We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Paris Les Halles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Paris Les Halles
Ranked #396 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hotel with good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

stayed for a week with families. Room was small but can sleep 4 (2+1+1). Staffs were nice. Breakfast was excellent. Location was the key of this hotel. close to the subway station. walkable distance to the Louvre and Notre Dame. Plenty eating places to enjoy. Price was ok.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mronethousand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    1,582
    524
    177
    88
See reviews for
1,812
710
120
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

For location it would be hard to beat; right outside one the major metro interchanges and within walking distance of a lot of the tourist sights. For Paris prices its OK, but don't expect some smart boutique luxury - this is a plain old simple corporate hotel - nothing offensive but nothing stand out. The beds were fairly comfortable, rooms were clean and well looked after - suspect its been recently refurbished. No air con as such.. more of an air blower with no working temperature control (the rooms were a bit on the warm side). Not sure how would be in the height of summer but in March an open window sorted it out.

We didn't have breakfast included in our rate; if you have to pay go elsewhere (there's plenty of choice within a 5 minute walk) since at 19 euros its not worth it. And if you're looking for a drink avoid anywhere too close by (including the hotel bar). 8+ euros for a beer is a joke - head over towards the Marais and prices get more sensible (at least for Paris).

Although its currently slap bang in the middle of a major building site this didn't seem to cause a problem other than working our how to navigate around some of the road closures/ barriers; noise want's an issue. In a largely pedestrianised area but taxis can drop off within 50 metres.

I'd stay again if I was looking for somewhere in the middle of Paris as a base to explore from; for a romantic getaway I might look for somewhere a little more glamorous (which would be a lot more expensive in Paris).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotellesHalles, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Les Halles, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

It is always a pleasure to read nice comments on our hotel, services and staff. I am really happy to see that you enjoyed the place and central location.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Novotel Paris les Halles.

Best regards,

Julien Donzel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights in March 2013 while in Paris for business and for a family holiday. We were a family of four occupying two separate rooms.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and found the hotel to be nice and functional. Pros and Cons of the hotel are listed below:

PROS:
1. Location, location, location. For us, the central location of the Novotel Les Halles could not have been better. The hotel is conveniently located 100 metres from the Chatellet train/metro stop, giving you access to almost the entire city of Paris. When we stayed at the Novotel, we either walked everywhere or took the metro or RER. We were a 10 minute walk to the Louvre, Notre Dame, the Latin Quarter, etc.
2. Great service. The staff at the hotel is incredibly friendly and helpful. Whether making dinner reservations, helping with transportation questions, or problems with our rooms, the staff worked efficiently and quickly to answer our questions or solve our problems.
3. Room size. We were in basic, standard rooms. They were quite large by Paris standards (considering the price), 220 sq.ft (20 sq.m), not including the bathroom and entry hall.
4. Room amenities. Wireless internet (included in our rate) worked well, was speedy and rarely failed. The workspace in the room is excellent and the chair provided with the desk is tall enough to provide for comfortable typing at a laptop. There is decent lighting in the room and the bedside reading lamps are appreciated. The in-room safe was large enough to accommodate our full-size laptop in addition to our other valuables.
5. Breakfast selections. Breakfast, which is pricey at 19 euro, was including in our room rate. However, the breakfast selections are large, including a large and thoughtful selection of gluten-free products. Yes, the coffee is out of a machine, but it is excellent.

CONS:
1. Construction. As mentioned by another reviewer, there is construction under way outside three sides of the Novotel. Surprisingly, construction workers started their day at 7:00 am and seemed to work until 10:00 pm. From the signs at the construction site, this project will continue through 2015. It would have been nice for the hotel to inform us of the construction at the time of our booking.
2. Room temperature. When we arrived, it was cool outside (40F, 5C) but was sweltering in our room. There was no way to cool the room and our window did not open. When we went back to reception, the efficiently moved us into another room where we could at least open the window to cool the room. This left us listening to construction noises but at least the room now had a comfortable temperature. Apparently, each room is on a central HVAC which does not allow for individual controls. For us spoiled Americans, this was a problem.
3. Room appearance. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, but in real need of updating. It is easy to see this hotel gets heavy use, and it shows in the rooms.
4. Breakfast room service. During peak hours, items on the breakfast buffet would not be replenished.

Note: many previous posters complained about the beds. We found our bed very comfortable, and we have spent many nights in uncomfortable beds around the world. However, one of our kids who slept on a fold-out bed in their room complained about that bed.
Overall, we liked the hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window that opens and a location away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenBear_Husker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotellesHalles, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Les Halles, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Novotel Paris Les Halles for your stay in Paris and for taking the time to share such nice detailed comments with other travellers.

I am pleased to see that you really enjoyed our central location and all our services. However, I have duly noted your comments on the heater in the bedroom and be assured that I will forward them to the concerned service in order to avoid such incident again.

It is true that Les Halles are going are going through major renovations and we are doing our best to welcome our guests in a most pleasant atmosphere.

Thanking you again for your feedback and looking forward to welcoming you again soon at the Novotel Paris les Halles.

Best regards,

Julien Donzel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Though near to everything, but bad location and not accessible becuase of on-going construction. Getting in and out, difficult by cab. Each cab will drop u different point and u have to navigate your way back. Difficult with luggage and rain.! Staff helpful but not effective. Always point to direction of taxi or restuarant like u know the place well! Even in the rain! Service very poor. During 2nd stay in March, able to check into suite at 4.30pm! No refreshment, no apology..nothing! Called regarding phone charger , adapter re previous week visit... Sorry. Attentive? Effective....no. Will never come back...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Bakar5565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotellesHalles, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Les Halles, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent stay in Paris and for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied by our services. I have taken good note of all your comments that help us to improve our services.

Trusting you will not hold this against us and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again during your next trip to Paris.

Best regards,

Julien Donzel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

As a former customer, I emailed the hotel a question about my upcoming trip to Paris. I was pleasently surprised when Lorena answered within a few hours giving me all the information I needed.
Overall, the hotel is very modern with comfortable rooms. The location is great as well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotellesHalles, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Les Halles, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Novotel Paris les Halles for your stay in Paris and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip advisor.

I am really happy to see that you enjoyed our central location and the quality of our services.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Novotel Paris les Halles.

Best regards,

Julien Donzel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

You are paying for location and a typical Novotel.The location is downright incredible. Right down in the middle of an incredible shopping district, walking distance from the Louvre. The hotel is nice. Our fridge had a bad odor for the duration of the trip but the room itself was quite wonderful. Had a beautiful view of the courtyard. Definitely spring for the breakfast. It is out of this world and the service is fantastic. Hotel is clean. Would return but would look for less expensive alternatives.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotellesHalles, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Les Halles, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Novotel Paris les Halles and for taking the time to share a nice review on TripAdvisor.

I am really glad to see that you enjoyed our central location and our services.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon at the Novotel Paris les Halles.

Best regards,

Julien Donzel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet New Jersey USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed for five days in March 2013 with my wife and two friends. Despite extensive construction in the plaza outside the hotel, it is very convenient to many sites including the Pompidou Center, the Louvre, and the Pont Neuf, which are all within easy wallking distance. Everyone we interacted with were very helpful, with Manuel going out of his way to help us with a taxi, and cabaret and restaurant bookings. One issue concerned the control of the temperature in the room which was too warm for my comfort, despite having the thermostat turned to the least setting for heat. This is a minor complaint, and would recommend this hotel and would stay again on my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zeke421912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotellesHalles, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Les Halles, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Les Halles are going through major renovations and we are doing our best to reduce the noise during the works. However, I am glad to see that despite these works you enjoyed our central location and our services. Furthermore, I have duly noted your comments on the heather in the bedroom and be assured that I will forward them to the concerned service in order to avoid such incident again.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Novotel les Halles.

Best regards,

Julien Donzel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Citadines Les Halles Paris
Citadines Les Halles Paris
#445 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#133 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
L'Empire Paris
L'Empire Paris
#430 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#337 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Les Halles
BEST WESTERN Ducs De Bourgogne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Paris Les Halles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Paris Les Halles

Property: Novotel Paris Les Halles
Address: 8 Place Marguerite de Navarre, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Paris
#237 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#282 Family Hotel in Paris
#325 Business Hotel in Paris
#579 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Paris Les Halles 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Paris Les Halles is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Paris with direct Metro and RER train connections to Charles de Gaulle and Orly airports, the major train stations, Disneyland Paris and major Paris attractions including the Pompidou Centre, the Louvre, Notre Dame and more. The hotel offers 285 rooms, nine meeting rooms for conferences and seminars. Ideal for a business trip or holiday in Paris, the hotel also features a bar, restaurant and a quiet patio to ensure you a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Novotel Paris Les Halles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Paris Les Halles Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Les Halles
Paris Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing