We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent location, don't expect to be wowed by rooms.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #1,557 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent location, don't expect to be wowed by rooms.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in 2008 and had a room with a view of rue Ste Honare and the top of the Eiffel Tower in the distance. This time we were on an interior courtyard with no view. The hotel is older, so don't expect the Ritz. It is clean and the staff are helpful. We had no wifi access in our room and no AC. My parents' room did have AC. Being on an interior courtyard helped with the heat and we asked for a fan, slept with the windows open and were fine, even though it was in the upper 80's F (27 C).
You CANNOT beat the location for the price. Walking distance to 3 different metro stops, the louvre, Tuileries, cafes and a grocery store (Monoprix- closed n Sundays).

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenniferA6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    228
    193
    176
    280
See reviews for
172
313
72
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

old, daggy, the only good thing about this hotel is its location...staff is actually fairly friendly but rooms are absolutely atrocious...I paid EUR200 per night for a single bedroom 1970s style with only light bulb still functional and a bathroom my grandmother would have refused to use...Value for money, this is possibly one of the worst possible deal in Paris...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My friend and I had booked a package holiday that included a stay in this hotel early June. After booking we learned of the bad reviews the hotel had gotten on sites like for instance this one and tried to change the booking but it was too late. We got to Paris armed with a strong sense of humour and expected the worst, but luckily it wasn't terrible. We did not get the 4* comfort that we had paid for, but it wasn't a nightmare either. In short, here's the pros and cons:


Cons:
- this is not a 4* hotel, by any means. It's a fine 2*, 3* at a stretch, but not 4*
- everything in the hotel is old and a bit shabby
- the breakfast buffet isn't fantastic, it's mediocre
- the rooms are not big
- wifi doesn't work outside the lobby


Pros:
- everything in our room was clean
- the bathrooms were all also nice and clean
- staff (front desk as well as everyone else) was friendly and courteous and helpful
- the location is absolutely unbeatable


In short: do *not* expect anything 4*. Expect a nice 2* and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, stay on the top (6th) floor. You'll have your own little balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTWTicket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The advantage to this hotel was it was close to where both of my tours started, less than three blocks for both. Breakfast was good. Clean room. TV stations had a couple of English channels. Hotel staff was very helpful and spoke good English. Had a room that was facing the center of the hotel so it was quiet.

The only bad thing was that the bathroom had a tub only. No shower. It made it interesting getting in an out of the tub with a bad knee.

Over all, I'd stay there again but only ask for a room with a shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the center of the property. No street noise that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuffley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very central location walking distance to most sights. Comfortable bed, clean sheets and bathroom with hotwater. Friendly reception staff. Is in need of a refurb but we came to Paris to see the sights not to stay in the room ! Good breakfast would stay there again next time in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojof66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Tired and run down in desperate need of refurbishment. The bathroom had dirty broken tiles, noisy antiquated plumbing that rumbled through the night. The room was in a terrible state of repair with broken furniture and torn wallpaper, it was also dirty. To cap it all the WiFi did not work at all. Avoid!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I read the earlier reviews and was concerned as to the hotel that I had booked. However, upon arrival my wife and I were met by a charming and helpful receptionist. we were made to feel very welcome. We were pleasantly surprised by the reception area.
Our room was clearly in need of a coat of paint but comfortable with a good sized bathroom.
We did not go to Paris to sit in a hotel. This hotel is superbly located for all major attractions especially the Louvre.
If we had wanted to stay in the hotel for a four day break we would have looked for a five star.
If you are going to this hotel then do not be unduly concerned by the negative reviews. enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
#1,385 of 1,812 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Lumen
Hotel Lumen
#398 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#137 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Duminy Vendome
Duminy Vendome
#328 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Montpensier
Montpensier
#764 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Property: Normandy Hotel
Address: 7 rue de l Echelle, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#459 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Normandy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing