We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat visitor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Ranked #28 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a charming and predictable boutique hotel. We love it here so much, that after a visit 10 years ago we came back with our children and stayed in the "family room." The reception employees were always friendly and thankfully happy to speak English to us. We enjoy the location close to Luxembourg gardens and the St. Germain area, not to mention some nice neighborhood restaurants and history-related attractions. We received excellent service and our room was clean. I do wish the room had a smoke detector, I think that is important. We will stay here again on our next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKSreview S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Clients,

We thank you very much for having chosen the Hotel St Paul Rive Gauche for your repeat visit, this time with your family. We are very happy that you all enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding the smoke detectors, we have 31 in the hotel, (as many detectors as rooms), but they have been installed outside the rooms, in the corridors, breakfast room, kitchen, lobby... Our hotel is perfectly safe and it has been inspected many times by the authorities, you can trust !

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family again in the future,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

305 - 311 of 823 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

What a perfect choice for out Paris vacation! The staff was welcoming and VERY helpful-- special thanks to Olivier, Stephanie, and EVERYONE ELSE! The room was cozy and comfortable: not big, but very well taken care of. The convenience of breakfast every day (somewhat more substantial than the usual "continental breakfast") made it worth it. The 500-year-old building, perfectly updated, was charming indeed. It is perfectly located in the 6th, within walking distance to so much, in a lovely, safe neighborhood with excellent restaurants and bookstores, etc. We will definitely return to the Hotel St. Paul!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Client,
We thank you very much for your enthusiasm for the Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche and we are all very flattered to read your compliments. :-)
Olivier, Stéphanie and myself look forward to meeting you again in the near future,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We didnt actually book to stay here, rather we were sent here by the Hotel Fontaines Du Luxembourg (just round the corner) because they had overbooked and bumped us (I'll let you make your own judgement on that - but I persoanlly will never book a room there again).

Anyway, to the St. Paul... having been led to this place in some trepidation of what we where about to see, I was more than pleasantly surprised by the warm friendly welcome, and an upgrade to a deluxe room. The hotel itself is on a mainly quiet road (for Paris!) with plenty of good restaurants around (proper 'neighbourhood' places, not touristy rubbish).
The staff here could not have been more helpful or friendly - we loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrappaInTheRealWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Clients,
We are gratified to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, even though the Hotel St Paul Rive Gauche was not your first choice ;-)
We feel very fortunate to have several good restaurants close to the hotel. Tourist' s life is exhausting and after a long day of touring, it is comfortable not to have to walk long distances to enjoy a good meal, isn't it?
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My second home! Consistent & excellent service, directions, recommendations & for practicing French! I've witnessed staff assisting guests with genuine concern. Considered other hotels but continue to return. A safe neighborhood within walking distance to many attractions. Next trip? No stress, it's Hotel Saint Paul!

Room Tip: Stayed at this hotel 4 times. Overall, the hotel is quiet & very clean. I prefer the street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2dreamscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Client,
We are honored to know that the Hotel St Paul Rive Gauche is your second house. :-) we'll be waiting for you to come back to your Parisian Home, then!
Thank you so much for being our loyal guest.
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We very much liked the location of this hotel which is strolling distance from excellent cafes, restaurants, galleries and shops selling high quality products. Unfortunately Paris hotels often have very small rooms and our “superior” room and tiny bathroom were no exception. The room was sparsely and poorly furnished. We had no bedside tables. I wonder where one is supposed to put an alarm clock, glass of water, telephone, spectacles, book etc. Under the bed? The bed was clean and comfortable. The room was adequately clean. The description “superior” has its own greatly exaggerated meaning in Paris. Well below average would be my well travelled “western world” classification. That said the hotel was efficient and friendly with a small but pleasant lobby reception area. We didn’t book breakfast in view of the many places nearby to eat. Overall the location is the best feature. The hotel itself is quite unmemorable and I wouldn’t be in a hurry to stay again or enthusiastically recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask about the room and bathroom size and book the largest room, with some furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Client,
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your experience with other travelers. It is sad that you did not like the rooms. Even though it is a feeble consolation, the "Early Booking rate" that you had selected in our official website included a 48% discount on March. Obviously, even for half price, we would have preferred you to be plainly satisfied with your stay.
We rarely receive complaint about the size of those rooms, possibly because our guests are aware that the hotel dates from the 17th century.. On the contrary, they often report that superior rooms here are larger than others in the Latin Quarter.
Regarding the bedside tables (missing in only 4 rooms) please be informed that the hotel will offer 31 newly- decorated rooms by the end of 2014 (i.e. all our rooms) and that we have listened to our customers about what their requirements are. Hopefully you will come and visit us again in the future...
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I was exceptionally pleased with my stay at Hotel St. Paul RG. Love this street that is quiet but in the heart of St. Germaine/St. Sulpice and close to Mo: Odeon. Elegant and affordable room with down right spacious bathroom. And each staff person I interacted with was helpful and pleasant. Thanks for a great visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waldobmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Client,
Thank you for your visit ! It has been a pleasure to meet you. We hope that your trip to Florence- Italy has been pleasant as well.
Thank you for your positive review. As you said, the street is quiet I would add that the area is absolutely safe for women who travel alone.
Looking forward to meeting you again in the future,
Kind regards
Valerie Bneigno
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent 4 nights in a Superior double over NYE 2012 into January 2013. Room rate was EUR178 per night which included breakfast.

This was our second stay at the Hotel St Paul Rive Gauche and while I still love the location, we preferred the room we had on our previous stay. Both stays were in the same room class, but for our first visit we were given a room at the front of the hotel with two tall windows overlooking Rue Monsieur le Prince. On this occasion we were given a room at the back of the hotel with a pitched roof and one tiny window looking out over roof tops.

Size wise both rooms were comparable and had a similar level of décor and furnishing but we just didn’t find this room as comfortable or enjoyable to stay in. Whacking our heads on the angled ceiling a few times (and neither one of us is very tall) didn’t endear this room to us. So the tip here is to ask for a room overlooking the front street and without an angled ceiling.

In all other ways we enjoyed our stay. As I said the location is perfect for exploring the Left Bank with many delectable patisseries and chocolate shops in the area. The Odeon Metro stop is very close by as are the Luxembourg gardens. It’s not a long walk to Notre Dame and the Musee d’Orsay is not too far away either. A couple of Metro stops or just walk and enjoy the streets.

We found the staff very helpful and accommodating. We had a split stay in Paris during this trip, with a break in the country in between. Not wanting to cart all of our luggage with us to the country, we enquired if we could leave our excess baggage with the Hotel Saint Paul for 3 days prior to our stay. The response, “of course”. We were very grateful for this.

The staff helped us out again the day we left for the airport (very early) by tracking down my husband’s mobile phone which he had accidentally left in the taxi. This involved us phoning the hotel, the day manager ringing the night manager to ascertain the taxi company they had booked for us, and then ringing the taxi company to contact their driver and track down the phone! Needless to say we were very happy to be called back 15 minutes later with the news that the taxi was returning to our drop off location with the phone. There was nothing in it for the hotel staff who helped us here – they did it because they wanted to help. Not something you would always get at a hotel chain. So thank-you staff of the Hotel St Paul!

Room Tip: Ask for a room without an angled ceiling, preferably facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SherrySparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Clients,
We thank you very much for reviewing our hotel with many details, even though you stayed with us one year ago. :-)
Regarding the rooms, we understand that you preferred the 1st room facing the front of the building .....However, we have many returning guests who request specifically these rooms on the top floor with a view on Paris rooves. In any case, it is sad that you did not tell us as we would have offered you an alternative room .
Looking forward to meeting you again in a not too far future,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Quartier Latin
Le Lapin Blanc
Le Lapin Blanc
#30 of 1,809 in Paris
344 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#23 of 1,809 in Paris
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Monge
Hotel Monge
#3 of 1,809 in Paris
496 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Le 10 Bis Hotel
Le 10 Bis Hotel
#7 of 1,809 in Paris
394 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#19 of 1,809 in Paris
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche

Address: 43 rue Monsieur le Prince, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#76 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#92 Family Hotel in Paris
#489 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $189 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint-Paul Rive Gauche belongs to a Franco-British family, hoteliers for 4 generations, who have made the hotel a marriage of French elegance and English comfort. Situated on the line of Paris' former outer wall under Philippe Auguste, this 17th century building was once the home of Franciscan monks. The 31 bedrooms are colourful and range in style from the modern - vibrant flowered fabrics - to the traditional - exposed beams and elegant opaque curtains. There are beamed ceilings, faux ostrich bed-heads, clever corner armoires, even two baldaquin beds beneath the high ceilings of the lower floors. Entirely renovated in 2015, this boutique-hotel is close to everything, in the heart of the action, but in a quiet little street. The Luxembourg gardens vicinity and the so many walking distance sites like the Sorbonne, Notre-Dame cathedral, the Pantheon, Cluny museum and the Louvre, make the Hotel Saint-Paul Rive Gauche a convenient pied-à-terre for enjoying the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Paul Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing