We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Shame about the lack of air-con!”
Review of Hotel Lutetia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lutetia
Ranked #1,064 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great location. Shame about the lack of air-con!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great location on Boulevard Raspail. Right by the metro station.
Helpful staff and concierge - with one exception: After the first night - when our room was hot and humid - I asked for directions on how to set the air-con. I was told a number of things: (a) this is an old hotel and we do not have air-con (this was clearly rubbish, as the common parts of the hotel were cool and comfortable, and there was an air-con vent in the room); (b) turn the dial round to positive - this was counter-intuitive, because we wanted to reduce the temperature; (c) we can send you a fan, but there are no mobile air-con units; (d) there are mobile air-con units, but you cannot have one until tomorrow; and (e) we have not turned the air-con system on yet - but see (a) above.
This was a great shame, because otherwise the hotel would be great!

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking Boulevard Raspail
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKouyoumji, Front of House and Quality Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Stephen_boughton,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hotel Lutetia on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our location and the helpfull service of our concierge . However, we were really concerned to hear about the inconvenience you encountered with the air-conditioning and will make sure to improve our internal communication. Please accept our sincerest apologies.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marie Kouyoumji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    292
    132
    80
    61
See reviews for
158
363
42
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manila
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I travel to Paris twice a year and always stay in the St. Germain area. We've tried quite a few hotels in the area and on this trip, decided to book the Hotel Lutetia after finding a great deal on their website. It turned out to be a great choice! The room was quite spacious with a large toilet and bath (toiletries were by Annick Goutal). The bed was quite comfortable and there was a good selection of English channels on TV. Only problem, altho slight, was that we could hear people from the next room or outside the corridor. Breakfast was wonderful with a wide selection of hot and cold dishes, altho it was the same all five mornings we ate there. Loved the breads and pastries and the hot chocolate! Location was also great, being practically right across Le Bon Marche and the Tue/Fri organic market along Blvd. Raspail. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKouyoumji, Front of House and Quality Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear travelbugManila,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your recent experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay among us and that you appreciate our central location.

We sincerely hope that we will have to pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Lutetia in the near future,

Kind regards,

Jean-Marie Kouyoumji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We selected L'hotel Lutetia because we adore the sixth arrondisement, and the Lutetia was one of the few hotels with availability for what was a very last minute, semi-business trip. The hotel has a very interesting history, lovely art deco features, and oversized guest rooms. We requested a deluxe room for six nights. The only thing deluxe about it was the size. The furniture was cheap and beaten up, the walls were full of nail holes, and the lighting fixtures were inadequate. The bed was very comfortable with nice linen. The bathroom was a good size, but the tile was stained and chipped, with dirty grout. The toilet room must have been a broom closet at one time. I would be more forgiving if it was not for the fact that our room did not resemble the photographs on the hotel's website. It was obvious that the hotel had pushed a shabby, unrenovated room on us. They refused to change it, and we were too jet lagged to argue. Other aspects of the hotel are quite nice and the concierge team, doormen and reception staff were excellent and efficient. Housekeeping was quite erratic. Overall it was not a bad experience, and we were comfortable, but I am not sure that I would return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Berenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKouyoumji, Front of House and Quality Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Berenice,

We thank you for having taken the time to write your feelings about your recent stay at the Hotel Lutetia.

We have taken good notes of your comments and will share them with all the teams concerned.

With our best regards,

Jean-Marie Kouyoumji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This time we decided to spend more on a 'delux'room and get a view of the street, rather than a courtyard. We had Room 101 (and only later did people point out the connection with George Orwell and a rather stupid British TV comedy programme). Anyway, the room had a balcony and a good view of the Boulevard Raspail and was a good size (about 19 x 13 feet - 6x 4 metres) and a bathroom the same length and about 7 feet - 2 metres - wide. It was good - but maybe not quite such good value as the enormous room 334 which daughter and finance had enjoyed on our last visit: a view of the courtyard only, but less expensive. As ever, the hotel is a very pleasant place to stay and this time we enjoyed very much the jazz trio playing in the bar while sipping our drinks. The only slightly odd and off-putting thing was the occasional rumble of what I think must be metro trains, audible in the room from time to time. Not too intrusive though.

Room Tip: Try room 334.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobfromKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKouyoumji, Front of House and Quality Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear RobfromKensington,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is always a great reward to have a great review from a returning guest. Looking forward to your next stay with us,

Best regards,

Jean-Marie Kouyoumji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Service was impeccable and the staff friendly and helpful. Our room, a superior twin 2nd floor, was in need of a makeover, still it was clean, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom large and very nice. The bar has charm, style and live piano music which adds to a memorable evening. The location is great, across from the metro and within walking distance to some of the major attractions. This was our second stay at Lutetia and I think we will henceforth call it "our" hotel in Paris thanks to its fascinating history and its atmosphere of grandeur !

Room Tip: Ask for street view and king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tova G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKouyoumji, Front of House and Quality Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Tova G,

Thank you for such kind comments following your stay at the Hotel Lutetia.
We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your whole stay with us. Be sure that we will release your kind words to all our teams !

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you once again in "your hotel",

Kind regards,

Jean-Marie Kouyoumji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location, great service. The bar downstairs is fun for people watching in the evenings. Close to everything, and a safe area. Local boutiques and restaurants surrounding the hotel, and across the street from a metro.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room with two beds. Room was huge and renovated. Only problem was, we couldn't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKouyoumji, Front of House and Quality Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Cor D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review following your stay with us. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the location of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With our best regards,

Jean-Marie Kouyoumji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I'd stay here again and just think I got one of there not so nice rooms. I had dinner one night and was not impressed. If they room was nicer and the cocktail reception people were nicer, it would have been a first class experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 162MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKouyoumji, Front of House and Quality Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear 162MC,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Lutetia for your last trip to Paris.
We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back and to give you entire satisfaction on your next stay.

Kind regards,

Jean-Marie Kouyoumji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#144 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Le Placide
Le Placide
#532 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Madison Hotel by MH
Madison Hotel by MH
#153 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Recamier
Hotel Recamier
#306 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lutetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lutetia

Property: Hotel Lutetia
Address: 45 Boulevard Raspail | Hotel Closed for 3 year renovation that started April 2014, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#455 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#600 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lutetia 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lutetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lutecia Paris
Lutetia Hotel
Paris Lutetia
Paris Hotel Lutetia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing