We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadian Perspective”
Review of New Hotel Candide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Hotel Candide
Ranked #1,632 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Canadian Perspective”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have family in the neighborhood, and visit Paris often. Have stayed here 4 times, and will return in the fall. Staff are always welcoming and helpful, and encouraging when I practice my dreadful French on them.(they do all speak English too) Manager has gone beyond duty to help us at times.
Room sizes are typical for Paris . Breakfast is very good-items always replenished promptly. Internet is accessable from the bedrooms.
Location is very good -easy access to Metro, and several restaurants/grocerie/take-aways close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for taking the time to send us this comment and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    100
    113
    78
    78
See reviews for
95
111
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a problem with our booking (our fault) but the staff were amazing, especially Inez and the manager on duty (sorry can't remember his name - 25th April) They found a room for us which was difficult as there were 6 of us and they were booked solid. They also found alternate accommodation until they could fit us into the hotel. Yes the rooms are small but clean and all the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. It is close to the Metro, nice restaurants and if you enjoy walking you can walk to many attractions. This is our 2nd stay and they even remembered us from 2 years prior. Would recommend this hotel, it may be small but the experience and helpfulness of the staff is worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiecrew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at the New Hotel Candide and that you appreciated our service and the hotel. Thank you for your loyalty and your comment. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I blame Booking.com as much as the hotel itself. We have come to trust Booking.com to find good value and sensible accommodation. Not this time.
We stayed in a non tourist area of Paris, this wasn't a vacation trip and paid (actually prepaid 136 Euros a night for a twin bedded room. Not a lot for Paris but there are many many good hotels at this price, especially in the less fashionable areas, this place is in the 11th. The twin bedded room measured 12 ft x 7 ft. It had no air conditioning, no fan and the TV didn't work. We couldn't move in the room, there was more space in the hotel lift. Breakfast was included but revolting, the coffee tasted as if it had been made the day before. We were stuck there for 3 nights but didn't go back to the breakfast room after day 1. The room was in need of serious refurbishing and some decent furniture ( although there is nowhere to put it) and the bathroom was beyond outdated. Just tatty.
The only positive thing was that the staff were friendly and good at providing local information. Last time we will trust Booking.com.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ffljms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest.
We have received your comments regarding your stay at the New Hotel Candide in Paris and the inconvenience you encountered.
We are doing our best to satisfy our customers' expectations and we apologize for not having been able to give you full satisfaction.
Regarding the television, we checked it and it was working. Next time you stay in our hotel please don't hesitate to ask the reception for help. The fans as well are on demand at the reception. We are sorry your appreciation to the New Hotel Candide was marred by this unfortunate experience and hope you will give us the opportunity to be better hosts in the near future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Yes, the room was small by American standards. But....we weren't in America. This wasn't a big deal to us. True, no ac. We slept with the windows open (our room faced the alley). There were no insects (except the 1 fly that we probably brought from Texas), so the fresh air was actually enjoyable and cool. The breakfast was good. The location was close to a Metro (everything is close to a Metro) and 1/2 block from a police station. My husband accidentally left his iPad under the bed he slept in. It was left undisturbed until he discovered it after we'd spent the day site seeing. It could have easily been taken - but wasn't. The desk clerks spoke English well enough for us to communicate with each other very well. We arranged for a taxi the day before we left. I had read some reviews about taxi's being late. Not a problem here. We met the driver in the lobby as we exited the elevator with our luggage. Btw - a taxi is the way to go if wanting to go to the airport. For about $75 dollars, we were dropped off at our terminal without fear of missing our flight. All in all, I'd stay here again. Not fancy, but we it met our needs.

Room Tip: Ask for alley side, 3nd or higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the New Hotel Candide and will be happy to welcome you again when you're back in Paris.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matamata, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The New Hotel Candide is certainly a clean hotel and the staff are very helpful. When asked questions, they were able to help us in English after we stumbled through our broken French.

Where this hotel falls short, is in the up keep of the room we had. We booked a two person double room and we ended up with a double with a cot in the corner that blocked the window and the desk. The front desk staff were hesitant to have it removed and asked us if they could leave it there. In other words, letting us only use 1/2 the space of the room (the rooms are fairly small but normal for Paris). It would have been nice if when we said 2 people for a double room if it wasn't set up as a triple. The furnishings come across a bit old and need some updating from the mid-1990s to some more modern utilities. The bathroom is where the hotel really fell short. There were missing tiles around the bath tub and it just would not drain. It was basically standing in 2 inch deep puddle of your own filth when taking a shower. Furthermore, when the toilette upstairs flushed the sound through the ceiling was so loud it actually scared me into jumping out of the bathtub. There is an old string utility for hanging wet clothes on the wall of the bath tub with nowhere to attach.

In general, the bathroom was deplorable and just showed a lack of attention to detail.

Lastly, the trend towards expensive buffet breakfasts that fail to deliver is seen at this hotel as well. The breakfast at 12 euros is just way over priced when you get what you would by going next door to the cafe to order a coffee and a pastry. Its just a way to bring up the bottom line. Let me note though, Paris is expensive, but still I have particular standards and the bathroom just let me down for the price I paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielk90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry for the inconvenience encountered. We apologize for not providing you with the service you expected. We are doing our best to satisfy our guests and give them the best experience. We would be happy if you gave us the opportunity to be better hosts when you are back in town.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there last night and it was totally unacceptable. I booked the room while on the road so I was unable to view it before arriving.
Was given a room on second floor facing the street. The room was tiny, well worn and wasn't properly set up. The room was hot and since it had no ac, the only way to get cool was to open the window to a street that was so terribly noisy. The hotel's sign was next to our window so our room stayed bright all night. It really sucked. We went down to the breakfast that is included in the price of the room and was told that the two of us couldn't sit at a table with 4 chairs. When I told the man we wanted to sit in a quieter section, he picked up my wife's purse and cellphone and said two people two chairs. I'm so glad I listened to my wife's council.
What a load of crap for $170 eu.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest.
Please accept our sincere apologies. We are sorry for not having provided you with a good experience during your stay in our hotel. We have taken note of your comments and we hope you will give us the opportunity to be better hosts in the near future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great hotel close to both a Metro Station and a taxi stand, with lovely (and well priced) restaurants close by. Rooms are small, yes - but you're in Paris, who's in their room but to sleep?! Ines at the front desk went out of her way to make everything perfect, and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texohlrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_Barouti, Director at New Hotel Candide, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your nice comments. We would be delighted to have you with us again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Ibis Paris Pere Lachaise
#805 of 1,802 in Paris
415 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel du Chemin vert Paris
Hotel du Chemin vert Paris
#908 of 1,802 in Paris
154 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Paris Voltaire
Hotel Paris Voltaire
#1,322 of 1,802 in Paris
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Belta Hotel Residence
Belta Hotel Residence
#890 of 1,802 in Paris
298 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Baudin
Hotel Baudin
#1,403 of 1,802 in Paris
141 reviews
Hotel de Belfort
#1,165 of 1,802 in Paris
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Candide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Candide

Property: New Hotel Candide
Address: 3 rue Petion, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,632 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Candide 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newhotel Candide is closed for extensive renovation. This charming boutique hotel with vintage accents, re-open in 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel Candide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing