We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in the middle of Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Ranked #27 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had a great stay here. The hotel is very centrally located, the staff was friendly, and the room was everything I could hope for. One tip: be sure to ask about the airport shuttle early to guarantee you a spot. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Client,
We thank you very much for your nice review and for your suggestion: transfers by shuttle have to be booked at least 48 hours in advance. Very convenient, they are cheaper than taxis for single travelers or for couples. From 3 persons, we suggest to book a taxi (about 60 EUR to CDG airport , private transfer)...
Looking forward to meeting you again in Paris,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 798 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

I had a really enjoyable stay here. Great location. Close to everything, including a 5 minute walk to the stop for RER B (Luxemberg station) which takes you right to Charles de Gaulle. Only a 1 minute walk to Au Pere Louis, a great bistro on the same block.
There was only a few hiccups with my stay here. One time the cleaning lady entered without knocking while i was half asleep. My room did not have a do not disturb sign, not sure if any do. That would help.
Also, once i called for taxi for 30 minutes later, and when i got in the taxi I was told the meter started to run when they received the call 30 minutes before. I've never seen that in any other city. Apparently that's how it works in Paris. It would have been nice if i was told this when i asked the hotel staff to call for the taxi. But the staff overall was great, very friendly and helpful.
Also the bed frame and mattress was on the cheap side. besides those small issues, everything was great and I would stay here again. Good price, and great location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Sir,
We thank you very much for your recent visit. Your feedback is very important and it helps us to provide better service and improve satisfaction for you and all our customers .
We have taken good notes of your suggestions and various remarks, especially for the "Do not disturb " sign.
As for the four poster bedded room that you occupied, it is one of the most frequently requested rooms and we did not have any negative feedback till yours. Mattresses and beds are inspected very regularly and accurately by the owners.
Eventually, we understand that your taxi had been called by the Taxi switchboard too early. Our receptionists do not call the Taxi companies (Taxis Bleus, Taxis G7...) by telephone but use a website that delivers confirmation numbers and approximate times of arrival. When we book a taxi in advance (30 minutes or even 2 days) , we trust that the Taxi swithboard will call the drivers in proper time. It should be the same in every European country, as far as we know...
We are happy to read that you will return and stay with us again.
Looking forward to hearing from you,

Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We booked this at the last minute and got a standard room for €134 per night. The room (16) was reasonably sized but perfectly adequate. The bathroom was suitably spacious and absolutely immaculate. Also totally quiet as it backs on to another building, with a roof courtyard area between. If you're happy to sacrifice the street view for peace and quiet then this is the room.)
A 5 minute walk from Odeon metro station we passed Restaurant Polidor (which has its own review but was amazing!!)
The receptionist was incredibly friendly and very helpful (on our last morning we lost an earring down the sink. We left our bags to continue last minute shopping and when we arrived 3 hours later they had retrieved it with minimal fuss or fanfare but greatly appreciated by us!)
A great base, lots of restaurants, bistros and first class patisseries within walking distance - ErIc Kayser in Rue Mongue is only one km away, one is a cafe the other a boulangerie.
We have done Paris a few times so weren't looking to visit the west side of Paris but this hotel was fantastic for exploring the east as Châtelet is a hub for many of the metro lines.
A great value stay and would recommend to anyone wishing to explore Paris.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChocolateLover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Clients,
We thank you very much for your nice review about our hotel. Room 16 is a classic double room facing the rear of the building, with a large bathroom. It is an average sized room ( superior doubles are much larger) but you are right, it is very quiet.
Eric Kayser is a great bakery with various breads and croissants. They have 2 delicious" baguettes" named "La Malesherbes" and " La Monge". and very good croissants.
Regarding your earring, it was not so difficult to retrieve it ;-)
We thank you for having chosen our hotel and we hope to see you again in a not-too far future,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Excellent position , close to busses and trains . Clean friendly and comfortable . Bath rooms recently redone and spacious by french standards . My third visit . Excellent restaurants close by . Near Luxemburg gardens . Situated off the main streets with little traffic noise .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Client,
In very few words, you said everything that travelers must know about the hotel and we thank you very much for that! :-)
We look forward to your next visit, then!
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights in August 2012. My first impression even before we got there was the helpfulness of the staff while making arrangements over the phone, and we got upgraded upon our arrival which was a nice gift indeed. The hotel is well located a short walk from the Luxembourg Gardens, but located on a quiet street. Nice, pleasantly decorated room with a modern bathroom. We did not dine here so i can't review the restaurant but we'll be sure to check it out on our next trip. The hotel staff was very helpful in recommending nearby restaurants which always turned out to be excellent spots. The hotel cat, who went rifling through my open carry-on while my back was turned was a hoot...loved him. We are looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlota19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear clients,

Thank you for posting a review in TripAdvisor, even months after your stay. We understand that it is not easy to find spare time to do so, once you get back to normal life!

We really like the pcture that you took from the window, the one with the nice flowers! Would you authorize us to share it with our Facebook Fans ? Please let us know...Otherwise, you may post it into Instagram (hotelsaintpaulparis)

We look forward to meeting you again and wish you all the best,
Kind regards

Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice location, near the latin quarter and close to Jardin du Luxembourg. Restaurant Polidor next to The Hotel ( used as location in Woody Allens film Midnight in Paris ) serves cheap and deligthful French Brasserie food. Although you are in the middle of Paris it is a quiet neighbourhood. We will certainly return. Couple from Denmark.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bilde338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Clients from Denmark,
Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your trip to Southern Europe !
We hope that you enjoyed the sunny weather in Paris and that you will be back soon.:-)
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our booking with this hotel was based completely on reviews from the Tripadvisor web site as of Jan 2013. The staffs assistance with our arrangements to get from Gare De Nord to them and their other advice during the booking process was encouraging that we had made the right choice. The service during our stay was friendly, polite and helpful through out. The room was very clean and the bathroom in particular was of a good standard.
The location is good, short walk west to the great shops in the Latin Qtr, south to Luxembourg Gardens and if you like traditional French food try the Polidor Restaurant next door for lunch or Dinner.

Had a great stay here, well worth it!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 13 which was on the front of the hotel. A little noisy if you want the window open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Client,

We thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers.
We consider that any person who contacts us for information deserves the best treatment .
We are very happy to help our clients with restaurants arrangements airport transfers, and with any kind of information that will make their stay more enjoyable.

Thank you again for your visit! We hope to meet you again at the Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche...
Kind regards

Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#22 of 1,804 in Paris
499 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#134 of 1,804 in Paris
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Left Bank Saint Germain
Left Bank Saint Germain
#138 of 1,804 in Paris
866 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Monge
Hotel Monge
#3 of 1,804 in Paris
464 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Fabric
Hotel Fabric
#9 of 1,804 in Paris
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche

Address: 43 rue Monsieur le Prince, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#76 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#92 Family Hotel in Paris
#489 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $175 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint-Paul Rive Gauche belongs to a Franco-British family, hoteliers for 4 generations, who have made the hotel a marriage of French elegance and English comfort. Situated on the line of Paris' former outer wall under Philippe Auguste, this 17th century building was once the home of Franciscan monks. The 31 bedrooms are colourful and range in style from the modern - vibrant flowered fabrics - to the traditional - exposed beams and elegant opaque curtains. There are beamed ceilings, faux ostrich bed-heads, clever corner armoires, even two baldaquin beds beneath the high ceilings of the lower floors. Entirely renovated in 2015, this boutique-hotel is close to everything, in the heart of the action, but in a quiet little street. The Luxembourg gardens vicinity and the so many walking distance sites like the Sorbonne, Notre-Dame cathedral, the Pantheon, Cluny museum and the Louvre, make the Hotel Saint-Paul Rive Gauche a convenient pied-à-terre for enjoying the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Paul Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing