We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Boutique Hotel and Perfect Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence des Arts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Residence des Arts
Ranked #759 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel and Perfect Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I spent a week in February 2014 at Hotel Residence des Arts and highly recommend it. We had two junior suites for ourselves and our daughter, granddaughter, and son-in-law. The furnishings and accomodations were beautiful, comfortable and clean, everything we could ask for. You will enjoy the smallest elevator you have ever seen, though it worked just fine, and added to the charm of the place.

The hotel and its sister hotel, Villa d'Estrees, are located in what I would call an alley by US standards, but that was a good thing - easy walking and no traffic noise. The area is packed with places to eat, from crepes, pizza by the slice, fancy French, and a nearby grocer for wine and snacks for the room. Chocolate, ice cream, and Starbucks nearby too!

Best of all was the location for seeing Paris: Absolutely perfect! Around the corner is Place Saint-Michel, which has several entrances for the Metro for travel within Paris, and also the RER railroad, which one can take to Airport Charles de Gaulle, or Versaille. The Seine, Notre Dame, the Lourve, and Berthillon (best ice cream in Paris?) on Île Saint-Louis, are all within walking distance, even for tired senior citizens.

We highly recommend the Hotel Residence des Arts and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alfatouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residencedesarts, Propriétaire at Hotel Residence des Arts, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Dear alfatouring,

We would like to thank you very much for this review of your stay with us. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed the unique decoration of the rooms and the charm of our small boutique hotel.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

The Résidence des Arts team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    94
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
54
84
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morris
Level Contributor
380 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our first trip to Paris, and my wife picked out this gem to stay at.

The room had a lot of things going for it, including dark shades (if you're out on the town until the wee hours of the morning and want to sleep in, you'll appreciate this), a very comfortable bed, adequate air conditioning, a safe neighborhood and absolutely easy transit from the RER or Metro to the hotel - it's 2 blocks maximum.

You DO NOT NEED A RENTAL CAR in Paris - in fact, parking is very hard to come by (as evidenced by the very creative way people parked their vehicles there). If you are reasonably physically fit, you can make it to the Metro or RER stations, and get anywhere you need to go. We were able to hop the RER from the airport and basically get to within 2 blocks of our hotel at the most, and then take the same or other stops to ride the RER or Metro to where ever in Paris we wanted to go, and boy, did we go places in Paris. We were averaging 10 miles of walking a day.

If you are in good shape, you can literally walk to see Notre Dame, the Left and Right Banks of the Seine, and even the Lourve. We walked all over Paris.

The neighborhood is very clean and safe apart from the occasional dog owner who doesn't clean up after their mutt. The hotel has good security - the front door needs your key card to enter, as does your room door. The hotel is within easy walking distance of over 50 restaurants, and I'm probably underestimating that. We didn't eat at the same place twice in our stay.

We were able to sleep during some exciting World Cup 2014 games being shown in the Irish pub downstairs, but we were on the third floor. I think the second floor would be challenging.

The rooms were very quiet - we didn't really hear our neighbors. You'll want to use your shears at least in the rooms - this is a typical narrow Paris street, and you look directly into apartments across the street, and vice versa.

There were two observations that weren't great - the shower (only, no tub) drain ran slow, and the air vent in the bathroom was plugged solid with lint. Otherwise, everything was great.

The double room we had came with a TV (which included some pretty wild French programming with strong sexual themes and frontal nudity- beware if you are prudish!) and a mini fridge. We didn't discover it until later, but there was also a cook top hidden under the counter the mini fridge is under, which included a sink and cook top - you lift the counter up to access it.

All in all, it was a great trip to Paris, and the room and it's "location, location, location" made it all the more better.

The elevator was a trick - it was a three person, standing side by side, otherwise, you're on the spiral staircase - you might as well get used to them, they are in most of the museums and tourist spots.

Room Tip: If there are high profile sporting events (soccer, rugby), the bar downstairs on the first floor can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residencedesarts, Propriétaire at Hotel Residence des Arts, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Dear AvWriter,

We would like to thank you for this very enthusiastic and complete review of your stay with us! It a always a great pleasure and satisfaction to read that our guests appreciated the unique decoration of our rooms and the ideal location of the hotel in the heart of the Latin quarter. We do apologize about the imperfections in the bathrooms though.

We hope to welcome you again next time you come to Paris!

Kind regards,

The Résidence des Arts team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Visited paris with my daughter our hotel room was quaint veryclean and had all we needed. Great location in the latin quarter with walking to many great spots. Loved it and would recommend as a great spot to stay. We were there 3 nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residencedesarts, Propriétaire at Hotel Residence des Arts, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Dear Laurene W,

Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are glad to learn that you had a good time in Paris with your daughter and enjoyed the ideal location of our hotel in the heart of the Latin quarter.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

The Résidence des Arts team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

First stayed here 8 years ago. Fabulous location, within walking distance to Notre Dame, Louvre, Cluny, Metro and Seine. Nice pub/restaurants in the area .A bit noisy on the weekends but easily disguised. Staff was outstanding and very responsive to our requests -- Aina is wonderful! My husband got a kick out of the tiny elevator. Room good sized by paris standards.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raysma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We recentley stayed here and it was a fantastic Choice. Prior to arrival the staff was Incredibly helpful in helping us plan out trip and reserve our room. The location is perfect , Steps away from St Michel Metro station that connected us to everywhere in the city we wanted to go and a quick trip to and from CDG Airport. There is no shortage of great restaurants and bakeries near by. The suite was perfect for us. I would Highly reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for a Beautiful and Convient Hotel.

Room Tip: Higher Floors will reduce some of the evening noise from the cafe's nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCTraveller_698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I recently traveled to Paris for a Mom and Daughter Vacation and booked this hotel. I am so HAPPY that I did. The room was outstanding!! The service was outstanding!! The room was very clean and it is is a fabulous location. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to have a great Parisian experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanyaJ9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Villa d'Estrees
Hotel Villa d'Estrees
#467 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Eugenie
Hotel Eugenie
#978 of 1,810 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Clos Notre Dame
Hotel Le Clos Notre Dame
#920 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
#571 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#203 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Royal Saint Michel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence des Arts

Property: Hotel Residence des Arts
Address: 14 rue Git le Coeur | Latin Quarter, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#345 Family Hotel in Paris
#449 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence des Arts 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the Latin Quarter, walking distance from all major monuments and benefits from a close proximity to the transportation system (RER, Metro, Bus). Our hotel, in a 15th century private residence offers suites, studios and apartments, associating the convenience of a service apartment and high quality hotel service. We are currently renovating the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Residence des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Des Arts Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing