We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Les Jardins du Marais
Ranked #565 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Not sure where they get the 4 stars, perhaps from having a large always smiling crew. But that doesn't help much when the rest sucks. Don't get fooled by the pictures. Rooms are old and beds are horrible! Breakfast even worse. The whole scenery is just bizarre. Cheap-looking trying too hard to image luxury which in reality it is far from being. Will not stay there again and do not recommend. We were very disappointed thinking we had found a decent modern Paris hotel. Will pay the extra € for actual luxury, this place isn't worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tjulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timsit, General Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

I am sorry you did not like the hotel and I would have been happy to get more details that would have help us to correct the problems you encountered.
Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,569)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Les Jardins du Marais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

It was just odd.

The staff were all either totally overbearing or incredibly unhelpful.

The rooms were fine, mine involved a pretty long outdoor schlep to get to, the bathroom was small but clean, there was a kitchen in my room which was cool, if I knew that the breakfast was going to be as crap as it was, then I'd have used it..

As a tourist it would be great, if you're there to work then it makes no sense at all.

I just found out what they were charging for the rooms too, €320 a night is totally utterly insane.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjpkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timsit, General Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

I am sorry you did not like the hotel.
The attitude of the the staff will be checked as this is of our primary consideration to ensured that our guests enjoy their stay.
Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I just spent 4 nights in this hotel with a group of business colleagues part work and part vacation.
We were booked through a travel company and having seen the reviews thought it looked OK but nothing too special. I must say that We were all very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is a series of buildings around a central courtyard which must be lovely in summer but not useful in the winter. Each building is named after a famous artist and has a number of rooms. My room for 2 was quite a good size for the center of Paris, very clean with a small but well equipped bathroom and even a small kitchenette. There was ample hanging space. The central heating could be adjusted and worked well. There is A/C for the summer. The hotel only serves breakfast which was delightful with a really good selection of fresh juices, hot drinks baguettes of course and other breads, eggs, cheese, yogurts, fruit and cereals and more. You can also order at no extra cost different eggs and types of expresso coffee. Service was excellent and very professional. The front desk was well manned with very polite and professional staff very willing to give advice and directions. The location is just off a major Avenue at the edge of the bustling Marais district with a Metro 3 minutes walk away and about 8-10 minutes walk from the Bastille. In my opinion a very good location. All in all a gem of a hotel and I would definitely choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not backing on to the street
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Normanzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timsit, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are looking forward to host you again in Paris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife & I had a short (2 night) break in Paris. The hotel is 3 minutes from the Metro & in a nice area with a few shops, bars and restaurants. The walk to (say) Isle de la Cite is about 20 minutes. We had an executive room that was not massive, but sufficed. The hotel is split in to separate blocks that surround an interior courtyard. The restaurant was closed, but breakfast open & 20 Euros each if you wanted it - we never felt the need. Front staff generally very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardHazlemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timsit, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are looking forward to host you again in Paris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We've just got back from 3 nights in Paris staying here. The room was excellent, very comfortable, decent size, well furnished, with a kitchen area in one corner - complete with single induction hob, fridge, microwave oven. There was even a tiny dishwasher in this area. The room looked like it had been done up quite recently. All in all most impressive. The only downside - breakfast at 20 euros was expensive (we didn't bother). We'll go back there again next time we visit Paris.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalshamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timsit, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are looking forward to host you again in Paris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Pretty lousy service in only a way the French can do. Booked on line with a corporate credit card and received confirmation. The night before travelling was told (by email) that card had not gone through and rooms cancelled, called the hotel and guess what....fully booked (at twice the price of original booking) and no rooms available. No reason as to why I was not phoned / rooms held ...all the usual stuff you would expect from a decent hotel. Lesson learnt i guess.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrummieVizsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timsit, General Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

I am sorry for the incident but you may understand that if you card does not work the room can not be kept for you. I am proud that our Reservations department called you to let you know that you have no room booked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a great 3 1/2 start hotel. Not a 4 or 5 start as advertised. The lobby and common areas are beautiful however the rooms are average. Our first room has leaking a/c unit and torn curtains. We had to move rooms at 4:00 am due to the leak. The beds are fair. The Bathrooms are below average. They charged us $70 for 2 espressos on room service and it took a week to get them to credit us. The location is NOT in the Marais. It's on the outskirts. I travel to Europe multiple times a year and this was not my first time in Paris. I would not recommend this hotel. This was overpriced and for what it is. There is not one redeeming quality that I can think of.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timsit, General Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

I am sorry you did not like the hotel but happy that the Front Office did change the room you did not like and that we recognize our mistake and correct it by refunding the expresso charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Villa Beaumarchais
Villa Beaumarchais
#447 of 1,804 in Paris
755 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Le Patio Saint Antoine
Le Marais
MARAIS HOme Hotel
MARAIS HOme Hotel
#242 of 1,804 in Paris
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Original Paris
Hotel Original Paris
#145 of 1,804 in Paris
844 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#68 of 1,804 in Paris
218 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#390 of 1,804 in Paris
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Jardins du Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Jardins du Marais

Address: 74 rue Amelot, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Home Plazza Bastille)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#326 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#470 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $149 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Jardins du Marais 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Le Marais, historical and trendy district, near Place des Vosges and Bastille Opera, Les Jardins du Marais present 263 elegant rooms and suites and a beautiful private garden terrace. A real oasis of charm and tranquility in the heart of Paris. A free dedicated smartphone is available in each room, allowing to enjoy unlimited local and international calls, mobile internet, and an indispensable city guide of Paris. The restaurant and its beautiful terrace offer a French inspired contemporary cuisine. With its 10800 sqft of conference facilities, the hotel, with its five modular room located around the private gardens and a glass canopy, can accomodate up to 450 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Les Jardins du Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins Du Marais Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing