We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Ranked #575 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent location, decent hotel”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Being in Paris, we didn't spend a ton of time in the hotel, so this review doesn't include the spa, pool, or restaurant.

We booked the hotel through Priceline, choosing an express deal that guaranteed a 4 star hotel in this area of Paris. It wasn't even listed on Priceline so I had no idea this is what we'd be getting, and after reading reviews here, we were a bit wary and disappointed but the hotel didn't disappoint.

Prior to checking in, we requested that we get a renovated room and we received what I believe was a Superior room. The room was nice, with a queen bed, a flatscreen television, remodeled bathroom, and separate remodeled WC. The bathroom had an electric towel heater, the room had a safe, a sitting area, and a desk, and really high ceilings. In a way, it reminded me of the Palace hotel in San Francisco (which is considered a five-star) but a little more run-down feeling. The room could have used a new coat of paint, and it would have been great. Besides that, the bed was ok in comfort (I wasn't a fan of the pillows, but I like my soft down pillows, and these were foam), and it was clean overall. It really was a pretty good size as I was expecting a tiny room akin to NYC rooms. The rest of the hotel was pretty average. Nothing screamed luxury, but the staff was friendly and everything was clean.

The concierge was really great. Never having been to Paris, but getting recommendations from friends, he was able to book us into two restaurants for dinner before we arrived. We were able to get Louvre and Opera house tickets directly from him, and he gave very helpful advice in terms of visiting museums, and sites in the city. He was even able to call and get us a last minute reservation at Le Jules Verne in the Eiffel tower, which was a once in a lifetime experience. Excellent service and extremely friendly and helpful.

Location was great! Right next to Vendome, across from Jardin de Tuileries, a block away from the Louvre, walking distance to the Opera house, and across the street from the Metro, it really was ideal for us. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to, metro everywhere else, and have shopping right next to us! There were restaurants everywhere, and a bike share stand a minute away. I would recommend this location to anybody visiting Paris, and the number of hotels in the area prove this is the spot to be.

Overall, while it felt closer to 3.5, and not really 4 star as a hotel, the location and concierge service really made this hotel shine. I would come back and stay here again, and really enjoyed our time in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Derek C,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your room facilities and our location in the heart of Paris and walking distance from Louvre, place Vendôme, Opera Garnier, Tuileries Garden and so many fashion shops.

We will not miss to share your review with our concierge team that will be very happy of such nice compliments.

We will be delighted to welcome you again for your next stay so that you can also enjoy our new Spa Deep Nature, the pool and our restaurant.

Best regards

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    635
    322
    204
    148
See reviews for
431
694
70
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Over the course of a week long stay here we were moved into 3 different rooms. It's hard to tell they were even in the same hotel. Our first room was just bizarre with weirdly exposed beams on the floor, partially blocking the bathroom entrance. The AC was out throughout much of the hotel and our room on the top floor was unbearable. Told the front desk and housekeeping about this and they sent 2 standing, noisy and ineffective AC units. A day later we mentioned the problem again and the woman at the front desk berated me for not telling them about the problem earlier because they would have moved us into "a much nicer room". We were still moved and into a nicer room that could have been a different hotel for the night and day difference. This one was nicely appointed and had more closet space. Beyond the convenient location, the saving grace of this hotel was Gael, the concierge, who was extraordinarily helpful. He made the stay much more pleasant by being a pleasure to work with.

Room Tip: Ask to change immediately if you are given a weird room. Nothing in the advertised classification ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkToTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Chessietravels,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and the helpfulness of our concierge Gaël. He was very happy to read your kind comment.

We regret that the first rooms you had were not convenient for you. As in most historical monument, all our rooms have a different layout.
We are delighted that we could find an appropriate room for you.

We hope to see you again when you come back to Paris.

Best regard

The Team Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I go to Paris almost every year and usually stay at one of two hotels on the left bank. Friends of ours love the St James and Albany so we thought we'd give it a try. We were there for nine nights the beginning of May and I think it's become my favorite.

When you first walk in the hotel exudes Parisian charm. The people at the reception and concierge desks were extremely helpful and our room was ready when we arrived. We went up and a bellman brought our bags. They arrived just a few minutes after we did.

Now for the room. We had a superior room. There were three closets. More closet space than I had clothes to fill them. This just doesn't happen in Europe! Our room was quite large, king size bed, seating area with a table and two chairs, desk and chair, flat screen TV and mini bar. There was a separate small toilet room (which I happen to like) and a large bathroom with stall shower, bathtub and large vanity/sink.

The only negative I have is the hot water problem, which really isn't a problem. It takes a few minutes for the water to heat up so you need to turn it on ahead of time. Also, we only had one English speaking TV station and it was Euronews. What happened to CNN and BBC? These stations were listed but didn't work. We don't watch much TV on vacation but do like to keep up with the news while relaxing after a hard day of being a tourist.

We didn't use the pool and spa but took a tour. Looks lovely. Didn't have breakfast at the hotel, but there is a little place two doors away (out the front door and turn right) where you can get good coffee and pastry at a reasonable price.

The location of hotel is so convenient to everything. You can walk anywhere or the metro is directly across the street.

If you want a great room, great location and lots of storage space this is the hotel for you. I'll be back next year and can't wait.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skippy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a " Junior Suite " in April. The staff were very friendly and helpful, all spoke English very well. The location is excellent , you can walk to all major attractions. The rooms are very tired and our Junior Suite consisted of an additional small narrow room with a hard love seat sofa and small chair to view a small TV. The toilet was located away from the main bath and bed area( which was a king size , hard to find in Europe) and thru this small room. Very inconvenient . The main bath was large by European standards and very well appointed, granite counter tops, double sinks , large walk in shower and soaker tub. Carpet needs replacing. If sight seeing is your focus and not luxury surroundings this hotel is great.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on the " Suites "
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphys1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Murphys1977,

Thank you for sharing your experience on trip Advisor.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed our staff attitude, the bedding of room and your bathroom size.

However, we regret that you did not like the layout of your Junior Suite. As in many historical buildings, all our rooms have different layouts.

For your next stay do not hesitate to contact us directly. We are sure we will find a Junior Suite more suitable for you (reservations@saintjamesalbany.com).

Best regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel seems to have never been reformed since the French revolution or so. The ceiling are so low in the rooms that an average-sized woman can touch it with her hands. The whole room seems to be about to fall apart: main door not closing unless slammed (sorry to my neighbours), the towel-holder of the bathroom holding thanks to divine intervention, and the whole thing was not even clean: we found quite a few hair in the bathtub. Only one set of shampoo / soap for 2 people, not enough!
Finally, air conditionning was making such a noise that it was able to cover the noise coming from the street, but could definitely not allow you to sleep. I wonder how people manage it july-august....
I would not even pay 80€ for such a room, and not gave this hotel more than 2 stars. Probably no inspection has been done sine 60 years.
Apart from that, breakfast was nice, personnel was alright. The location is perfect and that's probably why they dare to charge so much!

Room Tip: I dunno if there are good rooms in this hotel. I would avoid the hotel all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Floryflory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Floryflory,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, all comments are important and help us to improve the quality of our service.

First of all, be ensured that our last inspection was in 2012 and we obtained the accreditation of our 4 stars with the European standards.

We would be very grateful if you could contact us ( secretaire.direction@saintjamesalbany.com) in order to investigate and provide detailed explanation.

We regret that your stay did not match to your expectations and we would like you to give us the opportunity to have a more enjoyable stay in the future.

Please feel free to contact us.

Best regards

The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Early in the morning of April 28th we were trying to find an obscure address in Paris. It was our great good fortune that Oman was working at the front desk of the Saint James Albany Hotel. He was exceptionally courteous, well informed and helpful. He check web sites and maps and made several call for us. We were very impressed with him and the Saint James Hotel and look forward to staying there in future. In addition to people like Oman the hotel is beautiful and has a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Truly a great experience. I wouldn't pay full price for the room but our rate was $200, more than 75% off the normal rate of $880(€640)....We got through tripadvisor/Travelocity. The room was a little noisy from others passing in the hall, but our 2 level junior suite was charming. It could have easily slept 5. The bathrooms were not well appointed for a 4 star, but the entry was nice. The place looked like it was once a grand hotel but had changed and was not kept up to its original grandeur. They staff was amazing, they spoke English and were very courteous. I would definitely recommend it again due to the rate we got and it is only a 10 minute walk to the Louvre Museum and it's centrally located. Overall it was more than expected for a $200 a night room in a great part of Paris

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pumpkinmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Pradey
Le Pradey
#349 of 1,802 in Paris
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#221 of 1,802 in Paris
744 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Duminy Vendome
Duminy Vendome
#387 of 1,802 in Paris
470 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#104 of 1,802 in Paris
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa

Property: Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Address: 202 rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Clarion Saint-James & Albany)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Spa Hotel in Paris
#328 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#504 Family Hotel in Paris
#605 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, member of Great Hotels of the World and the chain Les Hotels France Patrimoine, Saint James & Albany Hotel-Spa offers 194 rooms and suites in a XVIIth century Establishment. Mainly overlooking inner garden and courtyards, this 4 stars Hotel is a real haven of peace in the centre of the French capital. Thanks to its first bio Parisian SPA**** and its wonderful indoor pool, the atmosphere of this Hotel is very relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James & Albany Hotel Paris
Saint James And Albany Hotel-Spa
Clarion Paris
Saint James & Albany Hotel Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing