We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #1,503 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Affordable 4 star hotel in the very centre of Paris.
Great spacious room and large bathroom with tub. Free of charge WIFI in the room is a big plus.
A charming feature in our room was the stairs inside our room, going half a floor down to the actual room. We arrived late in the evening and almost had a flying start - down the stairs...
The hall ways and interior is somewhat worn out and the wallpaper is definately from seventy-something, but the beds are comfortable and the staff is smiling and helpfull and the location is superb.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NubbieDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    253
    212
    187
    296
See reviews for
192
338
80
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bandon oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here 20 years ago and this was a fine hotel. They changed the entrance and did not keep up with maintenance what a pity. Super location. Hot water not always there ,maid was good,and rooms are large. Owners of this hotel need to either sell this or fix it up. At least paint and replace some carpet.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
235 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This should be a great hotel as the location is great and the building has all the qualities of a luxury hotel. It is a great pity that it is totally run down and when I say totally, I really mean it. the carpets are worn, the paint is cracking and so on. I had been given a "renovated" room. It may have been renovated, but certainly not in recent history. Staff is tired and beaten. Finally, and probably the worse, the bathroom was not only old but dirty with grouting black from fungus. There is no wifi in the rooms and the breakfast room is gloomy. To be avoided until the (new) owners invest in a real renovation. Then, it can become a great hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you are visiting the Louvre or attractions in that area it is the best combination of location and value you will find. The rooms and carpets are old and need updating, but it is what it is - a reasonable priced hotel (for Paris) that you can walk to everything from. It is not dirty as some have commented, just old and a little worn-looking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaughtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

WARNING!! Please DO NOT go here! Don't waste your precious money.. we are currently awaiting some kind of compensation from Thomas Cook for actually down right lying to us about this being a four star. It's not even a one star!!!! Good location but that's IT. As soon as we walked up to the entrance the glass in the door was smashed, tiles cracked and welcome mat dirty and sodden. Rude staff didn't even greet us. Room was despicable. Dirty carpets, mouldy windows and doors, battered in door lock, non working safe, "mini bar" was an empty fridge, tv tucked behind the worn down wardrobe, shower head left lying in the middle of the bath with nothing to hold it onto the wall and no shower curtain, mouldy sink and bath, hairdryer was from the 1920s, broken toilet seat and cracked tiles around the toilet. Beds were dirty, sheets and towers not changed for the horrible 3 days we had to endure there.
AVOID.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SmudgeT25x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

A lot of people are commenting that this is not a "four star" hotel. However, remember that the star rating describes that available services that a hotel offers and is not a "luxary" ranking.

The hotel is old and the carpets and paint are not in good condition.... But it is not bad. If you would like a basic hotel in a GREAT location... this is it. If you are looking for a romantic hotel full of luxary... This is not the hotel for you.

My room was small but that is normal in Paris. The room was clean and the staff were friendly. If you can get a ggod deal and are only looking for a basic room, I can recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
3 Thank JapanRob
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have never left a bad hotel review, but this has to be the VERY WORST hotel I have ever stayed in. On arrival my husband and I and our travelling companions were given two rooms with beds that could be called slightly larger than single. We managed to be changed to two twin bedded rooms thankfully.

A four star hotel carries certain expectations - namely -

a half decent bed
tea/coffee making facilities
a complimentary bottle of water
a porter to take bags up to the room
a decent breakfast
pleasant surroudings
a certain standard of cleanliness
a mini bar
decent toiletries
a safe which works
a functioning hairdryer

My experience of the Normandy hotel's four star rating included none of the above. Basic requirements I think.

Something's gone sorely wrong here - what can the management be thinking about? The Paris Tourism board must be out of their tiny minds to maintain this hotel as a four star because it needs closing down or new management!

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsCPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Lumen
Hotel Lumen
#369 of 1,798 in Paris
614 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Montpensier
Montpensier
#872 of 1,798 in Paris
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
#1,310 of 1,798 in Paris
367 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Pradey
Le Pradey
#208 of 1,798 in Paris
337 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
#842 of 1,798 in Paris
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Property: Normandy Hotel
Address: 7 rue de l Echelle, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#480 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Normandy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing