We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place to stay in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Ranked #33 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cool place to stay in Paris”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Great location, great prices, nice rooms. Definitely a hard combo to find in Paris but Hotel St. Paul has them all. The owners are super nice and attentive. Rooms are small but I've never seen a big one in Paris even at the city's nicest hotels. Room decor is very cool - each room is a little different and uniquely designed. Boutique feel. Cool old building too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wongwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    202
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
131
385
63
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I have stayed a lot in this part of Paris and did not think I could be disappointed, but I am. There is nothing wrong with this hotel and the staff are very nice, but the reviews over rate this compared to others. It is not cheap, breakfast is not included nor can you make a cup of tea....all things you can do in nicer nearby hotels. So it was ok, but I will not be back. Check my other reviews for better hotels in same area.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxtedandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We just returned back to the states after a week long stay in Paris at this hotel. The location was absolutely perfect for everything we wanted to see and do. It is within a neighborhood that we totally felt safe walking through anytime day or night. There were 3 fantastic places to eat and have coffee at at the end of the block. We would recommend Le Comptieur and Cafe Danton as well as les Edituers. We were also able to walk to Notre DAme, the Luxembourg gardens and theOdeon Metro stop was super easy

The team that manages the front desk at the St Paul hotel was fantastic and were all extremely helpful with whatever questions we had on a daily basis. We thought the cat Skype was a very cute mascot for the hotel and made it feel even more cozy than it already was. I would totally rate this place a 5 out of 5 based on location, cleanliness and overall customer service. Well done! Thanks for helping to make our trip an awesome and memorable one!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1. Very convenient room but it is on the first floor off the reception so you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed here last weekend (10/11/12 February), Paris was freezing! But the hotel was warm and welcoming. Fantastic location, close to RER stop if arriving from CDG airport. We were upgraded to room 13, which was just what we wanted, good size (for Paris) and a bathroom with a bath! Stephanie on reception was very helpful in recommending us two excellent restaurants during our stay which we enjoyd very much and didn't break the bank. Hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the city and public transport links. Would definitely recommend staying here and hope to do so again ourselves later this year. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask the hotel - they accommodated our requirements - eg, wanting a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smm412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Responsable commercial at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Dear clients,
We thank you very much for your positive review about the hotel St Paul Rive Gauche.
Room 13 is a romantic room with a 4 poster bed which is usually requested by honeymooners or couples who celebrate their wedding anniversary. When it is available, we like to upgrade our clients (this is always a last minute decision, obviously).
Most French hotels do not have any room "number 13" but I like to call it our "Lucky charm room" ("Porte-Bonheur")
As you suggested, our clientsshould feel free to contact us for any special requirement....
Looking forward to meeting you again in Paris,
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I love this hotel. This is the second time my family has stayed here and if I travelled to Paris, I would come back to Hotel St Paul! We love the hotel's charm and quaint rooms. They are really cute and old world. The bathrooms are modern, very clean and bright. I had communicated with the staff frequently before our visit this time as we needed a restaurant booking for Christmas lunch and I couldn't leave it until we arrived in Paris. They were really helpful and found us an awesome restaurant nearby (Le Odeon?). The location of this hotel is convenient. We walked everywhere. There are good shops nearby, great restaurants, the underground at the end of the road. We love Skype, the cat. We felt at home with Puss around and it was an extra special memory for my ten year old becuase she was missing her animals from home. It is charming without being stuffy. It is friendly but professional. It has charm and you can feel at home here. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We had rooms 45 and 46 as ajoining rooms. Highly recommend them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise01Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Director of Sales at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your enthusiastic review ! I am sure that the internet users wil appreciate your suggestions. You are right : rooms 45 and 46 are perfect for families of 5 or 6 persons.
As for the restaurant, it must be "La Bastide Odeon" that we highly recommend (2 steps from the hotel, good value, good service and obviously, good food!)
Skype the cat and all the staff of the hotel thank you very much for your recent visit and hope to see you again in the future!
Meanwhile, you may join our Fans in Facebook: /Hotel-Saint-Paul-Rive-Gauche-Fans-Page/88937098333 and follow Skype' s adventures .
Kind regards
Valerie Benigno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Martin, FWI
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

My second time to this lovely and unpretentious little gem. Paris was at its coldest, but the friendly hospitality and genuine kindess offered here will forever warm my heart. Unfortunately, I was here for medical reasons and I was treated so gently and with such care that I am humbled and revived by just being here. I can not say enough abut these very, very special people who I have had the great pleasure of getting to know.
The room was well appointed and cleaned. Fellow guests were very pleasant, the overall atmosphere very positive and welcoming. A very special stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieStPaul, Director of Sales at Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Dear guest,
We thank you very much for your nice review.
It is so cold outside these days, you are right!
We will be very happy to accommodate you once again in the future, maybe during the spring or the summer ? (we have nice offers, then)
"Warm" regards :-)
Valerie Benigno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Typically, I stay in other parts of Paris. I decided to try the Left Bank for a change. I received a lot of referrals for hotels in the area. However, I preferred to look to Tripadvisor and found this great hotel.

The hotel is located a few minutes walking distance from the RER B line. So, it was very easy to get to the hotel from the airport. The hotel is located a couple of blocks from one of the best intersections on St. Germain. This is an advantage as the street is quiet which contributes to a great sleep experience. There are great restaurants, bars etc within walking distance. One of my favorites restaurants, Le Comptoir, is just two short blocks away.

The stafff was absolutely perfect. They were friendly, professional and just a pleasure to interact with. The gato is also very freindly! The rooms were very warm and a bit less traditional. They have open exposed beams and fabric wallpaper. They were very comfortable but not super fancy or modern, except the bathroom. This is a small place that makes you feel at home. The rates are great, especially given the area.

If you are used to spending a fortune at the Ritz, go elsewhere. If you want a great eexperience in a great lcoation, look no further.

Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djacobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#98 of 1,801 in Paris
371 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#103 of 1,801 in Paris
1,075 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#36 of 1,801 in Paris
540 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#89 of 1,801 in Paris
1,144 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#8 of 1,801 in Paris
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche

Property: Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Address: 43 rue Monsieur le Prince, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#76 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#190 Family Hotel in Paris
#490 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint-Paul Rive Gauche belongs to a Franco-British family, hoteliers for 4 generations, who have made the hotel a marriage of French elegance and English comfort. Situated on the line of Paris' former outer wall under Philippe Auguste, this 17th century building was once the home of Franciscan monks. The 31 bedrooms are colourful and range in style from the modern - vibrant flowered fabrics - to the traditional - exposed beams and elegant opaque curtains. There are beamed ceilings, faux ostrich bed-heads, clever corner armoires, even two baldaquin beds beneath the high ceilings of the lower floors. Entirely renovated in 2015, this boutique-hotel is close to everything, in the heart of the action, but in a quiet little street. The Luxembourg gardens vicinity and the so many walking distance sites like the Sorbonne, Notre-Dame cathedral, the Pantheon, Cluny museum and the Louvre, make the Hotel Saint-Paul Rive Gauche a convenient pied-à-terre for enjoying the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Paul Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing