We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit a disappointment could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Ranked #605 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Buckinghamshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Second visit a disappointment could do better”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived into the Gare du Nord at about 10:30 on Friday and taxied down to the Hotel so arrived about 11pm. Friendly smiles from night staff but soon turned into a difficult arrival as we had 200 euro charged to my Amex rather than approved. while trying to sort that out my wife went to our room and found a woman drying her hair! Existing the lift we found a poorly decorated hallway with paint stains on the carpet and thresholds, to fussy you say? Well when you pay £320 a night for a 4 star hotel room you expect a certain level of overall finish. My wife ask the night manager to come and see ( after we had been allocated another room) what we were disappointed in his comment on the condition of the hallway was " well you have rented this area, it is not your room" .
We felt that we had been shoved into a half refurbished part of the hotel as the common parts and entrance area are 4star quality. Our rooms ( our daughter and a friend were with us) were tired and the carpet needed cleaning
Breakfast was disappointing as our daughter asked for poached eggs which cost extra and took 20 mins to arrive ( tasted good though). Breakfast is not 22 euros worth either.
The location is great and the Concierge staff couldn't be more helpful but I think the main reception staff need some better training, we left our luggage at the reception desk and asked for a taxi at 3:30. The girl behind the desk dining seem to be concentrating and we fond out later she had organised a taxi for 2:30 which they appeared to want us to pay for although the concierge seemed unwilling to push it.
Over all we had a good weekend but it could have been better if the refurbishment that is going on was of a standard and we had a better superior room ( maybe it because we book through lastminute I don't know)
Won't be going back. Even if it cost more to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don,t let them put you in 721 to 731
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for leaving your comments on trip advisor.
We feel sorry that your stay didn't fully match your expectations. We took good note of your feedback. It will help us to improve the quality of our products and services.
We will communicate your satisfaction to our concierge staff and we will contact you shortly in order to bring you additional explanations on the issues you've described.

With our best regards

The Management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    640
    327
    208
    149
See reviews for
438
700
71
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is typical of the hotels in Paris. Can't fault the location, you want to stay in this area and you're going to pay for it. The foyer is very nice. Thevstaff were very helpful and spoke a variety of languages. The rooms (or at least the room I was in) is quite small and tired. In saying that, they were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was either a continental or a full breakfast. Both were fine. Let's face it, you want to spend your time exploring this area. The Louvre is about a block away, Musee D'Orsay is a ten minute walk, the hotel is opposite Jardin de Tuileries. In fact you can easily spend a couple of days just walking along the Rue de Rivoli up to the Place de la Concorde then Champs Élysées etc. I'd bring my family here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your nice comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed our services; as well as our staff efficiency.

We take good note of your comments on the room itself, and we inform you that we have, at this stage, renovated 60% of our rooms. We will be happy to share your review with our teams. They all work hard to make our guests’ stays enjoyable .

We would be delighted to welcoming you again on a forthcoming visit.

Please receive our Best Regards.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nice lobby and reception hall, beautiful courtyard, cerainly when the weather's nice

But stops there.

Didn't try the spa.

Rooms and their furniture haven't had a refresh for probably 30 years, carpet in hallway was heavily stained
Small bed (french disease)

Wifi only in commons and even the weak signal and slow speed

Overall only paid about EUR 185 incl breakfast (corporate rate), but wouldn't recommend it, contrary would avoid it. i will ask corporate travel to remove it from the list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Balladin_Facetieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretaire_direction, Directeur général at Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel set-up as well as its location.

We however feel sorry that your stay did not fill your expectations. We take good note of you feedback: it will help us to improve the quality of our products and services.
Please note that 60% of our rooms have been renovated in the past 2 years. And we do keep up that effort.
Also, eventhough we do not advertise any wifi in the rooms, we are working on equipping all of them within the next few months.

Please receive our Best Regards.
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

gta
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

What a great hotel! I was concerned about the reviews but my experience couldn't have been better. We called the day before to ensure we had two rooms and one of them had twin beds for our daughters. Not only did they oblige but gave us adjoining rooms 433&434. Great view of courtyard and very quiet. Pool was an extra bonus especially in Paris.
This hotel is a historic site of a meeting with Marie Antoinette and Layfette. It also housed relatives of the Royal Court which is the Palais Royal across from the hotel. The location can be no better. We were only in Paris three days and two nights so a central location to see as much as possible was integral - across from the Louvre, by the Seine, gardens, and D'Orsay. Walk to Angeline's where Coco Channel ate and enjoy the best pastry and hot chocolate ever!
The service was fabulous as well. Concierge service was beyond his duty. He suggested a restaurant and called ahead to get us a good seat but realized it was closed Sunday. He ran down the street to catch up with us and then walked us to another restaurant to ensure good meal. Other reviewers must of missed the ambience of this truly Parisian experience!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfrequentlyGta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was a special treat from my boyfriend for Valentines Day. We had a executive room which was comfortable and spacious (rare for Paris!) with a huge bed and view over the courtyard. The marble bathroom was gorgeous with a walk in shower set into the wall.

The hotel is across the road from the Tulleries and close to all the Paris landmarks. Staff were very friendly and there was a welcoming atmosphere. The hotel was quiet and the spa was an added touch - dimly lit (mood lighting!) and romantic.

Oh and the cheese and wine platter on arrival, soooo worth it!.... C'est bon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterflybarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

It's a nice hotel in a very good location just on front the tulleries and pretty close to louvre museum. From here you can walk to all París landmarks. And the rooms are good but the breakfast is a little expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trikicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The position of the hotel is perfect. You can walk from here to most of the central places of interest. However we found the staff very unpleasent and the breakfast room was like a school canteen. The spa was disapointing. a gloomy pool in the basement and a dinky sauna. You have to wear your dressing gown and travel down by lift as there are no changing facilities. The whole place needed cheering up...rather glum

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Duminy Vendome
Duminy Vendome
#396 of 1,801 in Paris
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Pradey
Le Pradey
#366 of 1,801 in Paris
372 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#223 of 1,801 in Paris
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa

Property: Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa
Address: 202 rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Clarion Saint-James & Albany)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Spa Hotel in Paris
#338 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#504 Family Hotel in Paris
#605 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, member of Great Hotels of the World and the chain Les Hotels France Patrimoine, Saint James & Albany Hotel-Spa offers 194 rooms and suites in a XVIIth century Establishment. Mainly overlooking inner garden and courtyards, this 4 stars Hotel is a real haven of peace in the centre of the French capital. Thanks to its first bio Parisian SPA**** and its wonderful indoor pool, the atmosphere of this Hotel is very relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saint James Albany Hotel-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James & Albany Hotel Paris
Saint James And Albany Hotel-Spa
Clarion Paris
Saint James & Albany Hotel Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing