We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Ranked #28 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

It took a long time for me to choose this hotel.....so many choices in Paris. But I was very satisfied with the choice.

We had a duplex family room for our family , which worked out nicely. The room was cheery and spacious. The bathroom amenities were very good quality.

The best of the hotel...the delicious breakfast in the stone basement. It is cool and historic ...our kids were very impressed. All items served were very delicious and of excellent quality.

The location is quite good , in walking distance to metro and parks.
a good hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brazilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Clients,
We thank you very much for having chosen the Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche *** among so many hotels . Our duplex is spacious and children like to have their own space. The view on the little patio is also agreable.
We hope to see you again in the future,
Thank you again!
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 767 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel, and my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. For visitors from North America, this is a great place to stay for a few days to adjust your biological clocks to the local time. The staff is exceptionally helpful and cordial. The room was spacious for Paris, clean, and most comfortable. The morning breakfast is more than adequate, it is served in a room that suggests a medieval castle. The location of this hotel is ideal and within walking distance of most of the Paris sites that tourists seek to visit. we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyCline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of our whirlwind France trip. The location was close to shopping and cafes and a 20-30 min walk to the Louvre, Notre Dame, the Pantheon and Odeon and other attractions. It was also a convenient, short walk to the subway station which was very handy. We had room #12 which had a lovely large stand up shower, some closet space and a double bed. Although the room was tiny (aren't they all in Paris?), we found the staff very friendly. There's a lovely sitting room by the entrance where we enjoyed some wine and cheese in the evening. They also have a resident chat which made us feel at home. We highly recommend the breakfast offered. Tasty pastries, breads, cheese, ham, hard cooked eggs, coffee, etc., was more than enough and again, the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, be sure to view your room first. Some are larger than others. TIP: eat break...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigAlTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Clients,

We thank you very much for the favourable comments about our hotel.
Room #12 is a "standard" double room i.e. the smallest type of room we offer. It is nice to read that you felt comfortable and had a great stay with us. We guess that you already knew about Parisian standards in the center of Paris. As you know, it is a 17th century building and rooms are less spacious than in more recent buildings in other districts.
We also have classic rooms (average size) and superior rooms (larger size) , 1 junior suite and 3 family rooms.

Our staff checks TripAdvisor for clients' reviews very regularly and it is really heartening for Stephanie and Olivier to read your positive comments.
Thank you again! Wishing you all the best,

Kind regards

Valerie Benigno
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My Fiance and I stayed there 2 weekends ago for 4 days/3 nights. There is nothing I could write that would be bad about this hotel. We were upgraded to the duplex on the ground floor so we had plenty of space and easy access in and out. The staff were so friendly and helpful despite my horrible French. They made reservations, and got us a taxi at an ungodly hour to take us to the airport. Such a great location! 15 min walk (if you walk slow), we are NYers so we walk fast... to The Seine/Notre Dame, pretty much anywhere. We did not have the breakfast so I cannot comment on that... We opted to stroll and stop in boulangeries for croissants and such. When we go back to Paris, we for sure will stay there again. One thing I won't do again, is take a taxi to the airport. We took the RER to the hotel which was quick and cheap, the taxi... not so much on either.

Room Tip: I really liked being on the ground floor and in the duplex. Room 2! :)
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Clients ,

What a nice title! Thank you so much! I remember that you mentioned you were from NY when you were here... :-)
The duplex is very spacious, you are right. It has no beam but it is charming as well.
As for transportation, everybody says that the train RER is convenient and cheap. Some of our clients consider their hotel choice according to its position on RER line B. We are lucky as the Luxembourg RER station is two steps from the hotel (about 5 minutes, even 3 minutes when you walk as people from New York !)
Taxi can still be a good option when you do not travel light and have many pieces of luggage, though. It costs between 60 and 70 EUR one trip.

Looking forward to meeting you again in the future,
Kind regards

Valerie Benigno
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Top notch throughout, room (superior standard) modern but quirky in a charming building. Staff
more than helpful with excellent English, location perfect in a v smart and quiet area. Handy for Metro, but just a 15-min walk to the Seine. Only misses a five-star review because of the standard breakfast fare but will gladly return. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colinjourno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear Client,
We thank you very much for the "top nouch throughout" ( I had to Google translate as I did not know the meaning of "top nouch" ;-) and also, for the "almost 5 star review" !
Regarding our breakfast, we offer products of good quality (most are organic) but our buffet is limited by the size of the breakfast room. anyway, there are 2 typpes of cereals, various breads, croissants, pains au chocolat, yoghurt, salad of fruits, ham, madeleines, cheese, etc...
Again, thank you for your positive review! We look forward to meeting you again at the Saint Paul Rive Gauche*** !
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My fiance and I loved the hotel - large, cute rooms were very clean and the breakfast was wonderful!! Valerie, you are wonderful! We cannot wait to come back, and we recommend that everyone who will be in Paris stay in this hotel!!

Room Tip: I am sure they are all wonderful!!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelalirae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Alison,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! ;-)
It has been a pleasure to see you and to meet your fiancé.
I hope to see you again very soon!
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Excelent service, the nicest staff at the reception, they were very helpful and gave great advice.
Really small rooms but that is common in Paris. They were clean an nice. Although the bathroom was small it had a great shower.
Very well located.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseGalvezMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#104 of 1,804 in Paris
386 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#51 of 1,804 in Paris
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#17 of 1,804 in Paris
366 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#114 of 1,804 in Paris
1,650 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Monge
Hotel Monge
#4 of 1,804 in Paris
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche

Address: 43 rue Monsieur le Prince, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#76 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#190 Family Hotel in Paris
#490 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $185 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint-Paul Rive Gauche belongs to a Franco-British family, hoteliers for 4 generations, who have made the hotel a marriage of French elegance and English comfort. Situated on the line of Paris' former outer wall under Philippe Auguste, this 17th century building was once the home of Franciscan monks. The 31 bedrooms are colourful and range in style from the modern - vibrant flowered fabrics - to the traditional - exposed beams and elegant opaque curtains. There are beamed ceilings, faux ostrich bed-heads, clever corner armoires, even two baldaquin beds beneath the high ceilings of the lower floors. Entirely renovated in 2015, this boutique-hotel is close to everything, in the heart of the action, but in a quiet little street. The Luxembourg gardens vicinity and the so many walking distance sites like the Sorbonne, Notre-Dame cathedral, the Pantheon, Cluny museum and the Louvre, make the Hotel Saint-Paul Rive Gauche a convenient pied-à-terre for enjoying the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Paul Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing