We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel in awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Residence des Arts
Ranked #731 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in awesome location”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked a junior suite with adjoining room for 3 nights in June to accommodate 4 adults and a toddler... Reception were really helpful and friendly, resolving a small issue with the keycard promptly. The rooms were really clean and nicely decorated, a cot provided free of charge and a decent sized sitting room and dinky kitchenette. A bathroom with a bath was a bonus. For semi self catering it's perfect, ESP as there is a monoprix and mini carrefour ten mins away plus a Nicolas wine shop. Within 10 meters of the front door are a boulangerie and a creperie... The receptionists were really helpful especially when I needed first aid after slamming a door on my toe. We also got a fabulous dinner recommendation from them which made our trip. Only suggestion would be to have some basic coffee making equipment such as a plunger or plastic filter in the kitchenette. Otherwise cannot recommend highly enough. Especially if you are travelling with kids as the sofa in the suite turns into a bed. Also Most places are walking distance..

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hftalarico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    105
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
61
97
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

For the price of £100/night great value and decorated well and great location in St Michel
Does get noisy at night just shut window good wifi provided free and a safe cereal bowls 1 forks knifes spoons cups and a electric kettle were provided
Lady at front desk across the road in sister hotel was fab too:)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MICHAELBRAGALONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Situated perfectly in the heart of the Left Bank, this boutique hotel provides all that those seeking the 'genuine Paris'. Very central, with immediate access via Metro or on foot to the sights and sounds, and tastes, of central Paris. Rooms vary greatly in size, with the largest quite generous, but also quite expensive. Not for the faint of wallet, but this brand of charm, romance & location always demands a premium. Friendly and helpful staff, all polyglot. Directly opposite is a popular 'Irish' pub, but don't let this put you off - the patrons are mostly French & fellow tourists. The hotel also has it's own cafe & bar - excellent for that 'last one' before bedtime.
Those who love Paris will love this hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel is on both sides of a narrow street and the best rooms are on the topmost floors. Restri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GalwayKennels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in September. I can only rate my stay as okay. The room was very dark and I actually had to clean something off in the bathroom that looked like vomit or blood. The lock from inside the bedroom did not work so we slept with the desk and chair against the door. It was very noisy and a place where you should expect not to be able to sleep. I cannot fault the location--it was great...walking distance to everything and the Seine is up the block. The hotel staff are also very nice and helpful. This hotel is not actually part of the main one which is across the street. There is no lobby here with hotel staff. You need to gain access by your key card. This was a 2 night stay only--370 Euros--a good price in Paris and not worth even mentioning to the staff since it was only 2 nights. If location is what you are looking for with an affordable price..this is it but I in retrospect I would have paid more to stay at a nicer stay in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balzam1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Hotel is in such a fantastic locatition, more in the 6th Arondissement (St Germain) than the 5th (Latin Quarter). Was pleased with the whole 'vibe' of the area, with lots of shops, cafes, bars etc within reach. It's also within easy walking distance of Notre Dame, Centre Pompidou & The Louvre. As I was fortunate to have lovely Autumnal weather, it was nice to weave the bridges across the Seine, all the way to the Arc de Triomphe.
The staff at the hotel were helpful, the rooms were more than adequate for Paris size & I felt very welcome throughout my stay. Certainly wasn't a negative for me, as I like noise but, light sleepers should tread with caution as it is opposite a bar, so with a window open at night, it could be noisy & again in the mornings, the road cleaners were audible. This for me however, added to the charm of the place and the bar opposite, served a great pint of Kronenbourg!
Overall, great staff, great location, great hotel. If I go back to Paris, I mean when, I will bebooking at the Residence des Arts, which is why I have no hesitation in giving a 5 Star rating,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsilverfox72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed in an "Apartment" which consists of a Junior Suite plus an adjoining Deluxe Room. We were told we needed this much space for a family of four (children 8 and 10). Actually, the Junior Suite had more than enough space for four! The Junior Suite consisted of two rooms separated by a curtain, one with a king sized bed and one with a fold out double couch and a kitchen and bath. The bath was large and had both a shower and a tub and a separate toilet area. The kitchen consisted of a two burner hot plate, a small fridge, a sink, a microwave and some pots, dishware and utensils. The separate (different entrance door -- not connecting door) Deluxe Room had a king sized bed and smaller but adequate bath. Both rooms had flat screen televisions and complimentary wi-fi. The rooms were a little dilapidated and in need of a make-over, but they were kept clean and tidy. Of course the location is perfection. Other posts complained of noise from the Irish Pub downstairs -- with the windows closed and the a/c on, we heard nothing at all. As others have noted, the reception is in Villa D'Estrees across the very small street. All-in-all space is what we needed and we got more than enough, with adequate furnishings, good baths, clean rooms and a great location. By the way, we ended up having a friend come down from Amsterdam to visit us and stay in the Deluxe Room of our Apartment -- there was plenty of room for the five of us. You only need a Junior Suite for a family of 4 if 2 do not mind sharing a fold out couch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjs1292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here for three nights with our two almost teenage girls.

Location is fabulous - nearest metro was close and convenient for many destinations. Room was adequate - we had a junior suite on fourth floor with twin beds and a sofa bed (which was softer than the twins!). Pretty nice furnishings, good block out curtains, decent shower, wifi and tv all good. Little kitchenette a bit minimal and would have preferred just a kettle but we decided to eat out (so many options close by) so no problem for us. Lift was minuscule but they took our luggage up for us as room wasn't ready at our early arrival hour and we spent the day sight seeing. Shower door was sticking open but was fixed as soon as we mentioned it. Stairways steep and narrow and carpet a bit tired.

Street noise didn't bother us due to our own late nights but I thought windows were pretty good at soundproofing.

On the couple of occasions we encountered staff they were always helpful and welcoming.

Overall we were happy with this hotel and delighted with the location. We would come again.

Room Tip: Sorry - didn't see any other than our own. They all face onto the road with the pub opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCtheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Villa d'Estrees
Hotel Villa d'Estrees
#359 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
#439 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Clos Notre Dame
Hotel Le Clos Notre Dame
#925 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Eugenie
Hotel Eugenie
#947 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#204 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#648 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence des Arts

Property: Hotel Residence des Arts
Address: 14 rue Git le Coeur | Latin Quarter, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#344 Family Hotel in Paris
#448 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence des Arts 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the Latin Quarter, walking distance from all major monuments and benefits from a close proximity to the transportation system (RER, Metro, Bus). Our hotel, in a 15th century private residence offers suites, studios and apartments, associating the convenience of a service apartment and high quality hotel service. We are currently renovating the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Residence des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Des Arts Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing