We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and sensitive to food allergies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Les Jardins du Marais
Ranked #560 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I spent three nights at Les Jardins du Marais at the end of June with my
wife and daughter. We were perfectly happy with the location and the
services.

The hotel is a hundred yards from a Metro station on a direct line to the
Opera, the Madeleine, the Place de la Concorde, and les Invalides. Why walk
to the Bastille Metro - the only Paris must-see you can get to direct from
there is the Louvre? On all three nights of our stay World Cup matches were
being played, and the bars just outside the hotel were busy, inside and out;
it was noisy but very good-natured, and I was able to go into one of the
bars to buy a drink without anyone hitting me on the head with a bottle or
stealing my wallet. You are ten minutes walk from the Place des Vosges,
where the interesting part of the Marais starts. True, the hotel website is
a bit naughty when it say that it's in the heart of the Marais, but ten
minutes walk in a city like Paris is no hardship. I even did the walk at
11.30 one night, with no sense of threat at all.

We stayed in a junior suite; the price posted inside the door was 600 euros
a night, but we got it for 240 euros with no haggling at all. The room
wasn't huge, but it had a small lobby with a full length mirror which meant
that we could all dress in the morning without falling over one another. We
had a kettle and a fridge, tea and coffee and UHT milk and sugar. The sheets
were clean; there were no hairs in the bath; the staff were amiable; we
couldn't hear the people in the next room. When the cleaning staff forgot to
replace all the towels one day I mentioned it at reception and it was put
right without delay. The view was of the street outside, but who comes to a
Paris hotel for long vistas? 600 euros would have been over the top, but for
the price we paid we had no complaints.

The breakfast buffet was substantial and more varied than the usual French
coffee/croissant/baguette. We ate our dinners in the hotel; they were good
without being sensational, but the best thing was that (having been
forewarned by e-mail) the staff were happy to cater for my daughter, who has
serious food allergies."

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

768 - 774 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2010

Very classy and tasteful. Decor is superb and courtyard is beautiful.The concept is great, there are 8 very large individual buildings backing onto eachother creating a self contained courtyard for the guests about 150 meters long and 30 meters long beautifully landscaped and maintained, very easy to sit and lose yourself for hours with wine. Also lit up at night so you can sip champagne in your window and watch out across the courtyard, windows fully open in French style. St Sebastian Metro station 100 yrds away number 8 line. Staff are extremely courteous and can not do enough to help you. Quick call to reception for a few buckets of ice and delivered within minutes. Really good, beds very comfortable. Pillows are huge and you sink right into them. Slept like a baby right through. There is a beautiful little bistro cafe The Amelot next door lunch good value but dinner is outstanding, Sunday night is very special with soft jazz music played live whilst having a very slow and relaxed dinner. We didnt eat at the hotel but a Brandy and glass if Heineken cost 21Euro which can pinch!!!! Lots of food and entertainment in the area. 2 metro stops into the heart of Paris, superconvenient and away from main tourist hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Good location - good for Metro and lively evening area, fine room and hotel. Very welcoming. All really good, only downer was the pillows which were a bit whimpy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beta4David_Shelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Traveled to Paris with my girlfriend for a weekend break. We found Hotel Les Jardins du Marais via the internet and were impressed by the look and location. The hotel is situated right next to the metro where you can hop on to the centre of paris in 10 minutes. There are also several cafe bars directly outside the hotel where you can relax and soak up the atmosphere. The room we stayed in was perfect for us with large windows, air con and a large tv. The hotel staff all spoke good english and were more the helpful when we enquired about day trips and directions to places of interest. We really enjoyed our stay and will certainly be revisiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russlacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We arrived into Paris via the Eurostar and got the metro to the hotel. It was extremely easy to find and we were happy with how welcoming and clean the hotel was.
As Paris' main sights (Eiffel tower, Notre Dame) are quite spread out, we were impressed with the fact that we were a stones throw away from one metro line and a 5 min walk from the other. They also ran until late so this was brilliant for the evenings. The restaurant has a brilliant out door seating area (altho there is only 1 area with wicker chairs and a gazeebo so you have to be quick!). On the first night we enjoyed a bottle of wine out there, however the second night, because the restaurant was fully booked we were unable to have drinks from the bar and there was no 'bar' area to drink which is a bit of a shame. Overall very impressed, next time would prob look for somewhere with a bar.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire_281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Rooms very nice, clean, comfortable, stylish. Staff very polite and helpful. Could do more to help you on ideas and how to get around Paris. Did not eat in the hotel as we there to explore Paris and this was a great location to do it from.

Paris overall was much more expensive than I thought! But this hotel price seemed to be comparable to other well known hotel chains and have a little more of the character of Paris especially with it being being near the Bastille.

It has parking but you cannot book it which is odd and was expensive 24Euros a night...but given that parking in Paris is problematic at the best of times worth it!

Overall a lovely hotel and location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bebbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We are regular visitors to Paris, and this is one of the hotels we really like.

The rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable, the staff are very friendly and helpful - if not always fully informed about intra-city transportation recommendations. The breakfast is good, but we often found the breakfast area a little small for the amount of guests there.

The next Metro stop is within a couple minutes walk and then it's only one or two stations to Bastille. Taxis are usually easy to flag along the Blvd Beaumarchais.

The only negative is the "Value" question - we stay here whenever we can get a deal, but we would not shell out the full price for a weekend here. Not that the hotel is over-priced, because for Paris it really isn't - we just don't spend enough time in our rooms to make it worth the money.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newfoundlander709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Villa Beaumarchais
Villa Beaumarchais
#439 of 1,803 in Paris
763 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Le Patio Saint Antoine
Le Marais
MARAIS HOme Hotel
MARAIS HOme Hotel
#251 of 1,803 in Paris
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Original Paris
Hotel Original Paris
#157 of 1,803 in Paris
853 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#78 of 1,803 in Paris
233 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#378 of 1,803 in Paris
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Jardins du Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Jardins du Marais

Address: 74 rue Amelot, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Home Plazza Bastille)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#326 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#470 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $144 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Jardins du Marais 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Le Marais, historical and trendy district, near Place des Vosges and Bastille Opera, Les Jardins du Marais present 263 elegant rooms and suites and a beautiful private garden terrace. A real oasis of charm and tranquility in the heart of Paris. A free dedicated smartphone is available in each room, allowing to enjoy unlimited local and international calls, mobile internet, and an indispensable city guide of Paris. The restaurant and its beautiful terrace offer a French inspired contemporary cuisine. With its 10800 sqft of conference facilities, the hotel, with its five modular room located around the private gardens and a glass canopy, can accomodate up to 450 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Les Jardins du Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins Du Marais Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing