We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Better then I could ever expect!”
Review of Hotel Lutetia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lutetia
Ranked #1,152 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Everyone in this hotel was awesome! Theo who works reception was the nicest, most helpful hotel employee I had ever met. He went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. All staff members made us feel at home even though we did not speak French. Our room was beautiful and had a huge balcony with a fabulous view. It blew me away. We had an early tour and they let us get room service at no extra charge since breakfast in the dining room which was also unbelievably good did not start until 7am. Concierge directed us to local restaurants that offered great food and reasonable prices that accepted those who did not speak French. I recommend this hotel to anyone going to Paris. Just a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler31480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Traveler31480,

What a wonderful comment on the hotel and our service, we thank you very much for sharing it on Tripadvisor and for your recommandation.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon,

Kind regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 885 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Lutetia in Paris and selected it for its prime location on the Rive Gauche. I had been traveling for a few weeks at that point and could't remember what the room was supposed to look like. Now having returned home and looking at the hotel web site, it occurred to me that they gave me a HORRIBLE room and nothing remotely like pictured on the website. I feel like it it was complete bait and switch!!! The room was old, had an ugly head board, old furniture which was loud and squeaky, and was dark and dingy - nothing like what is pictured on the website. You may ask - why didn't I ask for another room? At check in, I was told the hotel was completely booked and no others were available. I'm so disappointed with this hotel, and would never allow anyone i know in good faith to stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Theo A,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your last stay. We are very sorry to read you did not enjoy your experence with us. We will definitely share your remarks and appropriate actions will be taken.

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We checked into the Hotel Lutetia on Sept. 26th ( my 60th birthday )
The people at the front desk were warm and welcoming. They provided special accommodations for this occasion, which was a pleasant surprise and much appreciated! We were given a junior suite, as requested, with a wonderful view of the Eiffel Tower. The two balconies provided not only fresh air, but a great venue for picture taking.
The hotel is quite old and although showing a bit of wear in the carpets, the rooms were clean and decorated in traditional Art Deco style. However, the service more than made up for the wear. The beds were firm, crisp and comfortable and having two bathrooms was a great perk.
We used the Concierge service quite a few times before our arrival and while we were there. They were very professional, helpful and spoke English fluently.
We only tried one of their restaurants one night for just dessert and it was wonderful making us wish we would have had dinner there. We would return and certainly try both restaurants on our next visit.
Breakfast was extravagant, as were the bar and lounge ( impressive drink menu! ).
We frequent NYC hotels and I have to say this hotel meets all our requirements – impeccable service and grand, yet comfortable atmosphere.

Room Tip: I took another trip advisors advice by getting a junior suite to avoid a small room that might have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear k f,

Thank you for taking the time to give such encouraging feedback following your visit to the Hotel Lutetia. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the experience and all the facilities that the hotel has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Paris,

Kind regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Have just checked out on 10/3/13
Having signed up for 720 euros per night I thought the junior suite would be nice . However the hotel is old and musty . Desperately in need of renovation. The Internet does not work. This was a source of high aggravation for us as we are business travelers . The furnishings in the room were equal to a dormitory . Service is average at best . If you are use to nice hotels and the service which comes along you will be unhappy . Even the shoe hine was terrible . Polish all over the buckles and smeared polish on the leather . yes this a very negative review but this was truly our experience .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dfox1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Dfox1967,

We are extremely sorry and disappointed to read your review concerning your last visit. We sincerely regret that you had such a bad impression of your stay with us and would like to assure you that we take your comments very seriously. We truly hope that you are willing to give us another chance to welcome you during your next visit to Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Luc Cousty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My sister, two friends and I stayed at the Lutetia for four nights, in three different kinds of rooms. Each room was just as we had hoped it would be with either great views, great amenities, great space and all with great ambience. The junior suites were large, the furniture comfortable and "lived in" yet spotless and cared for. The bed linens were wonderful and the pillows top-notch. We especially loved the bathroom products. I will warn travelers that in warm weather, the rooms are rather hot, and the duvets tend to be heavy. I asked for a sheet.

The breakfasts are indulgent, with creamy scrambled eggs or hard boiled ones along with all the other buffet items you could wish for including huge bowls of fresh melon and baskets of breads and pastries. We never did figure out how to order a menu item although we saw people eating omelets.

We joined friends for dinner in the Brasserie and was very pleased with the food. (I had the pork loin, which the table declared the best.) The staff was attentive and helpful and since we were in a party mood, they helped that along too.

We spent quite a bit of time in the lounge as it was our meeting place and our late night recap of the day spot. It's large but with cozy vignettes so you feel a bit private. We enjoyed the music there as well.

After a day of walking the Louvre, I used the spa for a massage, and it was wonderful, intimate and soothing. I only wish I could have gone back for more but it was the last day.

The concierge and reception desks were very helpful and accommodating to our every need. I wholeheartly recommend the Lutetia, especially to first time visitors who want a central location, within walking distance to many places and right in the heart of all the Parisian cafes and just down the street from Bon Marche. It's not touristy, but quietly luxurious. Magnifique!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuileann8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Cuileann8,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this very nice feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel Lutetia and for your recommandation. It is a real pleasure read that you enjoyed your experience with us.
We will be delighted to share your kind words with the entire team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

First, the location is perfect to see all the sights, many walking distance. We were in a junior suite on the sixth floor with a breathtaking view of the Eiffel Tower, so romantic! Breakfast could not be beat, my husband and I looked forward to this every morning. The hotel has an old world charm and a lot of class. Staff very nice and helpful. The rating of 4 is because it is true that the rooms could use updating, but they are clean, and bathroom was large. I would most definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Get an room with Eiffel Tower view, sooooo nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSL820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear cissysquit,

Thank you for taking the time to give such encouraging feedback following your visit to the Hotel Lutetia. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your last experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Paris.

Kindest regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel must have been lovely once, but it has fallen into disarray. Peeling paint, filthy carpets in the room. Seedy. They are closing it for 3 years for renovation-hopefully that's all it will take! Nice concierge but awful rooms. Beware.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaobella33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLCousty, Directeur général at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Ciaobella33,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback about your last stay. We sincerely regret that you had such a bad impression of your stay with us and would like to assure you that we take your comments very seriously. We truly hope that you are willing to give us another chance to welcome you during your next visit to Paris.

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Cousty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Le Placide
Le Placide
#565 of 1,804 in Paris
294 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#140 of 1,804 in Paris
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Sevres
Hotel de Sevres
#515 of 1,804 in Paris
387 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Petit Chomel
Le Petit Chomel
#129 of 1,804 in Paris
357 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#204 of 1,804 in Paris
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lutetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lutetia

Address: 45 Boulevard Raspail | Hotel Closed for 3 year renovation that started April 2014, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#89 Spa Hotel in Paris
#477 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#599 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $663 - $665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lutetia 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lutetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lutecia Paris
Lutetia Hotel
Paris Lutetia
Paris Hotel Lutetia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing