We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Avoid this hotel!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beaumarchais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Beaumarchais
Ranked #1,165 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid this hotel!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

First, this hotel doesn't look like any pictures displayed on its Tripadvisor profile.

This is a HOSTEL. Decent enough for a sex encounter but not suitable for long stays.

Everything there is tiny: room, bed, bathroom, elevator, etc...

The bathroom is really cramped, the water is not hot enough and the door doesn't lock properly.

Be aware that the safe doesn't work properly so watch out for your belongings.

The carpet is smelly, they were stains on the blanket and the room is not heated.

Bring your earplugs if you want to get some sleep as it is extremely noisy outside.

The elevator can only lift one guess at a time and smells gasoline.

The staff is quite friendly and helpful but on my last day, at check out, the receptionist told me my card was declined so I went to the ATM to get some money and paid my stay in cash.

Funny thing is I realized the day after that the hotel payment had actually been processed, so I've paid twice my stay at this hotel.

And they didn't even give me a receipt.

Also, please be aware that the rooms are filled with bed bugs that will suck your blood and leave horrible bites on your body. My friend and I have been bitten like crazy and now we have to deal with the pain and itching.

I would never ever recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbeaumarchais, Directeur général at Hotel Beaumarchais, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Bonjour,
We answer that we are not agree with you
First, the picture on our website are made recently and are exactly in the rooms
The rooms are not very big but in Paris if you want a very big room you must go on a 4 stars hotel but it's not the same rate !
All the rooms are very safety, you have a safe in all of thems, and it's never happend something with the effect of our guests !
If your credit card was refused, it's not from us but by the Visa autorisation, and you don't pay 2 times!
Of course we give an invoice at the check out !!
And about the bed bugs, unfortunatly it's happend sometimes because travelers bring them in their luggage.
We desinfected immediatly all the rooms and we are very sorry about that.
It's never happend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    72
    36
    23
    23
See reviews for
24
47
31
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

BED BUGS!!! BED BUGS! FILTHY AND DIRTY. I WAS DISGUSTED AS SOON AS I WALKED IN THE ROOM. I woke up with bites all over the right side of my arm and the back of my head..Thinking it was a mosquito but then woke up the next day to see a cluster if more bites on my shoulder and neck!! Shower has mold all on the shower head and it the cracks. The carpet is filthy and room is cold and wet. I also smells like the gasoline spilled in the hallway this smell is coming from the elevator shaft!! The location is not bad, hotel staff is nice but it doesn't make up for the BED BUGS, FILTHY MOLDY SHOWER, DIRTY CARPET, and the COST OF THE ROOM.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbeaumarchais, Directeur général at Hotel Beaumarchais, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Bonjour,
we are very sorry about the bed bugs.
It's unfortunatly happens sometimes.
People bring them in their luggage.
We desinfected all the rooms by a specialised company.
We assure that there is no more bed bugs now !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Tiny bed, tiny room, tiny bathroom, fairly priced for what you get. Quiet, convenient and clean. The little guy who works the mornings is the most arrogant, rude and non service oriented jerk I have ever encountered in my 40 years of travel, writing and reviewing. He is the exception. The rest of the staff reject the Parisian snob stereotype.

Room Tip: room 51 if you are alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank italiano-americano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is worth its money, but it is not very clean, its smelly, the breakfast is poor, the personnel is extremely friendly. All in all, I would say: A little bit above the youth-hostel, but avoid going here if you expect a romantic weekend in the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobibass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel beaumarchais is situated close to the marais with its vintage shops and many great places to eat. Republique and bastille close by giving you a nice slice of paris life! It has the feeling of a family friendly hotel too. Have stayed here for many years and is always a pleasure to return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnniesapong72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Location is so good! -close to metro station and a big supermarket, easy to find, interesting shops are around this hotel. Many colors make me happy and there are nice pictures in the room. Staffs are so friendly and serve very good service. I could stay comfortably and enjoy Paris! I want to stay again if I visit there. Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2hona--2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed one night in a triple room. The hotel is a 15 minute metro ride from Gare du Nord and it's very convenient to travel from (short walk to Oberkampf metro station). Clean room, but very tiny. The bathroom was very cramped, and the bathroom door did not shut or lock properly--this was a problem with 3 people in the room. The elevator was also quite small, but this wasn't a big problem for us because we didn't have much luggage. After checking out, we left our bags at reception for the rest of the day--the bags were chained to the staircase and remained safe. Given its location, this hotel is good value for money for a short-term stay, especially if you plan on going back there only to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Alhambra
Hotel Alhambra
#683 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Le 20 Prieure
Hotel Le 20 Prieure
#491 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
BEST WESTERN Hotel Marais Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Villa Beaumarchais
Villa Beaumarchais
#485 of 1,812 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Grand Hotel Amelot
Grand Hotel Amelot
#1,338 of 1,812 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Le Marais
My Hotel in France le Marais by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beaumarchais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beaumarchais

Property: Hotel Beaumarchais
Address: 3 rue Oberkampf | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,165 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beaumarchais 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Beaumarchais is ideally situated in the heart of Paris. It lies between the historic neighborhood of the Marais with its museums, and the typically Parisian atmosphere of bars and restaurants of Rue Oberkampf. You will be welcomed by a warm atmosphere where the contemporary setting harkens of a distinctly southern style. A flowery patio welcomes you for breakfast. The 31 rooms feel fresh and gay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Beaumarchais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beaumarchais Hotel Paris
Beaumarchais Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing