We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Precipice of Greatness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Ranked #606 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“On the Precipice of Greatness”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The St. James & Albany Hotel is a gem of a hotel that just needs some polishing to reach the next level. When marking my star ratings (overall and each sub-category) I kept finding myself wanting to click 5-stars but then pausing when I thought of this or that minor negative.

For example, the gentlemen that greeted us during check-in was pleasant, professional and welcoming. But then our interactions with other staff members (at the front desk and at the spa/pool) would best be described as off-putting. The rooms were certainly very clean, but the carpets are old and had un-removable stains from years past. There were ongoing renovations so some of the areas of the hotel were sparkling and new, while others were in desperate need of attention.

When this gem is done being polished it will most likely be world class, especially considering its location… just across from Musée du Louvre.

Note on my value rating: I scored a special rate when I booked. The fee was non-refundable but it was also about 40% off the normal rate.

Room Tip: Aim for a suite duplex with windows facing the courtyard (pictured).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zerolex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    640
    327
    208
    149
See reviews for
438
699
71
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

To be fair, our last visit was about six years ago. That said, we lived in Switzerland for a couple of years (mid-90s) and went to Paris every five or six weeks... we always stayed here! Six years ago we went back to Paris after a 10-year absence and payed to stay here even though we could have stayed on points at any Marriott in Paris. It will always have a special place in our hearts. The location is perfect, between the Lourve and the Arc. The courtyard is very special and I look forward to visiting the spa. Very romantic for a couple, and the junior suite was perfect for a couple +1. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had booked this hotel and was told some horror stories about it. It was therefore a nice surprise when we arrived. Nice reception area you can see it's just been re done - friendly staff who took us to show us where things were etc. We had booked a suite again I had heard about room sizes being very small - we had a lovey suite on the 6th floor - you can see the carpets & wallpaper etc a bit jaded but clean, lovely king sized bed with clean linen, new bathroom & separate toilet, sitting room again an older couch but comfortable and clean, two TV's one in each room, bar fridge small dining table etc. The hotel is busy being upgraded but we were never disturbed by the workmen. The hotel is situated a stones throw from the Louvre and Tuileries Gardens across the road. Definitely a big plus is the area as it is convenient for transport and other sights. A lot of the "cheap & Cheerful" shops selling the usual key rings & tee shirts around the hotel but other than that no problems. They have a lovely spa and pool which was great after a long days sightseeing to relax in. WiFi available in rooms and in one of the many lounges. Good breakfast which we had included in our package thankfully as it was E22 per person but a good variety of hot and cold food. Definitely highly recommend it as a good hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and upgrade to a suite - ours was looking into the courtyard but it was quiet etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella4338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My experience and Saint-James Albany was a good one. I stayed at this hotel two nights and everything was great. The room was comfortable and quite and overlooking the "Jardin des Tuileries". The breakfast was delicious with a good variety of food, the service was very professional and friendly.
I do recommend this hotel and would come back to it.
Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Clement's assistance from your Concierge Desk was excellent! Email from him prior to our arrival was very helpful. Positive attitude always and couldn't do enough to help. Can't praise him enough. Couldn't fault the rest of your frontline staff either. Very good feeling from arrival to departure. Always a welcome and a smile.
Few issues with our Junior Suite room 404, but nothing that can't be resolved and wouldn't keep me from coming back tomorrow. Our room's bathroom had been refurbished already and the water pressure was great, as was the endless supply of hot water. I passed the issues on to the Front Desk when we left, which were well received and appreciated.
The hotel is beautiful throughout, ongoing refurbishment seems well worth the time/money, and the location can't be beat with the Metro right across the street. Whenever we come back to Paris we'll attempt to stay with you.

Room Tip: Contact the Concierge Desk prior to arrival. They can answer any questions, sort transport to and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tasendre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Beautiful hotel well situated in between less attractive tourist shops. However, very convenient for museums and luxury shopping in Rue St Honore. We were surprised to be offered a newly done up room for handicapped people when we asked for a walk-in shower. Room was cold, with no pictures and no mirror in room. We asked for another room and was offered a larger attractive room which was 'tired', but had a much nicer feel to it. Staff were friendly, wide choice for breakfast, but attention to detail was lacking. There was renovation going on, so lifts were not functioning some of the time and builders were seen entering and exiting. Just hope not all rooms will be decorated in the spartan style of the room we were first offered. The lobby was stylish and airy, just a shame they had a table with offerings from the spa, which did not fit in at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were looking for a well located hotel that wouldn't bankrupt us and St James fit the bill. Located on rue de Rivoli, the Louvre, Notre Dame, Concord, Tuileries, Pantheon and many other sites are within walking distance. Others are only a short cab ride away. The restaurant is nice and they have outdoor seating in their courtyard. Breakfast buffet was a little pricey, but it allowed us to have a full breakfast and either skip lunch or have a light lunch thus saving food costs. The concierge was very helpful and provided us much assistance in the weeks leading up to our stay.

Room Tip: We travelled with our adult son and the junior suite proved more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Duminy Vendome
Duminy Vendome
#404 of 1,801 in Paris
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Pradey
Le Pradey
#372 of 1,801 in Paris
372 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#227 of 1,801 in Paris
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa

Property: Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Address: 202 rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Clarion Saint-James & Albany)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Spa Hotel in Paris
#337 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#504 Family Hotel in Paris
#605 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, member of Great Hotels of the World and the chain Les Hotels France Patrimoine, Saint James & Albany Hotel-Spa offers 194 rooms and suites in a XVIIth century Establishment. Mainly overlooking inner garden and courtyards, this 4 stars Hotel is a real haven of peace in the centre of the French capital. Thanks to its first bio Parisian SPA**** and its wonderful indoor pool, the atmosphere of this Hotel is very relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James & Albany Hotel Paris
Saint James And Albany Hotel-Spa
Clarion Paris
Saint James & Albany Hotel Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing