We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Lutetia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lutetia
Ranked #1,083 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I got a great deal to stay here as we booked just a few days before we were to arrive in Paris. We were not sure what to expect based on some of the more mixed reviews, but the hotel completely blew us away. The service was exceptional -- we were upgraded to a deluxe king room, which even had a cute little balcony overlooking a Parisian street, from which we could drink wine and relax. We ordered room service from the cafe downstairs (a roast chicken and mashed potatoes dish), and it was the best food we had the entire time in Paris, and one of the best meals we have ever had, period. The bathroom was very spacious and very clean, with great water pressure, and the bedroom was also large and spotless. The hotel itself was beautiful, including the lobby, and everything felt very elegant and refined, but also inviting and relaxing. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKT15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKouyoumji, Front of House and Quality Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear KKT15,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us and for choosing the Hotel Lutetia during your last visit in Paris. We are truly pleased to hear that our hotel met your expectations and to hear how much you enjoyed our service. It will be a pleasure for us to share your warm comments with all the teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Lutetia and thank you for your recommandation!

Kindest regards,

Jean-Marie Kouyoumji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    292
    132
    80
    61
See reviews for
158
363
43
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

First off, the staff was very helpful. A good front desk and service staff. But the hotel itself is not terrific. The lobby is not really elegant or welcoming. Our room was a bit on the tired side, though our beds were very comfortable and the room was very quiet at night, especially for a city hotel. Cleanliness was okay; the carpeting had seen better days, but the maid service was very good. The location was very convenient for our needs in St. Germaine. For all of the horror stories we heard about Paris and pickpockets, we saw no need for worry. We felt safe, we slept well, and we were well taken care of by the staff. The physical aspects of the hotel do not live up to its reputation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKouyoumji, Front of House and Quality Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Tfidl,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your impressions following to your recent stay at the Hotel Lutetia.
It is a real pleasure to learn that you appreciated our staff efficiency as well as our location. We took good notes of your feedback on the physical aspects of the hotel.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at the Lutetia for another stay in Paris,

Sincerely yours,

Jean-Marie Kouyoumji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our third visit to Hotel Lutetia. This time I was very disappointed that on arrival at 15:15 we were told our room was not ready and we needed to wait 30 minutes. This is not an early arrival time in my opinion. I had to go back to check if room was ready and front desk seemed confused if I had check-in. If breakfast is not included, the cost is 25e and is not worth the price. Had to ask twice to get the first service of coffee. Hot food not attractive or tasty. Previous visits the breakfast was excellent. We had breakfast included but still not what expected from a 4 star hotel. Hotel did not meet the expectations I had from previous visits.
The rooms are huge by Paris standards which is a plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKouyoumji, Front of House and Quality Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear AIK70,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back and to give you entire satisfaction on your next stay.

Kind regards,

Jean-Marie Kouyoumji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a very disappointing esperience in this "rive gauche" hotel which costed an arm and a leg for barely three days (even not during we).
We have heard around about the charm and elegance of the hotel also related to its historical background. Unfortunately the carelessness of the old fashioned furnitures mixed with the awful modern skulptures and paintings apparently destroyed this "charm".
Me and my boyfriend envisaged to have a romantic trip in Paris but actually we spent lots of time at the phone with the concierge who tried to provide excuses for inefficiencies and mulfunctionings.

The room was full of indecent, raunchy and cheese art works which were probably intended to be just erotic. Be aware of the theme of the room they assign to you, it could cause you a lot of embarassment.
Moreover, the room was very dirty, we advised the personnel without success. They even forgot to empty the trash bins. The moquette was stained all over and we also find things (food pieces) left from the previous guests and not removed from the housekeepers.
If you're hot and you want to wide open the window, also to have a look to the marvellous sight to the Tour Eiffel, be advised that the hotel is on a boulevard with a lot of traffic night and day. Thus, the room was very noisy and the window glass not sufficient to isolate the sounds.
The air conditioning was not enough for the room to be cold; the personnel,even if advised, was not able to fix it.
We had also nice breakfasts downstairs in the hall. What a pity for the screeming children around left by their parents without any intervention by the personnel.

Our expectations about the hotel were not met and the level of service for this price is not coherent.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavio2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKouyoumji, Front of House and Quality Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Mavio2012,

Thank you for sharing your comments of your last stay on TripAdvisor. We deeply regret that your experience has not been positive and that we did not meet your expectations. We would gladly welcome the opportunity to reverse this and to make you discover another type of room decoration.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marie Kouyoumji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I am in Paris for 2 months and wanted to stay at a hotel for my birthday weekend, and chose Hotel Lutetia for it's location and value. I stayed in a junior suite for just under $450/night, which is a great price for Paris, and especially for the area.
My stay was pretty much what I had expected. The hotel is large and grand - a little old and showing it, but not that bad. The room was very spacious and clean, with a separate sitting area, bedroom area, and 2 bathrooms - one with a shower/tub and sink, and the other with the toilet and another sink. The carpets are old and not very comfortable, and the sitting area furniture was nothing special, but the bed was huge and very comfortable. The room overlooked the courtyard which is not a very exciting view, but nothing bad.
The service was fine - I have experienced better, but nothing about it was bad. I had e-mailed the concierge a few days prior to my check-in to request early check-in, and I never received a response. Usually when I e-mail hotels before a stay, I receive a very quick and friendly response, but I didn't receive one here.
If you're looking for a no-frills stay in a beautiful picturesque location, with a great value for the amount of space you have, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erc421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKouyoumji, Front of House and Quality Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear erc421,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Lutetia for your last trip to Paris and for taking the time to share your recent experience. Please accept our sincere apology for not having responded to your early check-in request. We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back and to give you entire satisfaction on your next stay.

Kind regards,

Jean-Marie Kouyoumji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great location on Boulevard Raspail. Right by the metro station.
Helpful staff and concierge - with one exception: After the first night - when our room was hot and humid - I asked for directions on how to set the air-con. I was told a number of things: (a) this is an old hotel and we do not have air-con (this was clearly rubbish, as the common parts of the hotel were cool and comfortable, and there was an air-con vent in the room); (b) turn the dial round to positive - this was counter-intuitive, because we wanted to reduce the temperature; (c) we can send you a fan, but there are no mobile air-con units; (d) there are mobile air-con units, but you cannot have one until tomorrow; and (e) we have not turned the air-con system on yet - but see (a) above.
This was a great shame, because otherwise the hotel would be great!

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking Boulevard Raspail
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKouyoumji, Front of House and Quality Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Stephen_boughton,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hotel Lutetia on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our location and the helpfull service of our concierge . However, we were really concerned to hear about the inconvenience you encountered with the air-conditioning and will make sure to improve our internal communication. Please accept our sincerest apologies.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marie Kouyoumji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I travel to Paris twice a year and always stay in the St. Germain area. We've tried quite a few hotels in the area and on this trip, decided to book the Hotel Lutetia after finding a great deal on their website. It turned out to be a great choice! The room was quite spacious with a large toilet and bath (toiletries were by Annick Goutal). The bed was quite comfortable and there was a good selection of English channels on TV. Only problem, altho slight, was that we could hear people from the next room or outside the corridor. Breakfast was wonderful with a wide selection of hot and cold dishes, altho it was the same all five mornings we ate there. Loved the breads and pastries and the hot chocolate! Location was also great, being practically right across Le Bon Marche and the Tue/Fri organic market along Blvd. Raspail. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKouyoumji, Front of House and Quality Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear travelbugManila,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your recent experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay among us and that you appreciate our central location.

We sincerely hope that we will have to pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Lutetia in the near future,

Kind regards,

Jean-Marie Kouyoumji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#144 of 1,801 in Paris
511 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Petit Chomel
Le Petit Chomel
#158 of 1,801 in Paris
299 reviews
Les Halles
Best Western Ducs De Bourgogne
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lutetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lutetia

Property: Hotel Lutetia
Address: 45 Boulevard Raspail | Hotel Closed for 3 year renovation that started April 2014, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#465 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#600 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lutetia 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lutetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lutecia Paris
Lutetia Hotel
Paris Lutetia
Paris Hotel Lutetia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing