We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold shower and poor service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Ranked #549 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cold shower and poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed for our wedding anniversary in November.

When we arrived on the Friday night we were put in room 216. There was no hot water. AS we went out we left this and assumed it was just an issue with the boiler filling up for the morning. In the morning it was still cold and when we reported this to the desk we were told they knew the problem immediately because of the room we were in! Why give us a room where there was no boiler working. They had an opportunity to redeem themselves when I checked out on 1st Dec (we were given a knew room once we moaned about the issue) but there was no offer of a discount or apology. Will never use this again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

This is always very important for us to have your feedback after your stay at the Saint James Albany Hotel Spa.

We paid a great attention to your reviews and sincerely apologize about the situation you had to face in room 216.
Further our Email to you on Tuesday 3rd December 2013, we would like to reiterate our offer of a complimentary gesture.

We actually had an issue with the hot water distribution system during the week-end affecting different rooms like the 216 and we deeply regret it and we are really sorry you experienced a bad stay with us.

We do hope that you will leave us another opportunity to show you that this stay was an exception and that we will do everything to refine your next stay at the Saint James Albany Hotel Spa.

With Kind Regards,

The Direction Management & Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    615
    310
    201
    143
See reviews for
419
675
65
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

A friend and I booked this hotel as our last night in Paris, in hopes for a great hotel experience, as a "splurge" to end our trip in Europe. However, our stay was quite disappointing to all of our other hotels during our stay in other hotels in Paris and Bruges.

When we first arrived to check in, the process was very abrupt, and not very welcoming... (our first hotel in Paris was a complete different experience and staff were super friendly) and as a previous poster wrote, no one had offered to take us to our rooms and show/explain the amenities, as the norm in all the other hotels we've stayed in Europe in this trip, and other trips before. Our bags arrived more than 20 minutes later after we checked-into our room, and this is after we made a call to the reception. Hmm.

Now the room..

I have to admit that I didn't know that St James & Albany were renovating some of the rooms, and unfortunately, we got assigned to the "older" rooms. Apparently they were also full that night, so they weren't able to change us to a better room.

The toilet was awkwardly separated from the sink/shower/bathtub area, and it was very tiny, with faded paint on the wall, and a somewhat rusted basic mirror. Other than that, our soap on the sink was already opened (!!) and some of the wrappers were found on the ground. The impression we got from this night was that St James was old, sloppy, and... overall not an enjoyable stay.

We did end up talking to the person in charge that night at the reception, and voiced our thoughts, and he reassured us that he would check with housekeeping, but that was it. Since they were fully booked that night, there wasn't really anything they could've done.

Paris was wonderful, but our last night in the city was certainly not the highlight!

On a lighter note - the lobby and dining area were beautiful.. as per the pictures. But if you are keen on staying in beautiful rooms - I would recommend asking for the "new rooms only", and make sure that you inspect the cleansiness in the washroom!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for "new rooms".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuCHICHICHIa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments left on Tripadvisor.

We have well noted your different notifications and we genuinely apologize that you experienced a bad stay at the Saint James Albany Hotel Spa.

In regards with your comments on your room, could you please be so kind to send us by Email your reservation names and dates of stay? (Email address: secretaire.direction@saintjamesalbany.com)

Indeed, we would like the Housekeeping Department to take prompt actions.

Then, we passed on the message to the Front Office Manager that our team has to be more welcoming. This is not acceptable and there will be a retraining.
We sincerely wish that our guests enjoy their stay in our hotel. That is why, we are really sorry that your experience was not as expected.

Be assured, dear Guest, that all your comments have really been considered in details with the General Management and the Departments and this in order to improve our quality of service.

I hope that you will leave us another opportunity to show you that this stay was an exception and that we will do everything to refine a future stay at the Saint James Albany Hotel Spa.

We send you our Season's Greetings
With Kind Regards,
The Direction Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kent, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spent a long weekend at the St James Albany and this was our 2nd visit.
This time we opted for a Junior Suite and were not disappointed. The room was excellent and very comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. Good breakfast, bar and restaurant.
We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was excellent and good value
The hotel was good value for money and as other reviewers have said cannot be beaten for location - a short stroll to the Christmas market on the Champs Elysee
The only reason for not giving it the full 5 is that the rooms are a little dated (but very clean) and there was a slight smell form the shower drain.
All in all very good value and highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_CKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Mike,

Many thanks for your review on Tripadvisor!

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed this second stay at the Saint James Albany & Spa.

We will share your comments with our teams and forward your message for the room with Housekeeping department.

We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you once again. Perhaps for another weekend, where you can enjoy our have musical nights at the Bar (either a Jazz singer or a Pop Singer) and our Brunch on Saturdays or Sundays!

We wish you a very nice End of Year break!

With Kind Regards,
The Direction Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Got an amazing deal by booking direct with the hotel. Booked two suites for two nights for less than the rate of one suite for one night. Great location near Louvre and D'Orsay. 5 minutes walk to Place Vendome and designer boutiques. 10 Minutes to Champs Elysee. Great breakfast and have no hesitation in recommending. Rooms a little dated but spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: We had junior duplex suite overlooking courtyard and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Sara B,

We thank you for leaving your impressions on trip Advisor.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Saint James Albany, your room and our generous breakfast.
We will share your comment with the team who will be delighted to read such a nice review which is always a source of motivation to improve their quality of service.

We will be delighted to welcome you in the future. We suggest you to come for the New Year and try our special New Year Eve Menu from 75€ (you can view it on our website in the restaurant section).

Best regards

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

On the positive – The hotel is located at the heart of Paris city; just a walking distance from Louvre museum. Tourist shops, roadside restaurants (or brasserie – a type of French restaurant with a relaxed setting, which serves single dishes and other meals), metro rail etc are so conveniently located that it leaves no one searching. St. James has a lobby and restaurant that are gracious. The courtyard is very pleasant place to sit. Unfortunately the nice things I can state about this hotel ends here.



On the negative - The website of this hotel is misleading. If one expects to see a wonderful park by the Louvre – it’s just a row of shops on the other side of a busy road. The rooms left something to be desired. They were sparse to say the least. If the room I had was a superior room i'd dread to see a standard room. There was a separate toilet to the bathroom (often very useful) but only because both rooms were tiny and to sit on the toilet i had to sit at an angle because the sink was oddly fitted. The view was of a pipe and a wall. The staff was not-so-friendly and expectedly did not help with my room selection and offered nothing as an alternative. No one offered to even take our bags to the room.



And most importantly to add to the appalling level of service and quality of this hotel, it costs about EUR 350++. I arrived at 8 am and had to wait till 3 pm for my check-in !!!! Despite intimating them well in advance I reckon they claim the hotel is full and do not even offer a temporary room to let you freshen-up.



I am certain that there are many others that are more economical and will leave one with a good feeling.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shankarramkrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear shankarramkrishnan,

Thank you for sharing your experience on trip advisor.
We are pleased that you liked our lobby, our restaurant and our inner courtyards.

Besides, we are sorry that your room did not fully match your expectations. If the team always try to propose an alternative when our guests do not like their room but it is sometimes very difficult when the hotel is fullybooked. In that case it is also difficult to provide rooms to early checkin and this is the reason why we never promise it. The only way to guarantee a room early in the morning is to pay the night before so it can be available in the morning.
We are very concerned about the fact that no one offered to take your bags to the room as our porters are normally present permanently. We apologize for that and we will check this issue as this is not the type of service we want to provide to our guest.

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel.

Best regards

The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The location of this hotel could not be better, it literally has Paris is on its doorstep and to explore further afield there is a metro just over the road. The service was fantastic, room was a great size and the bed was incredibly comfy. I absolutely recommend this hotel as the perfect base to explore beautiful Paris.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeyhkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear joeyhkn,

We thank you for taking the time to leave your experience on trip advisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our location, your room comfort and the quality of our service.

We have shared your comments with all the team who was very happy. It is a great source of motivation and helps them to continue their effort to improve every day.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

We advise you to come on a Friday to enjoy our Musical Evenings in our bar.

Best regards

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I'm not sure what hotel these negative reviews are referring to, but our recent 5 night stay was fantastic ! We had two rooms next to each other...modern, clean and comfortable. Room service was quick and continental breakfast in my room was generous and delicious. Our dealings with the staff were gracious and friendly. Maybe you get the treatment you give, but I have nothing but compliments for this lovely, well located hotel. I got a great price and felt we received maximum value. I'll absolutely be back. By the way our wifi worked great and we had plenty of hot water ...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindaMaineUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear lindaMainUsa,

We thank you for leaving your impressions on trip Advisor.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Saint James Albany, especially for the comfort of your room, our generous breakfast and the courtesy of our staff.

We will share your comment with the team who will be delighted to read such a nice review which is always a source of motivation to improve their quality of service.

We will be delighted to welcome you in the future.

Best regards

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Pradey
Le Pradey
#227 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#167 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mayfair Paris
Hotel Mayfair Paris
#468 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Square Louvois
Hotel Square Louvois
#14 of 1,794 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa

Property: Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Address: 202 rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Clarion Saint-James & Albany)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Spa Hotel in Paris
#307 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#505 Family Hotel in Paris
#606 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, member of Great Hotels of the World and the chain Les Hotels France Patrimoine, Saint James & Albany Hotel-Spa offers 194 rooms and suites in a XVIIth century Establishment. Mainly overlooking inner garden and courtyards, this 4 stars Hotel is a real haven of peace in the centre of the French capital. Thanks to its first bio Parisian SPA**** and its wonderful indoor pool, the atmosphere of this Hotel is very relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Fastbooking, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James And Albany Hotel-Spa
Saint James & Albany Hotel Paris
Clarion Paris
Saint James & Albany Hotel Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing