We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Ranked #581 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel location is what makes it a great holiday hotel. Just a couple of minutes from the Louvre and Place Vendome. Walking distance from the Opera and Champs Élysées.

We stayed in a Superior room, comfortable and spacious. The only thing is that not all rooms have a nice view (or a view at all). The hotel would benefit from a renovation. But otherwise, everything was fine.

There are also good transport links nearby.

I would reccommend this hotel for couples or friends travelling together.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koush_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    644
    329
    209
    149
See reviews for
448
703
74
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Overlooking the courtyard
We were put on top floor with a tiny window overlooking the roofs
Large room
On complaining we were told they would move us the next day
To the 2nd floor
It overlooked the garden but was shabby, peeling wallpaper and a step that we both missed in the night
this was not even 3 * accomadation
Staff were unfriendly and couldn't care
Take it or leave it attitude
No manager bothered to speak with us
Breakfast was good
Definately would not recomend

Room Tip: Don't believe what you see advertised on the internet It is not true
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Sherryl B,

Thank you for leaving your review on trip advisor.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our breakfast.
But, we feel sorry that you stay did not match you expectations despite your room change.
We have taken all of your comments very seriously and will put an additional effort in training our staff.
We inform you that at this stage, more than 70% of our rooms have been renovated and that we are carrying on this effort.

Feel free to contact us (secretaire.direction@saintjamesalbany.com) for any additional information regarding your stay.

Again we apologize for your dissatisfaction.

Best regards

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The St. James & Albany Hotel is a gem of a hotel that just needs some polishing to reach the next level. When marking my star ratings (overall and each sub-category) I kept finding myself wanting to click 5-stars but then pausing when I thought of this or that minor negative.

For example, the gentlemen that greeted us during check-in was pleasant, professional and welcoming. But then our interactions with other staff members (at the front desk and at the spa/pool) would best be described as off-putting. The rooms were certainly very clean, but the carpets are old and had un-removable stains from years past. There were ongoing renovations so some of the areas of the hotel were sparkling and new, while others were in desperate need of attention.

When this gem is done being polished it will most likely be world class, especially considering its location… just across from Musée du Louvre.

Note on my value rating: I scored a special rate when I booked. The fee was non-refundable but it was also about 40% off the normal rate.

Room Tip: Aim for a suite duplex with windows facing the courtyard (pictured).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zerolex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

To be fair, our last visit was about six years ago. That said, we lived in Switzerland for a couple of years (mid-90s) and went to Paris every five or six weeks... we always stayed here! Six years ago we went back to Paris after a 10-year absence and payed to stay here even though we could have stayed on points at any Marriott in Paris. It will always have a special place in our hearts. The location is perfect, between the Lourve and the Arc. The courtyard is very special and I look forward to visiting the spa. Very romantic for a couple, and the junior suite was perfect for a couple +1. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had booked this hotel and was told some horror stories about it. It was therefore a nice surprise when we arrived. Nice reception area you can see it's just been re done - friendly staff who took us to show us where things were etc. We had booked a suite again I had heard about room sizes being very small - we had a lovey suite on the 6th floor - you can see the carpets & wallpaper etc a bit jaded but clean, lovely king sized bed with clean linen, new bathroom & separate toilet, sitting room again an older couch but comfortable and clean, two TV's one in each room, bar fridge small dining table etc. The hotel is busy being upgraded but we were never disturbed by the workmen. The hotel is situated a stones throw from the Louvre and Tuileries Gardens across the road. Definitely a big plus is the area as it is convenient for transport and other sights. A lot of the "cheap & Cheerful" shops selling the usual key rings & tee shirts around the hotel but other than that no problems. They have a lovely spa and pool which was great after a long days sightseeing to relax in. WiFi available in rooms and in one of the many lounges. Good breakfast which we had included in our package thankfully as it was E22 per person but a good variety of hot and cold food. Definitely highly recommend it as a good hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and upgrade to a suite - ours was looking into the courtyard but it was quiet etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella4338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My experience and Saint-James Albany was a good one. I stayed at this hotel two nights and everything was great. The room was comfortable and quite and overlooking the "Jardin des Tuileries". The breakfast was delicious with a good variety of food, the service was very professional and friendly.
I do recommend this hotel and would come back to it.
Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Clement's assistance from your Concierge Desk was excellent! Email from him prior to our arrival was very helpful. Positive attitude always and couldn't do enough to help. Can't praise him enough. Couldn't fault the rest of your frontline staff either. Very good feeling from arrival to departure. Always a welcome and a smile.
Few issues with our Junior Suite room 404, but nothing that can't be resolved and wouldn't keep me from coming back tomorrow. Our room's bathroom had been refurbished already and the water pressure was great, as was the endless supply of hot water. I passed the issues on to the Front Desk when we left, which were well received and appreciated.
The hotel is beautiful throughout, ongoing refurbishment seems well worth the time/money, and the location can't be beat with the Metro right across the street. Whenever we come back to Paris we'll attempt to stay with you.

Room Tip: Contact the Concierge Desk prior to arrival. They can answer any questions, sort transport to and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tasendre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Duminy Vendome
Duminy Vendome
#436 of 1,800 in Paris
483 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Pradey
Le Pradey
#384 of 1,800 in Paris
378 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#218 of 1,800 in Paris
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa

Property: Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Address: 202 rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Clarion Saint-James & Albany)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Spa Hotel in Paris
#334 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#504 Family Hotel in Paris
#605 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, member of Great Hotels of the World and the chain Les Hotels France Patrimoine, Saint James & Albany Hotel-Spa offers 194 rooms and suites in a XVIIth century Establishment. Mainly overlooking inner garden and courtyards, this 4 stars Hotel is a real haven of peace in the centre of the French capital. Thanks to its first bio Parisian SPA**** and its wonderful indoor pool, the atmosphere of this Hotel is very relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James & Albany Hotel Paris
Saint James And Albany Hotel-Spa
Clarion Paris
Saint James & Albany Hotel Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing