We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hidden GEM in Paris !”
Review of Hotel Chopin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chopin
Ranked #293 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Winnenden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small hidden GEM in Paris !”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Hotel Chopin was a very nice and pleasurable place to stay in the very busy and hot city of Paris .
This was our 7th trip to Paris , and we were very happy with the hotel . The value for your money was justified . Hotel Chopin is located in a very lovely Art Nouveau arcade , that was very special , in our past trips to Paris , we always strolled through this arcade wishing to stay at this hotel . So it finally worked out ! The arcade is very cute and full of nice shops and a great patisserie ( super place for breakfast ) .
The staff at Chopin are more than friendly ! The receptionist on the telephone ( NO internet ) did a great job in making us wanted and welcomed . When we arrived at the hotel , our impression proved right . We recieved a very very warm welcome and felt like we were staying with friends !
On the way to the room , the stairs to the lift were a bit challenging with lots of luggage , but manageable , continue going up the stairs if you are claustrophobic ! The lift is mega small ! 1 person at a time !
Entering our room , it made a good impression . It was spacious and light filled with two large windows . A bit wear and tear around the edges , but what's to expect in Paris ?
From the window we had a view over the neighbouring roof-tops and the glass covered arcade . That was nice ! The bed and bedding were sufficient . The bathroom was very clean , NO mold around the edges ! We recieved new towels daily , unexpected for a 2 star hotel . One weak spot was the missing shower head holder , you had to squat to take a shower , but the window made up for that ! All in all the room was nice .
Hotel Chopin was a nice place to stay , and we would stay there again !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    256
    59
    14
    4
See reviews for
117
228
53
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

The reason I booked this trip was due to it's obvious charm. Located inside an old shopping arcade, it is like no other. As you enter the arcade, you will pass adorable little shops, selling everything from sweets, to old books, until at the very end, you spot your cute little doll-house-like hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful (even going out of their way to help me find something very specific), and while the room we stayed in was in need of a facelift, it was, to my great relief, very clean. The bathroom was of adequate size, and we had no problems with the shower. The TV had only 4 channels (but who is in Paris to watch TV?). My only complaint was, there was no AC!! The 1st night we slept maybe 2 hours. Even with the windows open (which means you can hear your neighbor use the bathroom, and have sex lol), it was, what felt like 80 degrees. Thankfully, Paris cooled down some after that. Other than that, the location was pretty good, about a 15-20 min walk to the Seine, and the breakfast was wonderful. We only took advantage once toward the end of our trip and regretted not doing it every morning. The charming little breakfast room, which is host to lovely painting for sale, is filled with oranges (for fresh OJ), baguettes, yummy jam and REAL butter, coffee and of course, a mountain of crispy, wonderful croissants! Miam miam (that's French for yum yum ;)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasiya1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

The main draw of this hotel is the location - right in the centre of Paris but in the middle of a traditional shopping arcade with little street noise. I had seen criticism of the bathroom quality but the one in my room was fine. The staff were helpful and the bed comfortable.

My only criticisms are that there is no internet connectivity in the rooms, and that although the hotel promotes itself for quietness the soundproofing between the rooms themselves is not very good - I had to ask people in an adjoining room to be quieter so that I could sleep.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KdSLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

I stayed during the off-season, so the price was great (53 euro/night for 2 people)! The location was central to everything (Place de Clichy) and had some great restaurants nearby. The room was pleasantly warm. Internet with a printer was available too.

The only downside was that the shower ran cold sometimes. Cold showers in the winter are not so fun. The bed sheets weren't cleaned everyday and the beds were a tad uncomfortable, but all of these things are expected for the money paid.

Great budget hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ihearttraveljapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

This stylish little hotel is tucked away in a beautiful passage/arcade full of great little shops. Staff were friendly and relaxed and all seemed to speak good english. Rooms were a good size, nicely laid out and well decorated. My bathroom was a little small though adequate, but my friend's bathrooms was of a decent size. Rooms were very quiet - no traffic noise even with windows open which was a pleasant surprise given that the hotel is in the heart of the city. Facilities in the room were basic - limited channels on tv and no kettle (but didn't matter to me) but that's to be expected for the low price. Breakfast looked good, but didn't try as preferred trying out the many good local cafes. Location was good for sightseeing - half hour walk to Monmartre in one direction and same to the Louvre in the other. For those arriving by train it was a 25 min walk from Gare de Nord. Lots of nice restaurants nearby, either on the main road or in the side streets and passages.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Canaryfan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

I have stayed here on several occasion, the hotel is cheap, its in a hidden location, the rooms are nice and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swissworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We read about this place in the New York Times, and our stay exceeded expectations. The staff was wonderfully friendly (lots of cheerful greetings and smiles), the rooms clean, the roof view beautiful, the breakfast fabulous (self-serve fresh-squeezed orange juice machine is hard to beat), and price extremely reasonable for Paris. Passage Joffrey is very charming. The location was good--less than a block to the Grands Blvd Metro, and not much further to another one (can't remember the name). You have to transfer to get to most attractions, but this wasn't an issue at all.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Vivienne
Hotel Vivienne
#421 of 1,800 in Paris
480 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Opera
Hotel Corona Opera
#404 of 1,800 in Paris
473 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de la cite Rougemont
Hotel de la cite Rougemont
#438 of 1,800 in Paris
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
#224 of 1,800 in Paris
517 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#30 of 1,800 in Paris
1,378 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Hotel Ronceray Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chopin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chopin

Property: Hotel Chopin
Address: 10 blvd. Montmartre (46 Pass. Jouffroy) | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#125 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#400 Business Hotel in Paris
#475 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chopin 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chopin is the ideal place for a romantic stay in the heart of Paris, discover the charm of a typically Parisian hotel. The hotel is located at a 10 minutes walk from the opera and stores, the stock exchange and the headquarters of major banks and insurance companies. Hotel Chopin, opened in 1846, year of construction of the passage Jouffroy, is an oasis of calm, no room looking on the street, in the heart of one of the liveliest districts of Paris: the Grands Boulevards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Chopin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chopin Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing