We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular location and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Ranked #605 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular location and wonderful staff”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of Paris, near le Louvre, with easy access to most of Paris' most famous sites.

The concierge staff is amazingly knowledgeable and helpful. Their advice on tours and restaurants made our trip.

The breakfast Buffett is fine but I probably wouldn't again select it for every day on our next trip.

Our room was fine and the air conditioning worked well.

The location and staff make this hotel a great choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeHSanFrancisco_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    640
    327
    208
    149
See reviews for
438
700
71
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter for two nights in June. We had a good room with twin beds overlooking an inner courtyard, although space was tight and walls paper thin so could here the american couple next to us arguing. The bed was pretty uncomfortable with rock hard pillows. The Hotel is in prime location and great for a sight seeing Holiday in Paris. The street behind the hotel running parallel to Rue de Rivoli has wonderful shopping. Breakfast was not included in our package and so we preferred to go the many cafes located close by. There is a spa, the swimming pool was great early morning just as it opened because no other guests but I think got busier in the eveining. The gym was tiny but because there was the lovely park right outside the hotel, somehow this didn't matter! We did not eat in the Hotel, but went to the bar and strangely had to walk through the restaurant to get to the bar which I found very strange and think the hotel would do well to consider a slightly different layout. I agree with other comments, the rooms could be updated. I would have expected for the price to have free water rather than having to pay for a bottle from the mini bar. Shower was quite old and placed over the centre of the bath, whereas the shower door was located on one side and consequently the bathroom got quite wet. I got the impression the hotel was primarily used for business and conferences. Considering its location, it would be good for the hotel to provide tickets for the Louvre and D'Orsey Museums. We did ask the consierge but he had run out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear SK63,

Thank you very much for your comments.

They are substantial to us and will help to improve our quality of service.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and swimming pool.

Please be assured that we have taken all your observations into great consideration.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect- really perfect. The lobby seems to have been recently renovated- but the rooms are very out dated and lack modern expectations from a 4 star hotel. The staff was helpful, the restaurant was great for dinner- but if you are someone who's trip is very dependent on the room- you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had a duplex room- which while has a cool 2 floor effect, is not very well designed for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSDriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear RSDriscoll,

We thank you for leaving your experience of the Hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted that you found our hotel’s location "perfect" and that you enjoyed our lobby, restaurant and staff helpfulness. We will forward your comments to them.
Please be sure your observations about the rooms are taken with great consideration.

Warm Regards,

The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I had visited Paris previously on a 1 day excursion from London. It was a great introduction to the city and wanted to spend more time exploring the sites and sounds of Paris. We had the opportunity to return in November 2012.

Our large group stayed in at Saint James & Albany during a multi-city visit to Europe. We chose the hotel for the location, the rating, and the history of the hotel. We had heard that hotels in Paris had smaller rooms as compared to the same rated hotels in the United States, so we were expecting the small rooms. However, you do have to watch the room descriptions that the hotel posts. We had booked a family room with 2 bedrooms. Expecting 2 bedrooms with a family room, got only 2 rooms that connected. Would have been okay if we had a wonderful view. But our view was out the back of the hotel looking at city roofs. No view of the Louvre or the Eiffel Tower, just roofs and smoke stacks. Additionally, we had difficulty finding the toilet in our room. It was not in the same area as the sink/tub/shower. The room that housed the toilet was the size of a closet and just next to the room door (thought it was an entry closet). Even the smallest in our group felt crowded, not to mention our former NFL player (6ft 5in and about 400lbs).

Breakfast was a surprise too. Hot breakfast buffet was a wonderful assortment of hot and cold food and was delicious. Trying to get water, however, was a whole ordeal. We asked for water and was told it was on the buffett. We had 12 people in our group and wanted a bottle/pitcher, not a little juice glass. Took the bottle of water off the buffet for our table and was chased down by a waiter. Took 30 additional minutes, and a couple of other staff to finally get enough water at our table. Additionally, when we booked the room, we included breakfast in our pre-paid reservation. When we sat down, we were then asked to pay for our breakfast stating that our rooms did not include breakfast. The front desk confirmed that we did not pre-pay for breakfast, but we were already upset over the whole thing since it seemed we had already paid with our reservation.

My husband had also requested flowers and chocolates for me that were to be in our room upon arrival. Did not receive anything until the evening before our departure. It was a beautiful Orchid that I couldn't take with me because we were heading back to the US the next day.

All in all, our trip to Paris will be our last. The hotel was less than expected. Taxi service in the city is terrible - took a taxi from the Eiffel Tower to The Louvre because the driver didn't know where our hotel was located. Oh and the large mouse/rat crawling across the floor at the McDonald's. Generally speaking, rudeness abounded in the city. From the wait staff to the guys with coat hangers of trinkets that don't leave you alone. The only positive was the little Italian restaurant we found and the fact that we can say we were at the top of the Eiffel Tower and saw the Mona Lisa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Melinda T,
We thank you for writing your comment on trip Advisor. All impressions are very important and help us to improve.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast.
It is true that none of our rooms have view on the Louvre nor the Eiffel Tower and we never advertised it.
Regarding the flowers in your rooms, we had chosen an Orchid in a pot so that it would be easier for you to keep it fresh on your trip back. We are sorry that you could not take it away.
We take good note of all your comment about our service quality and will put additional efforts in training our staff in order to provide a better service.
Yours faithfully

The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

It was a terrible experience.The worst I have had ever in any hotel.We had requested early check in as we were arriving early morning.How ever the staff said early was not possible which we understood and accepted.So we went around the city and came back at 3.30 and the rooms were not ready even then.On complaining the staff was rude.Very rude.
The next day onwards we had two rooms booked but they gave us the rooms in two different wings thereby ensuring that we would not be able to be with our friends as much as we would like to and making it very inconvenient.
Our room air conditioning did not work and the staff said there was nothing they could do about it on that day but would change the room the next day.
Which meant for three days out of four we were changing rooms everyday.
When we were shifted to the next room we found the door would not close properly which was repaired but after a few hours again was not working.
My friend had forgotten her jacket that was hanging in the cupboard when we checked out of one room into another.
When she went back to the reception they said they had not found her jacket.Which could only mean one thing.That the cleaning/housekeeping staff had stolen the jacket.
The man at the reception(with a small goatee beard)who was the worst of all the staff,told us that it was possible that house keeping had taken the jacket but there was nothing he could or would do about it.
After this experience we were scared of using even your safe deposit box which in any case was not working.
Had we not booked with pre payment we would have checked out of this hotel on the very first day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amitabhalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear amitabhalla,

Thank you for sharing your experience on trip Advisor. Your impressions are very important to us and help to improve our quality service.

We deeply apologize for the lapses you encountered during your stay. This is absolutely not the kind of experience we are dedicated to offer to our dear guests.

We take good note of your feedback about our services and we will put additional efforts in training our staff to avoid the annoyance you encountered during you stay.

Yours faithfully,

The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This may have once been a grand hotel in a great location. It still benefits from a great location, but once inside you notice it is not so grand.

The lobby itself has been renovated, but once you head to the rooms you quickly notice the age of the hotel. That is just reinforced once inside the rooms themselves, which are dated and showing a lot of wear and tear. If you need a space to sleep, I guess they are OK. If you want somewhere that feels a little special, you'll be sadly disappointed. And while my bathroom was spacious, I cannot say the same for the shower - it was a squeeze just to turn around!

The breakfast fare was adequate - again, nothing remotely special - and staff seemed in short supply, so getting a coffee was not the easiest thing to do.

My package included wifi access, so I don't know about cost, but speed was adequate.

All in all, there was nothing at this hotel that was obviously bad, but equally absolutely nothing to make me want to stay here again. When next in Paris I will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear 007Sydney
We thank you for leaving your impressions on Trip advisor.

Your comments are very important and will help us to improve our quality of service.

We are pleased that you liked the Hotel and location of the Saint James Albany Paris Hotel-Spa.
Please be assured that we have taken all your observations into great consideration.

Yours Faithfully

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is centrally located with a pool, which may be why it is rather expensive. With only 5 days and an 11 year old (more interested in Parcours than Paris), this turned out to be an excellent location for us. We were able to alternate the essential museum tours (Louvre. Musee D' Orsay, Hotel des Invalides etc.) and sophisticated restaurants, with equally essential gym/swim and even trampoline sessions (practically opposite the hotel in the Tuileries!) with minimum effort. Many of the main visitor attractions are within walking distance or not far on the simple to use, metro system (2 metro stops very close to hotel) Although it is a business rather than a family orientated hotel, the staff are friendly and helpful most of the time. The pool is a spa pool and is clearly for relaxing adults rather than children (not supposed to be admitted before 4.30pm). The gym is small but sufficient. Luckily for us these facilities were often empty and it was a sublime way to start each day, in this serene, underground pool in the centre of this hectic city.
We had a triple suite. The room was ok, a little shabby and dark perhaps and the staircase to the mezzanine bedroom and bathroom was inconvenient, especially with luggage. The bathroom was small but everything worked fine. We heard some building work going on outside after 9am.
The hotel has a very French feel to it, especially the nice courtyard/terrace area and elegant entrance and lounge/bar, which is what we wanted and our stay was pleasant and memorable for all the right reasons. The best location, especially for newcomers, to discover Paris!

Room Tip: Ground floor with French windows opening on to courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Susan C,

Thank you for leaving your impressions on trip advisor.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, especially our pool, gym, terrace and Lounge Bar.

We will share your comments with our Team.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at Saint James Albany Paris Hotel-Spa if you decide to come back in Paris despite the very long trip.

Warm regards

The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Duminy Vendome
Duminy Vendome
#396 of 1,801 in Paris
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Pradey
Le Pradey
#366 of 1,801 in Paris
372 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#223 of 1,801 in Paris
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa

Property: Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Address: 202 rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Clarion Saint-James & Albany)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Spa Hotel in Paris
#338 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#504 Family Hotel in Paris
#605 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, member of Great Hotels of the World and the chain Les Hotels France Patrimoine, Saint James & Albany Hotel-Spa offers 194 rooms and suites in a XVIIth century Establishment. Mainly overlooking inner garden and courtyards, this 4 stars Hotel is a real haven of peace in the centre of the French capital. Thanks to its first bio Parisian SPA**** and its wonderful indoor pool, the atmosphere of this Hotel is very relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James & Albany Hotel Paris
Saint James And Albany Hotel-Spa
Clarion Paris
Saint James & Albany Hotel Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing