We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont stay here!”
Review of Hotel Hibiscus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hibiscus
Ranked #1,706 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed February 17, 2012

other people hairs everywhere! needs a clean big time! i am a disgusting slob and even i think spending some extra money to stay somewhere else would have been a good idea.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tombocollbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 311 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel was scruffy, the pillows were thin and long and we had to ask for normal ones after sleeping on towels the first night. It is right next door to a cafe bistro and we had no sleep for the 3 nights...... men shouting and laughing untill 6.30 am... total nightmare.
Would defo never ever do 2* in Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This hotel is more basic than basic could be. It's in a great location, nice shops, metro right around the corner and some lovely cafes and restaurants.
The staff weren't unfriendly but not that friendly. We were allowed to leave suitcases at reception both days though.
The room was ok, beds comfy but thats about it. Bathroom really wasn't great, leaky ceiling and the smallest shower cubicle (and i'm only 5 ft). Tv has french channels only, which didn't bother us as we were literally there to sleep!
Breakfast in the morning was pleasant. Tea or coffee with a roll, croissant and preserves each, which kept us going.
No facilities in room, vending machine downstairs which reception had no change for.
This hotel is ok for cheap and 1 night but other than that I probably wouldn't stay here again. Paris was amazing though!!

Room Tip: Not sure there is one??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elaine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on my own for 4 nights and it was just great! The staff is very, very helpful and so, so, so nice! The rooms are simple but clean and the breakfast is really fine. The location could not be better, it is very safe and there is a lot of restaurants, shops and cute little cafés. I would stay there anytime again. Thumbs up!!! :)))

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

My wife made our reservation online but when we arived the desk clerk was nowhere to be found, we rang the bell and waited for 5 minutes. when he finaly showed up he we told him we had made a reservation online.

The desk clerk took a hurried look at his papers and sharply told us that the there were no rooms avalable. my wife tried to ask him to check again he quickly became indignant and took a very surly tone twards us, and then began to yell at us when we tried to ask him to check again because we had just made the reservation through expedia not long before.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank socrates_hernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

This is a basic hotel, but our room was updated and clean. Not big, but this is a budget place in Paris! OK private bathroom and big windows that opened to a fairly quiet street. Staff spoke English and breakfast was included, not much but tea and bread. This was the cheapest place we found in central Paris and it sure was good value for money. Cannot understand the expectations of other reviewers calling it a dump, it certainly wasn't!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BabSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Very smelly and dirty; window went out on roof full of garbage and cigarette butts; paint on walls was peeling, sheets had holes and stains; bathroom tiles cracked; some light bulbs broken; no electric socket in reach of bed side table (had to plug in my phone charger in bathroom). Reception staff almost always next door for chats. Breakfast minimal and overpriced. Good location near Place de la Republique, with good public transportation links.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BerlinGesundbrunnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#787 of 1,802 in Paris
139 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#1,420 of 1,802 in Paris
179 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,559 of 1,802 in Paris
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gofen
#1,679 of 1,802 in Paris
23 reviews
Montmartre
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
#1,205 of 1,802 in Paris
386 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amiot Hotel
Amiot Hotel
#1,611 of 1,802 in Paris
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hibiscus

Address: 66 rue de Malte | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin , République
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,706 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $49 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hibiscus 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel in building circa 1900 located near Place de la Republique, Le Marais, Bastille. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hibiscus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abotel Hibiscus Paris
Abotel Hibiscus Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing