We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedrooms range from shocking to nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Les Jardins du Marais
Ranked #565 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I chose this hotel as it was in a very good area for galleries. The photographs made it look amazing and worth the money. The first bedroom we were given was terrible, it was in a basement at the back of the hotel with windows so high up you couldn't see out. It was dark and dank. We were then moved to a second room that was tiny, filthy, claustrophobic, had crusty dirty sheets and a very stained bedspread and very stained lampshade. Being pregnant at the time I found it particularly seedy. The loo had not been cleaned and the whole bathroom smelt of urine. I was furious especially as I'd taken my mum to Paris as a present. I said to the manager that it wasn't at all acceptable to give people such horrible dirty places to stay and we were then miraculously given a room in a newly decorated wing that had been available all the time. Why we had to jump through hoops for this is beyond me, especially as we'd paid a ridiculously high price. Although this last room was new it had no hanging space at all and our jackets had to be hung in the bathroom. Also very strange was the fact that there were tea bags and cups but no kettle?! I love the Marais district but hated this hotel. Dirty and with exceptionally rude staff.

Room Tip: The newly decorated block next to the bar
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelbagLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timsit, General Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

In a real and sincere intention to understand your comments and correct the default, we have tried to find the rooms you are describing; with no success.
The hotel is completely renovated and there is no design difference between the rooms.
Nevertheless, I am happy you finally founded a room you appreciated; I would have expected a nice comment for the people that did serve you with it seems some patience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,569)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Les Jardins du Marais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am fond of architecture and certainly of rare jewels. This hotel has a deceiving appearance in a positive way. The curb appeal is not there. It looks like your typical small hotel with a street sign.
However you will find a "Stark" atmosphere and I am not sure it is a Stark concept. It sure feels like it. Soft hip hop music with purple colors and modern furniture with a mixture of kitsch looking objects and retro look.
I love the boutique hotel appeal. It reminds me in some ways without being as opulent or expensive, I am talking about the Mercer in Soho.
Anyway try it. Also know to shop you can type Expedia.com.sg or .in for India etc.. And shop the price.
On the same day you can find a difference of 30%. I was shocked when I found out the first time. Pass on the word.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jopin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timsit, General Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel.
Concerning your comments about prices, indeed prices depend of the demand especially in Paris where exhibitions and fairs are very common and I recommend you to pick-up week ends where the prices are very affordable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I think space is the most valuable thing in Paris, and les jardins du marais has plenty of it. It is composed of a series of buildings surrounding a wide courtyard, which must be delightful in summertime. My room was quite large for the standards of this city and the internet connection was good - and free of charge! The breakfast quarters were very welcoming and quality of food was definitely above average. If you're in Paris for leisure, the location is perfect as it is at 5 minutes walking distance from Bastille and Marais. On the down side, the lobby is quite kitsch and somewhat unwelcoming, the room service works perfectly but the menu is a little unsatisfying and communication with the staff can be at times difficult even if you speak french - even though they are quite friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the court side are quieter but the lighting can be disturbing at night
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela2754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timsit, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Les Jardins du Marais, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments.
We will be delighted to welcome you back in the Jardins du Marais during your next trip to Paris;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I find it hard to find a good hotel in Paris. Too low quality and too little space. Les Jardins du Marais has a good high quality standard and the location is still in good walking distance to center of marais. Place de Vosges is just around the corner (4-500 meters). Buy ice cream on Rue des Francs Bourgeouis (20 meter from vosges corner) and enjoy in the parc.
Also - the metro is very close to the hotel - so you can easy take purple line to Bastille and change to yellow line and go to Louvre and beyond.
The hotel is very nice - good service - great breakfast.
And the best thing is the internal courtyard they have - where there is peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThorAngelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We just came back from a family trip to Europe. It is very hard to find accommodations for 5 adults. We had 2 rooms - placed across the hall from each other. The place was clean and nice but nothing fancy. Subway is at the corner. If you wind your way through the streets of the Marais the location is pretty good but do expect to walk. I would say that this is a low end 4 star but served our purpose. Unfortunately we were there in February. the inside garden area would be lovely in the spring/summer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choco_nut_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I spent four nights at the Les Jardins du Marais in the middle of january 2013. I had quite high expectations as the hotel has four stars, but the only thing that was worth four stars was the actual garden (I imagine it must be beautiful in the summertime) and the location it self (very central, and a very cool area if you are into design, arts etc). We first got a room that was connected to another room with a very thin door, you could actually hear the neighbours snore, like they where lying next to you. So we asked to change room, the service was good enough, and we got a new room (according to the staff, the only room available). This room was more quiet, but the standard was in my opinion poor: Old and dirty carpets, dirty bathroom, uncomfortable beds and cleaning staff smoking cigarettes in the hallway/corridor. After four nights I am sorry to say I felt releaved to go back home.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Erik_Sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Amazing location, eally near the subway too. The room was incredible, really clean and with a great view to the hotel garden. Staff was friendly, knowledgeable and well educated. The price was really good in my opinion considering the location, the room and the service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Villa Beaumarchais
Villa Beaumarchais
#447 of 1,804 in Paris
755 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Le Patio Saint Antoine
Le Marais
MARAIS HOme Hotel
MARAIS HOme Hotel
#242 of 1,804 in Paris
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Original Paris
Hotel Original Paris
#145 of 1,804 in Paris
844 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#68 of 1,804 in Paris
218 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#390 of 1,804 in Paris
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Jardins du Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Jardins du Marais

Address: 74 rue Amelot, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Home Plazza Bastille)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#326 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#470 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $149 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Jardins du Marais 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Le Marais, historical and trendy district, near Place des Vosges and Bastille Opera, Les Jardins du Marais present 263 elegant rooms and suites and a beautiful private garden terrace. A real oasis of charm and tranquility in the heart of Paris. A free dedicated smartphone is available in each room, allowing to enjoy unlimited local and international calls, mobile internet, and an indispensable city guide of Paris. The restaurant and its beautiful terrace offer a French inspired contemporary cuisine. With its 10800 sqft of conference facilities, the hotel, with its five modular room located around the private gardens and a glass canopy, can accomodate up to 450 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Les Jardins du Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins Du Marais Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing