We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with friendly staff”
Review of Louison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Louison Hotel
Ranked #195 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel with friendly staff”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The hotel is at the quite convenient location. It is close to a couple of Metro stations and there are many good restaurants nearby at Boulevard du Montparnasse. Big room, clean comfy bed and nice bathroom. More important is that staff are all very friendly and helpful. They recommended us several wonderful restaurants and cafes. My wife and I stayed 4 nights in Oct 2012. We were very satisfied. This is a long-overdue review.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibm138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    372
    62
    15
    12
See reviews for
182
604
68
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I highly recommend the Aviatic Hotel. It's in a good location. Very clean, wonderful experience. Great decour but what made my experience exceptional was the staff. Very warm, friendly, helpful and informative. Although I speak enough french to get buy, they do speak english.

Room Tip: They have a small apartment on the ground level (here I stayed) that is perfect, beautiful and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6bella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I was planning a trip to Paris with a friend and we wanted to be sure we could find a twin room (two beds). I found Aviatic through Tablet. It lived up to expectations and was even a little more convenient to the Metro than I originally thought. We had a room on the 5th floor. There are a few steps from reception to the elevator to bear in mind with luggage. The elevator is small but it fit me, my friend, my giant suitcase and her small suitcase. The room was small (as expected) and there was not a ton of space between the two beds so you should be comfortable with that arrangement. The bathroom door was also a sliding door which did not seal out all noise etc so that meant a little less privacy. There was also a sofa in the room (which we could have done without for more space). There was a small TV mounted on wall but we never turned it on. Bathroom had a shower and tub. They made the most use of the space available and in the end it worked out well for two of us. We found the walk to the St. Placide or Montparnasse Metro stations to be convenient. We came home late from a concert at Le Zenith and found several places open nearby for a late dinner. Room faced the courtyard so never heard much noise. We slept late one day and were not disturbed by cleaning crew. We had the buffet breakfast one morning and it was tasty but we found some more affordable options the next day when we had a better sense of our neighborhood bearings. But it's a fine option for the convenience. Front desk was helpful with our Metro questions and storing luggage on our last day to allow for more sightseeing. All in all I was pleased with the hotel and would go back there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallulahB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
149 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

A small classically decorated 'boutique' style hotel in a quiet and safe central Paris location near St Germain and Montparnasse.

Firstly, the customer service for this hotel is first class. I emailed the hotel prior to my stay to let them know I was visiting as a suprise birthday trip for my husband. I received such fantastic service from all staff members with particular mention to 'Fanny' who helped me book a nearby restaurant as well as upgrading our room to an Executive room. On arrival at 10am the hotel also let us immediately check into our room as it was available, which is so very rarely done these days.

The location is on a small street 5 mins walk from Montparnasse Bienvenue Metro & Saint Placide Metro (although easier from Saint Placide as less stairs and station is much smaller to navigate out of). Metro Line 4 which is a great line to be on (20 mins to Gare du Nord for the Eurostar). The location was perfect in a safe and clean area with plenty of shops, cafes and restaurants only a few mins stroll away. We walked to the Eiffel Tower in 20 mins.

The hotel itself is beautifully decorated throughout in a classically modern decor. Our executive room was of a good size (for Paris) with a good sized bathroom, comfortable bed, tv, and also had a spare sofa/futon which would sleep a third person. The room and hotel were very clean throughout. Only criticism would be the shower. Do bare in mind that as with all city hotels, the walls can be fairly thin so you can sometimes hear other people moving around in nearby rooms.

The hotel offers free wifi and also complimentary wine/ juice/ water in the early evening in the lobby which is a great touch. Breakfast was 14 Euro per person so we instead choose to eat locally at the huge choice of cafes a few mins walk away.

Overall we were very impresssed with this hotel. It is fantastic value for a central Paris hotel. Could not fault the service. We will definately return here on our next trip and will ensure we recommend it to all our friends. Thank you for making our visit to Paris so enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazkebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, Kent, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Our fourth visit to Paris and here we found a gem.
The rooms are what you would expect, nice size with clean bathroom and a very comfortable bed.
Most hotels with this star rating will provide the basics but some do it better than others and this hotel ticked all our boxes.
we found the lower rooms a bit noisy with the metro trains so close to the surface they may keep you awake. After the first night we spoke to the daytime concierge who promptly moved us to a top floor room Outstanding service and nothing was to much, he even showed us the room first.
Breakfast room is small so rising early is advisable although it is served between 7-11am but, it is an additional 14euros per person per day or room service breakfast available for 9euros per person per day. There are various restaurants local enough for a good breakfast or a Monoprix supermarket with all your breakfast needs on a budget at Mountparrnasse.
Overall: Perfectly situated with most tourist sites accessible from local metro lines. Ample restaurants local enough ensuring a short walk or metro ride back to the comfort of your room. Rooms are perfect and warm even when it's really cold outside.
I would highly recommend this hotel to others and we will be staying here again on our next visit.
A big thank you to all the friendly staff who made our stay perfect. We hope to see you again next year.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back on levels 3 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel has everything you require for a trip to Paris. The hotel is in a good location, near Metro and walking distance to landmarks, with its own local bars and restaurant just around the corner. The rooms are clean, well decorated and provide basic requirements for a short stay in Paris. It does lack privacy however if sharing and one requires the use of the toilet, this is the only negative. The shower is powerful and very well thought out. Bed was comfortable and we had free use of a security box for passports and extra cash etc as well as wifi.
Breakfast was a good assortment, in a small but delightful breakfast room. The table space was a bit tight if at 75% capacity but otherwise great. It was a help yourself to breads, croissants, jams, boiled eggs, cheese, ham, sliced sausages, cakes and French biscuits. Fresh juice and nice coffee. Generally filled us up for a full day of sightseeing in Paris.
Everywhere is clean in the hotel, the atmosphere is welcoming with all staff being approachable and polite, speaking very good English and helping us speak a little French.
I would go back to this hotel and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wow, what a place. this was our 2nd stay at the Aviatic, if possible it was even better than the first time. It's not just the building, its the atmosphere and the staff. You truly feel like a guest, they can't do enough for you and they are truly interested in making your trip successful. Our room was lovely, average size for Europe, very clean, the bed was very comfortable and quiet at night. Loved the updates, I honestly don't know why anyone would stay anywhere else! Well done Aviatic!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otis1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#158 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#144 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
#103 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#184 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Best Western Aramis Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louison Hotel

Property: Louison Hotel
Address: 105 rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Formerly Aviatic Hotel Saint-Germain)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Paris
#148 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#337 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Louison Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Saint Germain des Pres and Montparnasse, the Hotel LOUISON is a chic hotel in the centre of Paris. With nineteenth century furniture, cherry and chestnut tones on the walls, marble floors and a courtyard garden, the Aviatic captures the spirit of the Left Bank in every detail. The hotel was constructed in 1856 to welcome the painters, sculptors and writers who would go on to put the Latin quarter at the very heart of European culture. This cultural heritage is present even in the bedrooms. Tastefully decorated, they generate a feeling of calm and a sensual ambiance. The charming, multilingual staff are always available to provide you with help and advice. They will be happy to offer local insight on art galleries, museums and the area's famous pavement cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Louison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviatic Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing