We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paris at your door!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #1,554 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Paris at your door!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

Little did I know what a great location this hotel was when booking... only 5-10 minutes walk from train stations,,Rue de Rivoli, the Louvre and Tuileries gardens.. paris is at your doorstop..
The hotel offers spacious clean room , large bathroom plus balcony views of the street below. Free internet access in the bar and use of their PC is avilable.
The helpful staff/ concierge are able to guide, book any sightseeing required.
Restaurants, coffee shops are numerous in the adjoining streets..Starbucks being only 100 metres away.
Enjoy Paris from this excellant location ,we did!!

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank maureenSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    247
    211
    185
    295
See reviews for
187
336
78
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

This hotel has a fantastic location not far from Louvre, but that is its main feature. It looks as a hotel, which had its prime maybe 50 years ago but since then has not been kept up to date. Our room was very spacious for a Paris hotel room but unfortunately in pretty shabby conditions. The bathroom had missing tiles, and to top it off we did not have hot water in the shower for two days. We complained of course immediately to the reception, but the service was less than acceptable. After three complaints and two days a plummer finally came to our room and fixed it. All in all we will definately be in Paris again, but never at this miserable hotel. We are not sure where they got their 4 stars from.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank websterDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

The Normandy Hotel unfortunately perpetuates the reputation of many Paris hotels; overpriced, shoddy service and outdated facilities. Despite being in a terrific location, in the heart of the 1st, this is one of the worst hotels I have ever attempted to stay in. As a business and leisure traveller to Paris 8-10x/year, I would never recommend this hotel. There is no internet or Wi-fi access in the property. The furniture and fittings are 25+ years old and in terrible shape. This hotel is grim by every definition of the word and should be avoided. It is such a shame because the location is superb and with a total revamp, this could be a terrific hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kowloon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

The hotel is centrally located, being a few minutes' walk from the Musee du Louvre. However, the services the hotel rendered are lousy. Its staff are neither friendly nor helpful to non-French speaking foreigners like us. Not only are the service attitudes of its staff poor but also its conditions and facilities with noisy environment, creaking beds, cracking wooden floor, old furniture and torn curtains. Being a four-star hotel, Normandy does not seem to live up to the four-star standards with inadequate sanitary facilities in the room - no tooth brush, no toothpaste, no comb, no shower cap, no drinking glasses and no kettle not to mention complimentary distilled water. They could not even provide an electricity adapter when I approached them with such a request. Funny enough, they even put up staff who does not speak a word of English to man the hotel reception - a mockery of the French hospitality industry.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TownsonKowloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

I stayed there for only one night. The size of the room is ok and the location of the hotel cannot complain. Having said that there is no internet access in the room, in compare to other smaller hotels I stayed in Nice and Bordeaux, all rooms have free internet in the room. Instead the concierge asked me to use the computer in the lobby if I need to access the internet. The hotel is really quite old, I could hear squeaking sound when I walked inside the room. I read the comments after booking the hotel, fully aware of the service there is not great. I spent minimal time in the room and avoid having to interact with the service team there. Unfortunately, when we tried to book the airport shuttle bus at the hotel reception, the experience was not pleasant. We asked the reception to book us the airport shuttle bus for 8 am. The gentleman just wrote down our names in his book and when I asked if the booking was confirmed. He tried to look for the shuttle bus phone number to call to find there was none. I heard him speaking in French to his manager and the manager said it was not possible to find the phone number and that was it. Quite unbelievable to have this type of service for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisytheFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA, MA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

I was at this hotel with an Elderhostel (now Exploritas) group in July 2009 and was very concerned by the comments people made about this hotel, but I trusted Elderhostel. I was right to trust them. I've been to Paris many times and large is not a word used for rooms in France, we the Normandy has large rooms and large bathrooms by French standard. The room was clean and I had no problems. You could tell this was a historic hotel, the furniture was not modern, but everything was in working order and clean. the Value for what we paid for the trip was great. The best part of this hotel is the Location! You can't get much better in Paris.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IntTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHicago
Level Contributor
149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

I wanted to stay near the Louvre, so this seemed like a good choice. Very wrong. Briefly, the staff was the worst. Not in the least helpful, especially when I needed some help straightening out a credit card issue. The room, a single and expectedly small, was even smaller, less clean and falling apart than I expected. I am very much a 'roll with the punches' kind of guy when traveling internationally, but this was just more than my tolerance allowed for. Greatly in need of renovation and an attitude adjustment. This is a 2 star hotel, at best.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankieFile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Montpensier
Montpensier
#868 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Lumen
Hotel Lumen
#294 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
#1,330 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
#814 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Duminy Vendome
Duminy Vendome
#365 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Property: Normandy Hotel
Address: 7 rue de l Echelle, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#477 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Normandy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing