We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for high room, with balcony”
Review of Hotel Lutetia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lutetia
Ranked #1,084 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Moorpark, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 607 helpful votes
“Ask for high room, with balcony”
Reviewed June 21, 2008

3 of my girlfriends and I were able to go to Paris for a week! Our dear husbands and some fine babysitting and a lot of juggling got our 9 (nine!) kids all taken care of and we had a ball of a week. Imagine 4 mommies in Paris for a week...it was heaven.

With this hotel as our base, it was fun and safe and we saw just about everything we had on our list.

Our travel agent got us a high floor room with a view. We had asked for the view of the Eiffel Tower, but didn't want to pay for that -- so we go a view down the other side - to beautiful Parisan streets. We also had shallow balconies and spent many evenings sipping wine or champagne once we returned from a museum or sight seeing -- and before heading out to dinner (Europeans eat later than Californians... like at 8 or 9 -- so we enjoyed this time on on balcony).

The concierge was GREAT at recommending restaurants. Every place he sent us to was non-touristy and the food was FABULOUS. Some of our best memories.

Our hotel rate included breakfast - a nice way to start the day and keep within budget. The only challenge was on Sunday, the restaurant was VERY full and we couldn't get in to eat, in time to make church. (We went to the International Service at Nortre Dame, it was amazing to worship in a chapel filled with people from around the world, in a site that has been a place of worship for 1,700 years!) I guess the restaurant was full with locals having brunch or Sunday out or something. Keep that in mind.

A review below gives a good overview of the kind of "shabby chic" atmosphere at the Lutecia - but I find this somewhat common in Europe - they seem to have a different tolerance for shabby carpets and dinged up paint than we Americans. I too find it kind of odd that its deemed acceptable when you are paying that much (especially, as she states, with the current exchange rate).

One treasure we found: there is a local "farmers" market on Wed and Mon (I think? ask front desk) just down the street (by the taxi stand) and it was FABULOUS fun to see all the beautiful breads, meats, fruits, veggies. I bought my best souviniers there - a couple of cashmire shawls and a necklace. Don't miss the fun.

  • Liked — Safe, clean, friendly, authentic, not too touristy, beautiful building, nice location, near Metro
  • Disliked — A bit shabby for the 4 star prices - but uniquely French.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    292
    132
    80
    61
See reviews for
158
363
43
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2008

My teen-aged daughter and I stayed at this hotel for several days and thought the location was absolutely perfect. We walked everywhere, and the neighborhood is full of great small restaurants and boutiques so it was easy to get acclimated. We had great rooms with nice views - large rooms with comfortable beds and high ceilings. The showers were something of a challenge because they were not totally contained and it was hard not to get water all over the place. Also, some of the concierges were grumpy and abrupt, and some of their restaurant suggestions were not very good. Also, we had to get a camera part while we were there, and one sent us off on a wild goose chase for a store that no longer existed - he was sure that it did. All of these are minor difficulties, and in general, staying here was a great experience. We will come back.

  • Liked — location and history of the hotel
  • Disliked — grumpy concierges
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank charmfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2008

We just came back from a 1 week stay at the hotel, and we really have nothing bad to say. The concierge, Frank, was extremely helpful, and his recommendations for restaurants were spot on. He sent us to the "404" restaurant, which is a Northern African cuisine place. It was awesome. Be sure to try their house red wine!

The beds were fantastic. The bathrooms were huge, but to be honest, I'll never understand the European use of only half of a shower door! And the toilet is actually separated from the rest of the bathroom by a door, so there's a bit more privacy.

You couldn't ask for a better location. Lots of good shopping nearby, and the Metro is just across the street.

When we return to Paris, we plan on staying here again.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank DrSharkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2008

Stayed here for 4 days in April '08. The location in St. Germaine-des-Pres is convenient and gratifying for those who are looking for a less intensely touristy neighborhood. Service was friendly, helpful, but unobtrusive. From the exterior the building itself is attractive in its distinctive art deco style (for those who care about such things). Inside, it's a little more uneven. The common spaces are in good shape, consistently styled, but not opulent. Our room (a Junior Suite) was spacious, but a little strangely laid out (shower/sink room on one side of the suite, powder room on the other). The furniture and finish were a bit below the standard I would have expected from a 4-star hotel. The queen bed consisted of two smaller mattresses pressed together, the table and chairs in the sitting area a bit dull and scuffed, some chipped paint around the room. Wireless internet service, while free, was somewhat kludgy. Took some fiddling to get it to work and it generally worked slowly. Climate control was a bit of an issue. The room was quite hot and the control system was antiquated and didn't seem to make much difference depending on how we set it. The fitnsess room was clean and new, but a little small. Our package came with free breakfast, which was served in the elegant Borghese room and was very good overall.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bh94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

+ Nice location in Saint-Germain-de-pres near Latin Quarter
+ Close to the metro with direct line to Montmartre
+ Great professional staff
+ Nice lobby
+ Very clean rooms

- The classic rooms are not 5 star
- Quite small rooms
- Not very price-worthy
- The interior style is not in my taste, prefer modern interior design

  • Liked — The location and nice parisian atmosphere
  • Disliked — The price and interior design
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank s12ini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2008

This was a very nice hotel indeed. Even better because we got a cheap deal from expedia, possibly because we booked it months in advance.
We stayed over for the recent England v France friendly (lets gloss over that...) and found this hotel to be friendly, handily placed (metro stops right outside Sèvres-Babylone metro station)
and elegantly luxurious in a slightly (only slightly) faded art deco way.
The room we had was pleasant, but possibly because we had the cheap deal from expedia wasnt the best the hotel had to offer, but was nicely decorated in an art deco style, and certainly large enough for us. Bathroom was clean and large with nice expensive toiletries.
One thing to beware of....the drinks in the hotel were exorbitantly priced (18 euros for a G & T) but this could be true of most hotels- indeed bars, in Paris? Certainly for the area that the hotel is in (which reminded me of bond street in London) this could be an average price. We didnt eat in the hotel so cant comment on the food, but the bars and restaurants (3 of them) were smart, clean and had friendly waiting staff.
The area itself is very rich, prada this and gucci that on every corner..
All in all a very pleasant hotel, and if you can get a good deal, i would definitely recommend it.
It is an agreeable 10 minute walk to the Notre Dame and attractions in the Notre Dame area from the hotel by the way

  • Liked — friendly staff, decor, location
  • Disliked — bar bills!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manchester-England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

A friend and I just returned from a stay at Hotel Lutetia and were both very pleased with the hotel. The hotel has a grand historic appeal, but is geared toward the business traveler, which was great for 2 American girls...the room included a hairdryer and all the amenities we are used to in American hotels. The room was clean and at turn down we were given chocolate easter eggs (we were there over Easter weekend), which was a really nice touch. The location cannot be beat...in St. Germain, very close to Metro stop, Bon Marché, various fabulous boutiques, bistros, brasseries and cafés made famous by brilliant writers from years past. We found the hotel staff pleasant and helpful. Also, the concierge team was wonderful at recommendations geared toward our desires...Xavier was exceptional and his recommendations were spot on. We didn't eat in the restaurants, short of café creme in the mornings (skip it, overpriced and no ambience). I have seen a multitude of different price points for this hotel, which is confusing. We paid under $300/nt and were upgraded to a junior suite. What's not to love? I would stay again assuming the price was right.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price of coffee
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TwiggyCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#143 of 1,800 in Paris
511 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Petit Chomel
Le Petit Chomel
#149 of 1,800 in Paris
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Bel Ami Hotel
Bel Ami Hotel
#175 of 1,800 in Paris
1,160 reviews
Les Halles
Best Western Ducs De Bourgogne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lutetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lutetia

Property: Hotel Lutetia
Address: 45 Boulevard Raspail | Hotel Closed for 3 year renovation that started April 2014, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#465 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#600 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lutetia 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lutetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lutecia Paris
Lutetia Hotel
Paris Lutetia
Paris Hotel Lutetia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing