We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent”
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #1,056 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed June 9, 2014

For the price and the location I paid, I cant really complain. Def an older hotel, shower situation was weird in my room, but maybe thats just Europe? Hotel had no electricity one night (as did the whole block) but due no lights/ candles I was unable to get to my room, so everyone was hanging out in the lobby. Staff was ok, front desk guy was not very helpful in helping me contact the airline to try and find my luggage. But it was close to everything and I barely spent any time in my room, so it was good enough for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilymeschelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your time spent in writing a little word about your last stay with us.

As we can read, you manage to take full advantage of our location to enjoy the many Paris points of interest.

We will be glad to welcome you on your next visit in Paris.

With regards.

The Normandy Hotel Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

Don’t be misled!
Rather unfriendly staff. The bag trolley, only one, was too big for the lift but no offer of help came. What we saw in the photo’s for the bedrooms looked great, nice and romantic in our style. What we got was a basic cream room, rather threadbare. It looked like it was in need of a face lift. On the whole all of the hotel needed a face lift, bedroom door looked like it was from the day the hotel was built, battered and bruised. Windows were the style we love, opening onto a Juliet balcony, but they haven’t been cleaned for years. Road noise came through the single pane of glass. Yes I know it was the centre of Paris but double glazing was needed. Oh and again another hotel where the curtains didn’t hang right always leaving a gap for daylight to come through. The chair provided had come apart my darling wife nearly fell off. The furniture was inadequate for a couple to stay there for a few days and very poor quality. Breakfast seemed expensive but walking around Paris and trying to eat for the same amount was a challenge. In effect the variety on offer was below par, but if you liked what was on offer then you got plenty.

Room Tip: Be specific to get what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stanislaw Romek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsDeParis, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment.

We are sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay in Normandy Hotel because of some difficulties encountered. We promise you that all your remarks will be taking into consideration in order to improve our service.

However, our hotel benefits of an ideal location in Paris, near to all tourist interests. It is a high quality to visit peacefully the city.

Faithfully,

The Normandy Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel in UK terms would probably make a nice feature for an episode of Hotel Inspectors or Holidays from hell. In terms of four star rating, how it can be given or keep such rating beggars belief: holes in thread-bare carpet, representing tripping hazard on edges of stairs. Peeling dingy paint everywhere. Strange holes around locks on the doors, not closing doors to the bathrooms. And bathroom strangely arranged affair over two levels with unmarked step just behind the door, likely to send you head first for the toilet. Net curtains yellow and stiff with dust. Uncomfortable cheap beds with visible metal springs underneath a sheet and a feel of having carried too much weight too many nights. Staff? Unfriendly, Unhelpful. When we asked for an exchange of a room concierge 'helpfully' suggested change a hotel.
Unless you wish to waste your money, please do not book. They have a bizzare cancellation policy, can do it in the evening and it is too late in the morning. Daylight robbery, and you are really left seeing stars, not sure if only four.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cnicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your precious comment. We are keeping good note of your feedback and will address your remark to the relevant department to improve our service quality.

All the hotel team is working hard to maintain and address each challenge that offers this hotel full of history.

I would like to invite you to contact us directly if you wish to discuss the few points where we have missed your expectation.

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations.

With Kind regards,

The Room Division Manager of the Normandy Hotel Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for four nights. The location was excellent, right in the center next to the Louvre museum. The staff are a bit snobby, but that is normal in Paris somehow (I travel to Paris at least 10 week per year and stay at different hotels).

The bad part is the hotel/room. No functional air conditioning(staff refused to help), the room was filthy, the ceiling was brown, the carpet was full of stains, the bathroom was reasonably clean but in dire need of maintenance (tiles came of the wall).

The bed was really short (180cm) but at least it was clean.

I won't be coming back to this hotel, I hardly slept during my stay that week.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FatalZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear customer,

Your feedback is very valuable to us in order to improve our quality of service.

We are sorry to hear that your stay at the Normandy did not meet your expectation and will insure to assist each point you have mention.

I look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.

With kind regards,

The Room Division Manager of the Normandy Hotel Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. Slightly faded grandeur in the bedroom and bathroom, but we liked it, and it did not detract from our enjoyment. All the staff were magnificent. Breakfasts were splendid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
2  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Ian,

Many thanks for your kind comment about your stay at Normandy Hotel in Paris. Service is one of our priority and it is a pleasure to read that our team has delivered a high quality of service and we would like to thank you for mentioning it.

It would be an honor to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Normandy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I was taken by the hotel's location and allegedly 4 star rating. The location is great, but the hotel is in disrepair. The lobby and stairway carpeting is old and worn. The door to our room was fractured as if someone had broken in, with little sense of safety. The room accommodations were worn and old. The TV was small, without CNN. The minibar was empty. The bathroom, while ample, had a vide without faucets, inoperational. The sinks had faucets worn by abrasive cleaners. Tiles were cracked. The large window to the the side street was old with chipping paint. I wonder who rates the stars in France, they need to look at thsi hotel and rate it again! Very dissappointing.
http://www.hotel-normandy.com/fr/page/accueil.4.html

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Manuel,

Thank you very much for your time in writing your feedback from your last stay with us.

Guest feedbacks are valuable to us to improve and make the Normandy hotel a hassle free place.

We are continuously assisting the hotel on light refurbishment to make it a better place day after day.

Best regards.

The Normandy Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Great location, perfect for Fashion Week. Staff very attentive to the Fashion crowd. Bed was very comfortable and can get all the major US news channels as well. Book early to get a good price and act more European than American. It goes a long way.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review about your stay, thank you!

We also would like to thank you for choosing our property. It is a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed the hotel and your stay.

We are also very pleased to know that you liked your room and we have well-noted your remark concerning the location.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back very soon.

With our best regards,

Normandy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
#1,231 of 1,809 in Paris
454 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre
Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre
#339 of 1,809 in Paris
722 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
#855 of 1,809 in Paris
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
#688 of 1,809 in Paris
552 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Timhotel Le Louvre
Timhotel Le Louvre
#1,085 of 1,809 in Paris
837 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Montpensier
Montpensier
#894 of 1,809 in Paris
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Address: Rue de l'echelle, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#466 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $114 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Normandy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing