We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Ranked #548 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“well over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

From the photo on the website you expect something wonderful in the park by the louvre, but no, it is in a row of shops on the other side of a busy road to the museum.
If the room we had was a superior room i'd hate to see a standard room. There was a seperate toilet to the bathroom (often very useful) but only because both rooms were tiny and to sit on the toilet i had to sit at an angle because the sink was in the way.
Staff were very rude. Noone offered to even take our bags to the room let alone show us to it, which for the price we paid would be normal in any decent hotel in London. On returning to the hotel after the first night out i said bon soir to the receptionist who just looked at me like i shouldn't be speaking to her. I also went to the restaurant 1 afternoon to request the loan of a knife for some cheeses we had bought to eat in our room and again was looked at as if i was some sort of criminal, i was eventually given a knife but very grudgingly.
The only thing going for this hotel is the location with its close proximity to the city centre and a metro station opposite, but for this price i wished for so much more.
I HAVE STAYED IN THE SAVOY FOR THE SAME PRICE

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank didley1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear didley1968,

Thank you for leaving your impressions on Trip Advisor.

We apologize for the lapses you encountered during your stay. This is definitely not the experience we intend to provide to our guest.

Be assured that our quality of service is our first priority and we will put an extra effort in training our team in order to avoid such inconvenience in the future.

Best Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    625
    314
    201
    145
See reviews for
427
680
68
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This was the first hotel I have stayed in Paris. Location is excellent and the hotel lobby and public areas are really beautiful. The bedrooms are fairly plain, although from what I read, that is quite typical of Paris. Toilet plumbing wasn't the best and air con was useless, but bathroom was a nice size and room was quiet. On check-in, they made a mistake saying we booked a room without breakfast but did resolve it eventually. They did not provide wi-fi codes on check-in automatically, so ask for those if you need it. Welcome screen on TV was in German when I am English and the only English TV channel was CNN - fine if sightseeing and not spending time in room but limiting if on business alone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Keznyc,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, the size of our bathroom and the quietness of your room.
We sincerely apologize for not having totally matched with your expectations.
We have taken good note of all your remarks and will definitely share them with our team in order to avoid such issues in the future.

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel.

Best Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Location is grate !! but only that...
external a fantastic old building with nice public areas! that is....!!
Problems with the wi-fi (free) every day disconnected!!
Service was slow...
Rooms problems..like..5 minutebath faucet to come hot water.....
Airconditioning Panel doesn't work!
Copy machine of the Hotel "out of order"
Use of business center 7 euros per 15' minutes! but 1 hour for 13 euros..

Room Tip: rooms as small...so choose a standard at least....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrxathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear mrxathens,

Thank you for leaving your impressions on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, Historical building and public areas.
We sincerely apologize that you have been face to technical issues.
The Wi-fi and copy machine problems we encountered last week are now fully solved.

We have taken good note of all your remarks and will definitely share them with our Maintenance team in order to improve the quality of facilities.

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel under better circumstances.

Best Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at Saint-James & Albany Hotel for a week during the heat wave. We had very little sleep as the rooms were very hot and it was very noisey if we opened the windows as we were on a side street. (May be a thought to add some airconditioners in the bedrooms!) A great location with plenty of shop all around the area. A lovely park opposite for walks. The staff very helpful with our needs. The outdoor dining was lovely and breakfasts good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank othercontributions77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Hotel is located overlooking the Tuyleries and in walking distance of so many of Paris's iconic landmarks. The presentation of the Hotel was splendid. The entrance hall and other public areas were very stylish and smart. The reception staff were efficient and friendly and our room was available when we arrived early.
The room was a junior suite, on the fourth floor, on two levels to accommodate 3 people. It overlooked the courtyard and was very quiet. The beds and the sofa bed were comfortable and the bathroom was generous. It was our fifth visit to Paris and this was largest room we have ever had.
On the negative side the corridors and the carpets were a little tired and stained. We also found that the room smelled of cooking fat when we returned after a day out, but this went away when we opened the windows. The breakfast rates were pricey so we chose to eat elsewhere, as there were lots of nice restaurants in the vicinity. The lack of tea making facilities was irritating and bottled water should be provided at this price and standard of Hotel. The free WyFy continually fell out, which was very frustrating.

Even at a discounted rate, we felt that this Hotel was expensive

Room Tip: Overlooking the central courtyard was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickym830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Vicky,
Thank you for having taken the time to leave a comment about your stay at the Saint James Albany.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Paris.

However, we have taken good note of your remarks. Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupations. Thank you for your understanding and for helping us improve the quality of our service.

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel.

Best Regards,

The General Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
88 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at the Saint James Albany yesterday evening for the second time. It is the fashion week in Paris so unfortunately, I couldn't go to me favourite hotel.
I stayed there already 1 year ago and I was a bit disappointed. My opinion didn't change.
The location is amazing and the building could be beautiful. But the complete hotel seems to be a "could be". My room could be very nice: big, quiet ... but old, with stains on the carpet, lights not working, no "do not disturb" sign. I asked to have an iron and an ironing table but none was available. The breakfast buffet is presented in a "cheap" way, even thought it is good.
It could be an amazing place, it is just a standard Parisian 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FredK1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

We do apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory.

Your feedback was shared with our team and we are doing our best to always improve the quality of our service.

Kind Regards,
The General Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at Saint James & Albany with a friend while she was on business trip, the standard room was over 300 Euros a night. The hotel lobby and garden area look comfortable and nice. We stayed at top floor (6th) with hotel court view. The room was a "penthouse" style, without the standard of 4 stars hotel. The room was very dark even we had all the lights on. Internet (wifi) was not working at room; hair dryer was broken; no coffee maker; no bottle water at room; bedside lamp was broken. Called the hotel to check on the broken facilities but he said the housekeeper was off (around 10pm) couln't replace a new one for us. Water was running outisde of the shower even there was a glass blind (without a door), the bathroom floor was wet after we took shower.
The best thing of thie hotel is the location. Locate right cross the street of Tuileries Metro station, walking distance to many Paris main attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigpawbasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to leave a comment about our hotel.

Please do accept our most sincere apologies for not having met your expectations.

We have taken good note of your remarks concerning your room : I will definitely share your remarks with our Engineering Team in order to avoid such issues in the future.

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel under better circumstances.
Best Regards,
The General Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Pradey
Le Pradey
#291 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#178 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#108 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Lumen
Hotel Lumen
#391 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa

Property: Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Address: 202 rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Clarion Saint-James & Albany)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Spa Hotel in Paris
#312 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#504 Family Hotel in Paris
#605 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, member of Great Hotels of the World and the chain Les Hotels France Patrimoine, Saint James & Albany Hotel-Spa offers 194 rooms and suites in a XVIIth century Establishment. Mainly overlooking inner garden and courtyards, this 4 stars Hotel is a real haven of peace in the centre of the French capital. Thanks to its first bio Parisian SPA**** and its wonderful indoor pool, the atmosphere of this Hotel is very relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James And Albany Hotel-Spa
Saint James & Albany Hotel Paris
Clarion Paris
Saint James & Albany Hotel Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing