We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Ranked #34 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming hotel!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the excellent Trip Advisor reviews, and we’re very happy we did. It’s comfortable, warm, welcoming and in a great Parisian neighborhood, close to many restaurants and tourist spots, and a short walk to the Metro and the RER, so you can easily take the airport train. Everyone at the front desk was outstandingly nice, helping us with directions and reservations. The room and bathroom were a little small, but you won’t be spending too much time in your room anyway—you’re in Paris! Our room faced the street, but we never had a problem with noise. The only issue we had was that the room had only one electric outlet, which the TV was already using. The front desk lent us an adapter, but I’d advise buying or bringing a power strip to plug in all your smartphones at once. Our only real disappointment was that we missed meeting the hotel’s resident cat. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank encin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Clients,
We thank you very much for your nice review. Regarding the outlet, there are 2 rooms out of 31 that do not have extra outlet. We usually provide our clients with a power-strip (available on request) and we also have adaptors for our guests, as you said.
We will add extra outlets very shortly. Nowadays, everyone has 1 or 2 cellulars + 1 tablet + 1 laptop ....and ladies also have a curling-iron, etc... :-) So, we must offer all amenities to our clients.
Thank you again for your visit! We also hope that you will meet Skype the cat next time. He is a "good-boy" as everybody says. :-)
Kind regards

Valerie Benigno
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    199
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
125
373
59
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I don't often write reviews but I just wanted to say how happy I was with my stay here at the Saint Paul Rive Gauche. It's a great location to visit the latin quarter, the luxembourg garden and saint michel. Our room was really nicely decorated, spacious and well equipped (great TV). The staff at reception were so friendly I nearly forget we were in Paris ! I will definitely book here again the next time I come to Paris and I will highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Clients,
Two words, in French : MERCI BEAUCOUP ! We particularly appreciate your review as you said that you usually never write reviews. That means that you thought that we deserved it .
We hope to meet you again in Paris. Should you recommend our hotel, please ask your friends or family to mention your name. :-)
Looking forward to hearing from you in a not too far future,
Kind Regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I took my girlfriend to Paris for her birthday and we stayed here. I believe we stayed in the room in the main photo on this page.

The room was typically small, like many European hotels, but it was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived very early and they got us into our room without too much delay. Sadly, Skype, the cat, was on vacation with the owners in the south of France.

The location is decent, not great, but we'd been to Paris before and were looking for something quiet. There are a few good restaurants nearby.

I would recommend this hotel if you're looking for a simple, comfortable and affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Clients,

We thank you very much for your recent stay in the room of the main picture..:-) As it was your girl-friend's birthday, we thought that you would appreciate to stay in one of our romantic 4-poster bedded rooms ( we only have 2 in the hotel)

Actually, rooms in Europe are smaller than elsewhere, especially in the Latin Quarter which is the historic part of Paris. Once you know that, you may find that our rooms are not that small compared to some other in the neighborhood. ,-)

Check in time is at 3pm but we always try to let our clients check in as soon as possible. With only 31 rooms and 4 different types of rooms, it is sometimes uneasy ....Nevertheless, we know that our guests appreciate to have a shower or a short nap after their long flight so we always try to have their room ready as soon as possible.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor communauty.
Kind regards

Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here for a week back in November and this hotel was pretty nice. The Location cannot be beat, as it is in a quite area very close to restaurants, shopping, metro stations. Our room was a little disappointing and the bathroom was very small, but I guess that's to be expected in Paris. We chose to venture out for breakfast rather than paying extra for the inclusive deal and we were happy we did. There are tons of cafes and places for crapes close to the hotel, and from what we heard, breakfast was nothing special.

We did experience one hiccup during our stay when we returned back to our room after breakfast and a little shopping, there were 3 people in our room doing maintenance in the bathroom. We were not notified or even asked if we were ok with the work being done and we basically lost the use of our room for the entire day. The hotel staff was apologetic and sent up a bottle of champagne for our troubles, which was a nice gesture. We did so much walking in Paris that sometimes all we wanted to do is get off our feet for an hour and we were a little annoyed that didn't have the option of coming back to our room for most of the day. Other than that our stay was nice and we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahoww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Clients,

We thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about the Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche. Your opinions and suggestions are very important for us.
We would like to clarify some points for TripAdvisor readers:

- among the 3 persons that you saw in your room was our Technical Manager, who is our General Manager's husband. He introduced himself when you came back to your room.and apologized for the inconvenience. We should have informed you but actually, did not get a chance to do so as the technicians anticipated their visit. This is why we offered you a complimentary botlle of Champagne. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.

- due to the new classification of the French hotels, we had to install extra fire-doors in the corridors and loud-speakers for the fire alarm in the bathrooms. This is precisely what has been done in your room . It took not more than 30 minutes. We think that there must have been some misunderstanding as your room was available the rest of the day.

We thank you very much for your review and for being positive about your stay, despite that misunderstanding. It has been nice to have you staying with us and we do hope to meet you again in the future,
Kind regards

Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed with my girlfriend for Christmas holidays, staff was very kind, location perfect with almost everything close, room not very large but clean and with a perfect bathroom . Overall very good.
Do not expect modern rooms , they are very particular, you can like or not. But quality / price is very good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dantox_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Clients,
We thank you very much for your visit and for your positive review.
Looking forward to meeting you again in the future,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Now I know why it's rated so highly. Just returned from 10 days, and could not be happier with my experience at this charming and welcoming boutique hotel.
Plusses: ideal location 3 minutes from Odeon Metro stop. Large room (for Paris), personalized with nice little painting of cat on bookshelves on the wall made it feel homey. Wooden beams on ceiling. Comfy bed. Decent-sized bathroom. Attentive service where they got to know my name and room # without prompting. Kudos to Stephanie and the rest of the staff!
Drawbacks: is a tiny nit, but the room is a bit dark. Area was a bit loud at night with people shouting whilst exiting nearby bars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Social-Dis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear clients,
We thank you very much for your nice review about the hotel.
It has been nice to have you staying with us.
Stephanie, Olivier and myself wish you all the best for 2013 .
You may keep in touch through our FB page, if you wish.
Looking forward to meeting you again in the future,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have just stayed here for the 3rd time, and were as pleased with the St Paul as we have been before. The hotel is ideally situated on the Rive Gauche, but on a quiet street equidistant from the Odéon metro and the Luxembourg Gardens. Lots of interesting restaurants nearby, and a friendly neighbourhood. The rooms, like most Paris hotels, are on the small side so its worth paying the bit extra for the superior ones at the front. Staff are charming and helpful; rooms are spotless and comfortable and breakfast is good. And it's a real French hotel, rather than a faceless international one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Clients,
Thank you so much for your loyalty and for sharing your appreciation with other travellers.
We wish you all the best and look forward to meeting you again in Paris!
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#90 of 1,798 in Paris
336 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#54 of 1,798 in Paris
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#40 of 1,798 in Paris
1,216 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#89 of 1,798 in Paris
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche

Property: Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Address: 43 rue Monsieur le Prince, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#76 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#191 Family Hotel in Paris
#490 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint-Paul Rive Gauche belongs to a Franco-British family, hoteliers for 4 generations, who have made the hotel a marriage of French elegance and English comfort. Situated on the line of Paris' former outer wall under Philippe Auguste, this 17th century building was once the home of Franciscan monks. The 31 bedrooms are colourful and range in style from the modern - vibrant flowered fabrics - to the traditional - exposed beams and elegant opaque curtains. There are beamed ceilings, faux ostrich bed-heads, clever corner armoires, even two baldaquin beds beneath the high ceilings of the lower floors. Entirely renovated in 2015, this boutique-hotel is close to everything, in the heart of the action, but in a quiet little street. The Luxembourg gardens vicinity and the so many walking distance sites like the Sorbonne, Notre-Dame cathedral, the Pantheon, Cluny museum and the Louvre, make the Hotel Saint-Paul Rive Gauche a convenient pied-à-terre for enjoying the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Paul Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing