We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Nearby Hotels
$334
$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)
$174
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$1,619
$1,138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$401
$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$351
$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$214
$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$543
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Saint James Paris(Paris)
$511
$498
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$715
$679
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (854)
Filter reviews
854 results
Traveler rating
587
216
38
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
216
38
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxembourg gardenslatin quarternotre dameleft bankquiet streetodeon metro stophard boiled eggssuperior double roommodern bathroomcharming hoteltop floorwithin walking distancethe hotel staffshort walkcroissantsquiet at nightfew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 854 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We found this hotel on Tripadvisor, and decided to give it a try for our first trip to Paris together. It is an absolute jewel of a hotel. The hotel and room were spotless and you get a real feel of being in Paris when you are inside. It is located on a quiet street but within a short walking distance of all the action and Luxembourg Gardens, which are spectacular! Breakfasts were delicious and the lovely woman who greets you and serves you coffee (I regret I didn't get her name) was very sweet, and made us feel at home.

The staff were all wonderful and extremely helpful. Stephanie, (one of the receptionists) we will miss you. Please let us know if you are ever in New York.
The only advice: Opt for the larger room. We had the smaller for one night, and the larger for four. It is worth it to spend a little more for the larger one.

We will definitely be back. And, one more thing. You have to bring your own cat!! Stephanie has taken Skype home to her house and garden where she says she is much happier.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room and face the street on 4th floor or above. View of street is wonderful, and it is quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nambraf188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Clients,
We thank you very much for your great review ! The person in charge of breakfast at the moment is Diane, while Deva is on holiday by her country. Thank you for Diane and for all our staff!
As for Skype the cat, he went on vacation a few months ago by the countryside.
When he came back to the hotel, he could not stay inside any longer. The street may be dangerous for him so we decided to send Skype by Stephanie's house. She has a small garden and she 's like a mother for him...
Looking forward to meeting you again,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel. It is a small boutique hotel and like many French hotels of this type has rooms on the small side. We were fortunate this time to have a room on the ground floor and it was reasonably spacious. The service in the hotel is excellent and the location perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor or rear room as the street front ones can be noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 314John_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Clients,
We thank you very much for your visit and we hope to meet you a third time very soon!
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent 4 nights here in May. It is not cheap but then nowhere is in Paris. The location is great - away from the crowds yet within easy walking distance of the Isle de la Cite and the Jardin de Luxembourg. There are some great little restaurants in the neighbourhood.
The hotel itself is charming and for Paris the breakfast is good. The staff couldn't be more helpful. They even booked us a restaurant and called me on an international cell phone to say they had done so. When it was raining the receptionist lent us her own umbrella. We booked a superior room but were a little disappointed as it was nothing like the photos. It was large but furnished randomly and with star lights on the ceiling! It was described as a courtyard room but in reality it was just a window onto a tiny interior patio.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor courtyard rooms. The higher level ones look much nicer
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaResortlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Clients,
We thank you for your recent visit and for your review. We understand your point of view. Room n°1 is the only one which has a jacuzzi + a shower and it is very often requested specifically However, we also have some of our repeat clients who prefer not to stay on ground-floor... Should we have been informed, we would have offered you an alternative room, according to our availabilities, obviously...
For your next reservation, you may precise that you would rather have a room on upper floor.
Looking forward to meeting you again in the future,
Kind regards

Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent four night stay! Our family of four stayed in a two-floor suite and it worked well for us, however we weren't aware that it was two floors before we arrived. I only mention this because it might be difficult for some to negotiate the narrow spiral staircase that was the only access to the bathroom and second floor loft space. We chose this hotel for its very good reviews and location and we were very satisfied. It is within very easy walking distance to the metro.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peasandhominy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Clients,
We thank you for spending a few minutes of your time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.
We are aware that the Duplex may not be suitable neither for very young children nor for elder people or anyone who cannot use the staircase, as the bathroom and toilets are on the upper floor. This is the reason why we usually precise that there are 2 floors. Sorry if we did not when you have made your reservation.
Thank you again for your stay! We hope to see you again soon...
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I could not fault this hotel. We chose this hotel because of its location, price, facilities and consistently good reviews on this site. We were not disappointed. On our arrival we were warmly greeted. My attempts at speaking French were tolerated most graciously but the conversation reverted to English when the subject matter was beyond my language skills. The reception staff were always warm and friendly. The room was impeccably clean on arrival and well-serviced every day. Some TripAdvisor reviews mentioned small rooms but that was not what we found as our standard room was quite adequate in size, certainly larger than the last time we stayed in Paris (many years ago). The breakfast selection was excellent, the bakery items were always fresh and very tasty and the breakfast room, being an ancient cellar very charming. All in all as noted above we were extremely satisfied with our stay, but the warmest praise goes to the staff for their obliging friendliness and willingness to assist us, for example, with reservations for our minibus tour to Giverny and shuttle to the airport on our departure. We will see you again i am sure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieHSPRG, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Clients,
We thank you for writing such a long and nice review about our hotel and our staff. It is very comforting to read that your experience with us met your expectations and matched with other clients' reviews.
We really hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews