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Candide

Property: New Hotel Candide
Address: 3 rue Petion, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,632 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Candide 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newhotel Candide is closed for extensive renovation. This charming boutique hotel with vintage accents, re-open in 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel Candide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing