We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When it looks too good to be true...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Ranked #549 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“When it looks too good to be true...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is a joke.
It is all just a facade. Looks great on the brochure, and it has a great location but everyting inside is shabby, dirty and smelly (unless you are a big fan of patchouli). Staff at the desk is totally unprofessionnal (I assisted to one of the most outrageous behaviors I have ever seen from staff in any hotel). The valet on the other hand was very helpful and serious about his job. The gym is a tiny corner with 2 running mills (no joking) and a pair of dumbells and some rungs on the wall. The room has no A/C because it is no longer the season (does not matter that it is 85 degrees outside). I had to open the window to let some air in and the street is quite noisy plus now people opposite the street can see inside the bedroom. Not worth the price. Really. Go somewhere else. You will be disappointed by this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lacar1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.
We feel sorry that your stay didn't match your expectations. We take good note of your feedback. It will help us to improve the quality of our products and services.
Still we will be happy to communicate your satisfaction to our valets.
Please note that we have already renovated 60% of our rooms and we are keeping up that effort to improve our quality.

With our best regards
The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    615
    310
    201
    143
See reviews for
419
675
65
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Although the location was promising (across from the Tulieries and on Rue du Rivoli) this 4 start hotel is in the throws of a rapid fall into a flop house. The overall impression of the lobby is good--the rooms however, are dirty, dirty, and the showers leaked in all 4 rooms our party occupied. We (2 couples) had to spend an extra 50 euros to upgrade to bigger rooms. The first "standard room" had 1 closet that was 13 inches wide. That was it. Consequently the walls are losing paint, buckeling and the carpets are moldy. There is relatively no lighting-especially for the bath areas, very dim.
The staff however, was outstanding. Very good consierge. We were stuck here for 5 nights since booking through Expedia and hotel was paid for.
Keep looking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for leaving your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and our staff efficiency and we will be happy to share your review with all the team and especially our concierge.
We are sorry that your rooms did not fully matched your expectations and we have taken good note of your comments.
We inform you that, at this stage, we have renovated more than 60% of our rooms and that we are keeping up that effort in order to improve our rooms' quality.

Please receive our Best Regards.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in November 2011 and all I can say it was perfect! Super location, Staff were so friendly and the rooms were soooo spacious! We had a lovely view overlooking the inner garden and a terrace courtyard which was the icing on the cake! We will definately be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ireland10Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Ireland10Ireland,

Thank you for taking the time to post this very nice feedback on Trip Advisor. It is a real pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed our staff efficiency and your accommodation overlooking the garden and the terrace courtyard. Your appreciation is very important to us and we will share your review with our team.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Saint James and Albany.
Best regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I travel to Paris once a month on business and decided to change hotels to the St James and Albany this September/October

The central location is ideal, however the interiors are very shabby, with ripped wallpaper in the corridors, dirty carpet and paint chipped woodwork.

The rooms are of a good size, but with dated furnishings and the biggest disappointment is NO WI FI!!

The only place you can get WI-FI is downstairs in a passage way - not in the breakfast room nor the bar. In this day and age WI-FI should be standard.

I wont be staying again, but will be going back to the Hotel Castille for next season.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel's location and the size of your room.
We however feel sorry that your stay did not fill your expectations. We take good note of your feedback: it will help us to improve the quality of our products and services.
Please note that we are now renovating all our rooms. As soon as they will be finished, we will keep up that effort renovating all the corridors.
Also, eventhough we do not advertise any wifi in the rooms, we are working on equipping all of them within the next few months.

Best Regards.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived into the Gare du Nord at about 10:30 on Friday and taxied down to the Hotel so arrived about 11pm. Friendly smiles from night staff but soon turned into a difficult arrival as we had 200 euro charged to my Amex rather than approved. while trying to sort that out my wife went to our room and found a woman drying her hair! Existing the lift we found a poorly decorated hallway with paint stains on the carpet and thresholds, to fussy you say? Well when you pay £320 a night for a 4 star hotel room you expect a certain level of overall finish. My wife ask the night manager to come and see ( after we had been allocated another room) what we were disappointed in his comment on the condition of the hallway was " well you have rented this area, it is not your room" .
We felt that we had been shoved into a half refurbished part of the hotel as the common parts and entrance area are 4star quality. Our rooms ( our daughter and a friend were with us) were tired and the carpet needed cleaning
Breakfast was disappointing as our daughter asked for poached eggs which cost extra and took 20 mins to arrive ( tasted good though). Breakfast is not 22 euros worth either.
The location is great and the Concierge staff couldn't be more helpful but I think the main reception staff need some better training, we left our luggage at the reception desk and asked for a taxi at 3:30. The girl behind the desk dining seem to be concentrating and we fond out later she had organised a taxi for 2:30 which they appeared to want us to pay for although the concierge seemed unwilling to push it.
Over all we had a good weekend but it could have been better if the refurbishment that is going on was of a standard and we had a better superior room ( maybe it because we book through lastminute I don't know)
Won't be going back. Even if it cost more to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don,t let them put you in 721 to 731
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for leaving your comments on trip advisor.
We feel sorry that your stay didn't fully match your expectations. We took good note of your feedback. It will help us to improve the quality of our products and services.
We will communicate your satisfaction to our concierge staff and we will contact you shortly in order to bring you additional explanations on the issues you've described.

With our best regards

The Management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is typical of the hotels in Paris. Can't fault the location, you want to stay in this area and you're going to pay for it. The foyer is very nice. Thevstaff were very helpful and spoke a variety of languages. The rooms (or at least the room I was in) is quite small and tired. In saying that, they were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was either a continental or a full breakfast. Both were fine. Let's face it, you want to spend your time exploring this area. The Louvre is about a block away, Musee D'Orsay is a ten minute walk, the hotel is opposite Jardin de Tuileries. In fact you can easily spend a couple of days just walking along the Rue de Rivoli up to the Place de la Concorde then Champs Élysées etc. I'd bring my family here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your nice comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed our services; as well as our staff efficiency.

We take good note of your comments on the room itself, and we inform you that we have, at this stage, renovated 60% of our rooms. We will be happy to share your review with our teams. They all work hard to make our guests’ stays enjoyable .

We would be delighted to welcoming you again on a forthcoming visit.

Please receive our Best Regards.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nice lobby and reception hall, beautiful courtyard, cerainly when the weather's nice

But stops there.

Didn't try the spa.

Rooms and their furniture haven't had a refresh for probably 30 years, carpet in hallway was heavily stained
Small bed (french disease)

Wifi only in commons and even the weak signal and slow speed

Overall only paid about EUR 185 incl breakfast (corporate rate), but wouldn't recommend it, contrary would avoid it. i will ask corporate travel to remove it from the list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Balladin_Facetieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel set-up as well as its location.

We however feel sorry that your stay did not fill your expectations. We take good note of you feedback: it will help us to improve the quality of our products and services.
Please note that 60% of our rooms have been renovated in the past 2 years. And we do keep up that effort.
Also, eventhough we do not advertise any wifi in the rooms, we are working on equipping all of them within the next few months.

Please receive our Best Regards.
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Pradey
Le Pradey
#227 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#167 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mayfair Paris
Hotel Mayfair Paris
#468 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Square Louvois
Hotel Square Louvois
#14 of 1,794 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa

Property: Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Address: 202 rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Clarion Saint-James & Albany)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Spa Hotel in Paris
#307 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#505 Family Hotel in Paris
#606 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, member of Great Hotels of the World and the chain Les Hotels France Patrimoine, Saint James & Albany Hotel-Spa offers 194 rooms and suites in a XVIIth century Establishment. Mainly overlooking inner garden and courtyards, this 4 stars Hotel is a real haven of peace in the centre of the French capital. Thanks to its first bio Parisian SPA**** and its wonderful indoor pool, the atmosphere of this Hotel is very relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, HotelsforEveryone and Agoda so you can book your Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James And Albany Hotel-Spa
Saint James & Albany Hotel Paris
Clarion Paris
Saint James & Albany Hotel Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing